We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Très médiocre / too distant and Very poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Surin Sabai Condominium

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Surin Sabai Condominium to your Saves list
Surin Sabai Condominium
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   25 Moo 3 Srisunthorn Road | Surin Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
4.5 of 5 stars 34 Reviews
La Cala de Mijas, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Très médiocre / too distant and Very poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This hotel is very far from the centers of Activities that are more than 10 kilometers, and provides no service not even an breakfast or laundry.

You need to turn off the air conditioning really noisy, if you want to sleep! no internet access, unless you go into a space where absurd you stand standing up with your laptop.

A fee will be charged for suplémentaire card payment,
with the obligation to pay otherwise the responsible involves the police ! ! !

pool very small even for the absurd number of dwellings.

BE CAREFUL !!!!

the owner of the premises will send you an aggressive letter was read a bad appreciation !

Eric

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck C, Manager at Surin Sabai Condominium, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Google Translation
Cher Eric,
Vous avez réservé sur Booking.com pour une durée de 5 jours, dont les conditions de réservations sont:
"Annulation : En cas d'annulation ou de modification jusqu'à 15 jours avant la date d'arrivée, l'hôtel ne prélève pas de frais. En cas d'annulation tardive ou de non-présentation, l'hôtel prélève le montant total de la réservation."
Vous êtes arrivé 2 jours en retard sans avoir essayé de contacter Booking.com, et n'avez voulu rester qu'une seule nuit et ne pas payer la totalité de la réservation tout en cherchant plusieurs excuses pour justifier votre annulation. Sachez que notre wifi peut-être capté dans les parties communes gratuitement, ce qui comprend le coin internet avec bureau et chaises, plus un lobby de 100 m2 avec sofa et fauteuils et la zone autour de la piscine avec ses chaises longues. J'ai donc du mal à comprendre pourquoi vous avez voulu rester debout.
Nous proposons toutes les excursions possibles sur l'île de Phuket et aux alentours, au départ de la résidence.
Surin Beach est à 400 m de la résidence, avec un choix énorme de restaurants, bars, boutiques. Les clubs de plongée, d'équitation et golfs, Spas sont dans un rayon de moins de 3 km, quelle genre d'activité allez vous chercher à 10 km, peut-être celles de Bangla Road? Dans ce cas vous avez fait un mauvais choix en réservant sur Surin, qui est une plage familiale et haut de gamme.
Cordialement,
Franck Capisano
Manager
PS: Nous avons un service de blanchisserie et personne ne s'est jamais plaint du bruit de nos climatiseurs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    9
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dalwallinu, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have been over to Phuket a few times now and last time we stayed at Surin Sabai Condo. Only 16km from the airport and have their own taxi that can meet you. Only 400mt to beautiful Surin beach with Tesco supermarket over the road. 15 min from Patong so if you want a night out jump in the taxi. We had a room the stepped out onto a pool so was very nice to relax with beer in hand. Will definately be staying there next time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

The condo is nice, located very close to beautiful Surin beach and its charming restaurants on the beach. The appartment was incredibly spacious (more than expected) and perfectly equipped. The staff was friendly and helpful. Will return for sure!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
371 helpful votes 371 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

This is essentially an upscale residential complex with some of the owned units being rented out as hotel rooms. It's not a hotel, but your room does get cleaned every day like at a hotel.

It's surprising to see something like this in Thailand, but there are apparently quite a few Europeans and others who have purchased flats in this area, removed from the madness of places like Patong Beach and Phuket, but close enough to go there if you want to. The area is not completely developed, but it's fast getting that way. There are still local Thai elements around. However, this is an area where you'll find exquisite antique dealers, high-end retailers, expensive restaurants catering to Europeans, and so on.

There are a handful of restaurants, convenience stores and other amenities located on the main road close to the condo. We tried various cheap restaurants in the area, but we never really found one that suited us. We appreciated having Tesco's and 7-11 so close by.

There are three beaches nearby, conceivably within walking distance: Surin Beach, Bang Tao and Laem Sing.

Surin Beach is the closest, about a 500 metre walk along a busy road. From what we saw, it was not our kind of beach. Highly developed. Busy. So many deck chairs, you could barely see the beach. Overpriced. Very European crowd. It's like they're trying to recreate the Med here. Very boring. Even when we go to the Med we don't go to beaches like this. If you come to this area, google Surin Beach to make sure it's the kind of beach you like.

