We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing boutique resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chava Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Chava Resort to your Saves list
The Chava Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   113 Moo 3 | Thalang District, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Red Hot Deal-25%+freebies
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing boutique resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband, one year old son and parents in law stayed in a massive two bedroom apartment. Fully equipped kitchen with everything you need.
Breakfast out by the pool each morning was delicious and of high quality.
Only a short walk to lots of beachside restaurants which Peter (manager) was happy to recommend many restaurants of all budgets. Our favourites diamond beach club, audy and cefalu Italian restaurant.
Great quiet small boutique resort away from the hustle and bustle of patong. Family friendly and fantastic staff.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter J, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Julie-we are so glad to have had yet another happy guest visit, and really appreciate the comments you have posted. Poolside breakfasts in the morning sun are often mentioned to us as a stay highlight by families in particular. Our proximity to the 50 -odd restaurants in the Surin Beach area, all within 5 minutes walk from our front gate is also a benefit that comes free with a stay at The Chava - please hurry back. Regards Peter J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    40
    4
    0
    8
See reviews for
182
46
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This is my 4th time at the Chava and it just gets better each time- the service and food is fantastic - the rooms are large and the pool is amazing . For me I love the location as I come here to relax and swim and an early morning run! I need to stay in contact with my office so WiFi is most important, the wifi at the Chava is very good - last night we had the chef come to our room and provide a cooking lesion and dinner party amazing experance a must do.
Peter and your team keep up the good work.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter J, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Tim-it's great having regular returning guests staying with us as you are doing yet again. We have the utmost respect for the opinions of our guests particularly those from the travel industry so place great value on your comments. We are also glad that you enjoyed your private in-room cooking class-you're not the first guest to mention this as a highlight. Hope to have you back with us again very soon. Regards Peter J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a week at Chava last week, absolute heaven!! We had a party of 2 adults and 4 teenage children and the resort catered for all our varying needs. We really didn't want to leave the resort as we were offered delicious food, cocktails and massages around the pool and the room was very well-equipped with foxtel screens and a fully-functioning kitchen (even though we never used it...). The area is quite safe, even for our teenage girls to wander around shopping or taking a quick mango smoothie down the road.

Peter, Sharon and the team were wonderful with their advice on where to eat, where to go and what to do, even which shop to go to for that last minute gift!

We have returned relaxed, and thoroughly in love with the Thai culture. We will return

Room Tip: Get down to the pool early for the prime cabana position!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter J, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Kyra- I'm delighted to receive your very positive comments about your recent stay with us particularly in relation to our food, cocktails and massage service. The safety of the Surin Beach area is also something our guests find particularly comforting. Our free advice service is something we are only too happy to share with guests and Sharon really enjoys constantly researching on your behalves!!! Please rush back soon-regards, Peter J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife and 14 month old daughter a couple of weeks ago and we loved it. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment with plunge pool. Immaculately clean, very comfortable, extremely quiet and the staff were beautiful. Located only 150 metres from the beach, with plenty of restaurants to choose from the Chava Resort is perfect for families and couples alike. Booking process was painless and even the general manager, a Carlton supporter was a good bloke! We will definitely be back, thank you again to Peter and his team for a fantastic stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter J, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Anthony- it's very gratifying to receive such an encouraging review from a fellow Hotel Industry professional such as yourself- additionally from a senior TripAdvisor reviewer. Our very close proximity to beautiful Surin Beach-the best beach on Phuket - is a real positive for us as are the multitude of restaurant choices available to our guests. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay- more so on a weekend where Collingwood exited the finals race!!! See you on your next visit to Phuket-regards Peter J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Great location close to beautiful clean beach an the restaurants that line it. Great friendly staff willing to help with anything you need and to make you feel welcome.
Great rooms with everything you need and a beautiful outdoor pool area.
If you are looking to party then this is not the place for you but if you want to relax and enjoy your self then highly recommend. We stayed here with our nearly 2 year old and she had a ball..
But if you want something busier for a day then patong is only a 15 -20 min taxi ride away which costs about 500 bart (about $16 Aust). A big thanks to peter and his staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter J, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you Rosseve1 for your encouraging comments in particular about our staff. It brings us great joy when we receive these types of comments about the efforts of our team, who really go out of their way to ensure that our guests have the most enjoyable and relaxing stay with us. As we often say about our proximity to Patong- "close enough for some, far enough away for most!". Regards, Peter J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

If you want to relax and not have a worry in the world this is the place for you.
Peter and his staff were friendly and professional. Nothing was a bother and the service is faultless. The food is first quality is always fresh and first quality. Best short black coffee I've ever had in Asia. Will definitely be back and can thoroughly recommend for couples or families.
Loved it!
Dom and Pina

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter J, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you Dom- we really appreciate your feedback and the value of your comments about our coffee are immeasurable, particularly from somebody in the coffee industry like yourself !!! Chef will be very happy to also receive a mention for his food. We would love to have you and Pina come back and relax with us again some time very soon. Regards, Peter J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed for 10 days and found the Chava Resort to be immaculate and beautiful. Rooms are the nicest I've stayed in and I come to Asia every year. All staff are very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. Yes this resort is really THAT good! The pool is one you wont want to lleave. There is as much or as little as you want to do in the area. Thank you Peter J and Sharon you made it a very special trip for me, my wife and two daughters.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter J, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Tafty1970- wow, you really did have a good time with us here at The Chava. How pleasing it is to receive the type of comments you have bestowed upon us here. Your comparison against other properties that you have stayed in is very comforting indeed. Our focus on continually improving the skills of our staff along with the naturally polite, respectful and friendly manner of the Thai people ensures that the interaction between customer and guest is important to us at all times, so thank you for your recognition of our team. We very much look forward to hosting you again when you next travel to Thailand. Regards Peter J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chava Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chava Resort

Address: 113 Moo 3 | Thalang District, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#1 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#9 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chava Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury boutique resort is truly different from anything else in Phuket. Located just 100 mtrs from beautiful Surin Beach it is the ultimate in relaxation. With just 45 contemporary designed spacious apartments its remains intimate yet relaxed. It's variety of apartment configurations from two bedroom, two bathroom apartments through to five bedroom, five bathroom and penthouses are perfect for couples, families or groups. The Chava Resort will relax your mind, spoil your senses and fulfill your every need.All the ground floor apartments enjoy private plunge pools, whilst the floors above enjoy extensive balcony's with views to the beach or over the 35 mtr pool in the centre of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Chava Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chava Hotel Thalang
Chava Hotel Surin Beach
The Chava Resort Phuket, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chava Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.