We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose this hotel for Surin Beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106/27 Moo 3 | Thalang, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #10 of 16 hotels in Choeng Thale
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Choose this hotel for Surin Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

My husband and I spent a lot of time trying to identify the best beach to stay on in Thailand, while planning our trip. We finally chose the Doubltree Phuket near the Surin beach because we had a bunch of hotel points and we thought we might as well use it here. It turned out to be a great choice (other than a few complaints).

The Surin beach is really nice, and probably the best beach compared to Kamala and the main beach near the town area. It is more upscale and not as crowded. The beach is lovely, but can get a tad rough if the high tide comes in. There are many great restaurants along the beach and some great food stalls as well. The beach is a 5-10 walk from the hotel. The hotel provides you with towels.

The rooms itself are a little dated, but not bad at all. The shower however was probably one of the worst I have seen. The water would stagnate and overflow into the rest of the bathroom and wet the whole place!! The result is that the whole bathroom would become wet, with wet and messy bathmats and the works. I don’t know how a hotel would not fix an issue like this. Housekeeping was not up to the mark either, leaving used mugs and not replacing them with clean ones.

The breakfast buffet was very good. The front desk and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Overall a good stay, I wish we had got a different bathroom though.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitirat T, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Thecaribou,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our resort and generally had a pleasant and memorable holiday. Your constructive feedback was greatly appreciated. We will improve our bathroom facilities and services as per your comments regarding the bathroom issue. If you have any suggestions, please feel free to contact me at thitirat.thongpat@hilton.com

Thanks again for your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to our resort in the near future.

Best regards,

Thitirat T.
(On Behalf of General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    172
    85
    11
    9
See reviews for
226
152
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Strange experience here. Good but something not quite right about the place.

Maybe management but it just never felt like a proper Hilton.

Rooms were good and spacious however cleaning was always strangely timed.

Front desk service was mediocre especially in a family hotel where it must be quite a necessity.

Location to the beach is brilliant, a stones throw! Highly recommend Catch bar/grill situated on the beach.

Staff service was weird. If people couldn't speak English they would just point you in a random direction. I waited 20 minutes for 2 cocktails and the general aura around staff service just wasn't there. I think management must not be so great.

Overall good for families though and it is a great place for kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We loved the staff and food at this hotel. Pool was great for kids and adults alike although watch out for your kids on the slide - some people go slow, others go fast and our son got a bit hurt on it as an adult came down after him. The staff are warm and welcoming with beautiful smiles. The food is great, particularly the breakfast buffet. Rooms are comfortable but furniture is a bit shabby. Air con works a dream. All in all we had a lovely staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitirat T, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Caireen,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent stay with us.

I was please to read that you enjoy our warm services, foods, hotel facilities and generally had a pleasant and memorable holiday.

We have shared with the team your positive comments which were truly appreciated and we look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Thitirat T.
(On behalf of General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

very nice hotel near the beach and bars and restaurants.staff very helpful and friendly and will be back here.loads of places to eat nearby.breakfast good and restaurant good selection.not too big a hotel,just right for the area and easy access,no hills etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitirat T, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Gary A,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed our services, our restaurant and the surrounding area during your stay at the resort. Your kind words about the resort and staff friendliness will be shared with the team.

Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Thitirat T.
(On behalf of General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

It was a fine experience, good for families, gym good, room cleaning staff could have been more consistent; they did not resupply coffee, shampoo, etc. daily, food prices a little high and therefore best to eat at beach eateries.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitirat T, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read the good feedback about the resort, we will keep up the good work as well as improve our service to be more consistent.

We are looking forward to welcome you to our resort in the future.

Thank you and best regards.

Thitirat T.
(On behalf of General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

For the price, towels with holes, cold room service, little hot water, fridge didn't shut properly so nothing kept cold, kids kept stopping on the water slide cause so slow, great security people, yummy cookie on arrival

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitirat T, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Daniel Hume K ,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent visit, your constructive feedback was greatly appreciated.

I was glad to read that you experienced our warm welcome with our signature DoubleTree Cookie and you appreciated our staffs. However, we would like to apologize for any inconvinience caused during your stay and we would certainly be keen to welcome you back in the future.

Thank you and best regrads,

Thitirat T.
(On behalf of General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Superficially this place is ok. Look a bit a closer, and it really misses the mark. GOOD Location, gym, maid service, water slide (for kids), staff BAD Tired, Sharp Concrete (in and out the pool), not enough poolside beds, stodgy breakfast, loud (gail force a/c), squeeky doors, dirty bathrooms etc Lose the paid-breakfast nonsense - you are a hotel in Thailand. All up, a pretty average experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach

Address: 106/27 Moo 3 | Thalang, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#8 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the crystal waters and white sands of Surin Beach, the DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket – Surin Beach offers the perfect retreat. Contemporary comfort, a warm welcome and a signature DoubleTree cookie on arrival helps make your stay stress-free. Located just 30 minutes drive from Phuket International Airport and 25 minutes from the nightlife and shopping of Patong, you can really make the most of your time in one of Thailand’s premier beach resorts. Stay connected from your deluxe room or suite at this resort-style hotel in Phuket thanks to high-speed internet access. Relax in front of the flat-screen TV as you watch a movie, or unwind on your private balcony or terrace. The white sands of Surin Beach are just a short stroll away as is the popular Catch Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Phuket At Surin Beach Hotel 1234587
Courtyard Hotel Cherngtalay
Phuket Courtyard
Courtyard Surin Beach
DoubleTree Resort By Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.