Bang Tao is a 15 minute walk away. A beautiful strand, about 6 kilometres long. There are hotels the whole way, but the development is low key (so far) and the beach still feels natural. Google it and you'll see what I mean. We enjoyed this beach a lot and we're grateful to the condo manager for telling us about it. If you don't want to walk a lot, a taxi can take you there. (Or you could book a hotel right on this beach....)

The third beach (Laem Sing) is a cute little out-of-the-way beach and perhaps the best of the three. The waves in particular were fun here. If the 20 min walk uphill along the busy road is too difficult, you can get to Laem Sing by taxi. You'll still have to walk down to the bottom though.

Laem Sing is such a nice beach that it helped make our stay here worthwhile. You see, we felt rather trapped at this condo. You might want to rent a moped or a car while you're here. However, we didn't bother (OK, we didn't dare given the traffic). The taxis seemed overpriced, so we had to find ways of getting around. Haggling sometimes worked, but the drivers in the area are working in collusion. It cost about 600 baht to get to Patong Beach or the airport. We also ended up exploring some of the area on foot, but of course we didn't have much choice. That's why we were relieved when we found Laem Sing. All of a sudden it made sense to be staying at this condo.

On your way to Surin Beach, turn right before the driveway and you'll get to a number of restaurants and hotels that put on nice breakfasts at various prices. 200 baht was the price of one I remember. I know, it's a lot for Thailand. Many of the people staying in this area are staying in the hotels here.

At the condo we had booked the smallest room (a studio). It was about 20 square metres, I'd say. It included a small hotel fridge, sink, hotplate, kettle and dishes. Useful. Our room faced outside and had a view of a some greenery and complete privacy. Nice shaded balcony. (Some of the units facing inside towards the pool have a more communal set-up though.)

The bathroom was small, the door actually hitting the toilet when it was opened. Whenever the light was switched on, the fan made a huge noise, a problem reported to the efficient management so I'm sure it'll be fixed. The shower was large (for such a small bathroom).

The room had a small flat-screen TV with five or six English stations, a couple of which were quite watchable (eg shows like Law & Order). The bed, linen, towlels, etc. were fine.

I booked this resort partly because of the gym and pool. The pool was nice, but smaller than it looks in the photos. The gym had enough weights to get a serious workout in.

There was free wifi in the lobby, but it would have been nice to have it in the rooms.

We were initially quite disappointed when we got to the condo and saw the small room, the location and Surin Beach. The room was not expensive, but nor was it cheap. We were expecting more for this price, especially outside of town. We had stayed at a place in Patong for the same price (breakfast included) and this hotel and this area just suffered in comparison.

However, we enjoyed exploring Bang Tao and Laem Sing and we're glad this condo offered us a chance to do it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

After a few nights each in Patong, Kata and Karon, it was time for us to slow down the pace of our trip. We felt lucky to find this the Surin Sabai as the staff were friendly and our room was clean, spacious and private. There's a gym, pool and pool table. The hotel is really quiet which we appreciated.

We rented scooters right at the hotel and cut down our travel time to get to Surin Beach (2 minutes away), Bang Tao & Naithon beaches.

There's also a fruit stand across the main street which you can't go wrong with prices compared to buying them at the beach.

The management leaves the hotel at night, so be sure to make arrangement if you are arriving late.

There's no shuttle service to the airport, however if you let management know, they will make sure there is a taxi waiting for you.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

great location close to beach within 4-6 mins walk clean large apartments quite at night two thumbs up

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Hotel is located a fair distance by taxi from the airport which is convenient. It is just a five minute walk, if that to the tranquil Surin Beach, with fantastic white sandy beaches and great for swimming and relaxing. The hotel is spacious, have a very well equipped gym (which we didnt use), clean and large swimming pool, free internet access and is located near some great shops close by. They offer some above standard amenities for self catering, i.e. plates, cutlery, toaster etc. This made for a great cheap few nights for us as we could get some beers and make our own food. Definately worth a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surin Sabai Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surin Sabai Condominium

Address: 25 Moo 3 Srisunthorn Road | Surin Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surin Sabai Condominium 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These simple yet comfortable apartments are located approximately 400 metres from one of Phuket’s finest beaches, Surin Beach. Take the pleasant stroll down to the beach to enjoy basking in the tropical sun and swimming in the clear waters. Alternatively, you are welcome to enjoy the outdoor pool at the complex while fitness fanatics will love the fully-equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Surin Sabai Condominium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surin Sabai Condominium Hotel Thalang
Surin Sabai Condominium Phuket, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surin Sabai Condominium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.