We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family holiday resort. Away from busy patong.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach to your Saves list
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106/27 Moo3 | Cherngtalay Surin Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent family holiday resort. Away from busy patong.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed 11 nights in Dec 2012.
Loved it. Jeoff very helpful at reception. We asked for adjoining rooms which we got after a night on ground floor. Which was the best location for kids in and out of the great pool and slides.
5 min walk to beach and really good restaurants. Surin beach bar and restaurant was our pick.
Taxi mafia made the location expensive to travel to Patong for shopping. $40 instead of $6 for any other Asian city. Hired a car for a day is also $40. Still the location is nice and peace full.
Loved it. Kids loved it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Amanda

thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent stay.

I am glad we were able to provide you with a room that allowed you and your family make the most of your holidays.

Surin Beach as you note is a perfect environment for families and there are many good restaurants to complement our own facilities.

It is disappointing that you struggled with the transport options, but noteworthy that we do provide an affordable shuttle to both Patong and Phuket Town as an option.

Thank you once again for your input, which will be shared with the team.

Warm regards
Simon McGrath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    245
    122
    24
    18
See reviews for
313
219
43
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

i stayed at Double Tree Hilton for 2 nights in Dec 2012. i have made my reservations online, booked 2 double double rooms and had requested for those rooms to be connecting. Upon checking in, they couldn't provide 2 connecting rooms for me so to make up for that, Jeoff(the front reception staff) bumped my rooms up to junior suites. i thought that was really such a generous gesture from the hotel to do that. it really made our day!!! and the hospitality of the staff were great throughout our stay there. very polite & welcoming. hotel facilities were also great. rooms were perfect & most importantly, very clean! would definitely recommend this hotel. Also location-wise, it is perfect, just walking distance from a beautiful beach. would love to go back there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Erika

thank you for taking the time to complete review after your recent stay at the Resort.

I was so pleased to see that our Duty Manager Jeff through his empowered actions was able to make the start and remainder of your holiday memorable.

Our CARE philosophy at Doubletree encourages this behaviour and we will certainly recognise Jeff for his actions.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Simon McGrath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The rooms is a little hold need to be refresh but when you step out you forget
The location is great near smalls restaurants and 5 minutes by car from Paton for night live
The breakfast is gorgeous you can chose 2 different sites for that one Asia style and the very good one Italian style starting at 7 until 10:30 am
The space outside is big 3 very larges seeming pool with slides for kids is so good .
The price is faire well negotiate you can have a standard room 2 or 3 persons for 60 euros
We love the place if no changes since last year is a great deal and I recommended for all family

Room Tip: Front sea and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Mark N

thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent stay.

I was pleased to see that the facilities and services generally met your expectations. I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed our breakfast offering.

Surin Beach is certainly rapidly becoming the place to stay in Phuket and enjoys the advantage of being not to far from the airport or the nightlife.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards
Simon McGrath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights at this property mid-December. The hotel is about a 30 minute taxi ride from the Phuket Airport and you should not have to pay more than 700 Baht for a ride. Although this time of year is the high season for Thailand and the hotel had plenty of guests, it did not seem crowded. We arrived without a reservation late on a Monday evening and were immediately greeted with cold towels and tea during check-in. We were upgraded to a suite due to our HHonors status. The pool is quite large, has plenty of seating, and is pristine. A kids play area has a separate pool and staffed daycare with activities. The hotel has its own spa (we tried a treatment there and were rather unimpressed).

The hotel is located across the street from beach access, about a five minute walk. Their are numerous beach clubs on the beach with chairs and shade. There does not appear to a "free option," but a couple of clubs charged as little as 100 BAHT per chair per day. The beach was never packed and water was clean and clear.

The breakfast buffet at the hotel was terrific and included foods for westerners and Asians. The restaurant outside of breakfast was a bit expensive and not as good as other eating options around the hotel, of which there were plenty. We enjoyed eating at the Anda Beach Club on the water and enjoyed a particularly noteworthy meal at Mana Thai a short walk from the Doubletree. The bars at the Doubletree served terrific drinks, which were mostly worth the additional expense.

