We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little Pensione - A Charmer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pensione Capri Hotel & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Pensione Capri Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensione Capri Hotel & Restaurant
106 / 17-18 Moo 3, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 16 hotels in Choeng Thale
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great little Pensione - A Charmer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Capri. The staff were pleasant the owners friendly and attentive.
Bear in mind it is a pensione. The rooms are basic but neat and clean, yes there is a building going up next door but it was quiet through the night when you are sleeping and mostly through the day now too (25/02/11).
I can thoroughly recommend the coffee, brewed to exacting Italian standards and the pizzas cooked in the wood-fired pizza oven on site are to-die-for deliciousness.
Do not come here expecting a five star hotel, you get what you pay for and here you definitely get more than your moneys' worth, even if the building has seen better days it has a friendly, amiable charm that I personally enjoyed immensely. Although the hot water pressure can be temperamental at times ;).
Right across from Surin beach and a lovely little park it is a respectable drive away from Phuket City. If you want the night-life and don't want, or can't drive into town stay elsewhere but as I wanted some peace and quiet it only added to the charm
Ask Stephano one of the co-owners for the wi-fi password for free high speed internet.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
1
6
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

I've been back in Phuket after 4 years, at hotel Capri, with my wife and our little son for a week last January, in a sea front room.
It was the cheapest Hotel on the sea front road and my wife liked the room. Note that the second more cheap hotel was almost double in price.
I appreciated the friendly managment and staff. The room has all the main comfort of a holiday room and was perfectly cleaned everyday. The Italian food was very good and I had a 10% discount on all our dinners as an hotel guest. I would come back for sure. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape coral, fl
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

If all you want is a very basic hotel with a/c, hot water, and mini fridge close to the beach, at a reasonable price, this is your place. You get what you pay for! Bring your own shampoo and clock because you won't get it there. Also, did not like that no one is at the desk overnight; in case of an emergency you'd be in trouble. Shopping very limited in this area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

My fiancée and I stayed there for 3 nights and the rooms were perfect. The staff were very nice and the owner was very personable. The restaurant was very good as well.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

What a dump. I booked 8 days with Asia Web for a mountain view superior room.
We arrived and the view was " a massive building a few feet away". I complained and was offered another room on the 4th floor. I should mention there is no lift. View was the same so I went to another room and it was overlooking a dusty road. On the website the rooms look bright and airy, no way. I small light and the rooms had a yukky smell. I said ok we take it but it was only just to give us time to find somewhere else quick. We did and went back within 30 minutes and said we wanted a refund. The guy said contact Asia Web. I did so and eventually I got back all I had paid except for 1 night. Asia Web have told me the hotel is on their watch list. Its a shame because its only a short walk to the beach but to be honest better to sleep on the beach than in that dump

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

The area is pleasant, with an incredible beach just two minutes walk from it. The prices are good although the hotels around are plusher. Overall very good value for money. The restaurant is also very good, even by Italian standards. I particularly enjoyed the lobster spaghetti

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Dont stay here unless you have too!!!THe service is obnoxious and rude...The rooms are basic and horrible!!

There is no sign of the recent "refurbishment"!!!I would rather stay in a hostel ,,,IT can hardly be classed as a hotel !!

Be prepared to endure building work throughout your stat from 8 in the morning until 6 in the evening forget about a ciesta!!!

I would stay away it has the potential to ruin your holiday !!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pensione Capri Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Capri Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 106 / 17-18 Moo 3, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pensione Capri Hotel, the first hotel on the sea-front in Surin beach, a beautiful white sandy beach in Phuket Island. Elegant and comfortable Capri Hotel is set in an idyllic area between Kamala and Bang-Tao beaches, at the middle of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Pensione Capri Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Capri Hotel & Restaurant Phuket, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensione Capri Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.