Some reviews noted a sewage smell at the hotel. There is a very slight smell at the rear of the hotel. I would avoid rooms on the first floor in that area.

Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay at this Hilton property and would visit again should the opportunity arise. It is more than suitable for couple or families and a variety of activities for both kinds of travelers are within walking distance.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the rear of the hotel. Definitely spring for the suite if you can swing it and get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Mark N

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent stay.

I was glad to see that generally the services and facilities offered by the Resort met or exceeded your expectations. I was also thrilled to see as a new member of the Hilton family that we acknowleged your Hilton HHonors status and were able to upgrade you and your family.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the breakfast and rest assured, we are working to lift the lunch and dinner with a new menu going into place just last week. This has meet with positive feedback already.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards
Simon McGrath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Just had a great 10 day stay at this property. With a young daughter we had a excellent time. Was easy to keep the 3 year old entertained with the extensive kids club and pools with slides.
Property is only recently become a Hilton from my understanding and there is still some improvements to be made but over all the service, facilities and location were great for us.
We have a 1 bedroom suite on the ground floor, which I would thoroughly recommend, that opened to a deck then to the pool. Private enough but also nice and handy to the pool loungers.
Room was very clean and well maintained. Not overly upmarket but very comfortable. Everything worked well in the room and housekeeping was nice and friendly and very efficient.
The breakfast was good but busy most days. The service improved while we were there and the staff seem to be getting training.
Quality of the breakfast items was great but a little repetitive over the 10 days.
Dining there for lunch and dinner was good and the menu has just been changed while we were there. Nice range of Western and Thai dishes to choose from, and for the dishes we ate they were very good. Pool bar also was good and service was very friendly.
Other facilities that we used, obviously the kids club, excellent- 2 floors of fun for the kids. Our daughter never got bored there and made lots of friends. Easy for us to relax....Great staff in the club.
The pools.- fun slides and good sized pools that even when the hotel was very full there was still space.
Location of the hotel would be a challenge if you wanted to party in Patong however as we didnt it was great.
It is a sort walk to the beach- less than 5 minutes and lots of beach clubs and local restaurants etc there.
Great swimming beach.
overall an excellent stay and already looking forward to going back middle of next year.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom suite on ground floor are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear James D

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent stay.

I was glad to see you found the service and facilities met or exceeded your expectations. Surin Beach as you note is a great area for families and this is complemented by the Resort's facilities and accommodation options.

I am glad you also enjoyed the restaurant and your children enjoyed Kids World.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Kind regards
Simon McGrath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Myself and 2 other friends stayed at Doubletree late November and we all can't stress what an amazing time we had at the property. We were not originally going to stay at Surin beach, but we had to change our accommodation plans after the original hotel we had planned to stay at had overbooked halfway through our stay - and it was the best thing that could have happened. It was only supposed to be a 3 night stay at Doubletree Surin and we ended up extending our stay until the end of our vacation in Phuket, and why we would stay there on our next trip back. This was because of so many positives we had experienced during our time there:

- Hardworking and polite staff (particularly the General Manager, Front Office and Room Service) Many staff went out of their way to help us, in particular when our transfer to the airport did not show. The kind staff did everything they could to contact the transfer company and when it looked like we would be late for our flight, they provided us with a car to take us free of charge!
- Excellent-sized rooms
- Excellent breakfast buffet spread
- Free wireless in public areas (awesome considering you have to pay stupid amounts in Australian hotels)
- Location (may not have been right on the beach, but it was literally 5 minutes walk. Awesome bars and restaurants close-by, you cannot miss going to Catch Beach Club)

That's why I find it very confusing to read other reviews not speaking of the establishment as highly as myself. Yes, it's an older property, and service in the restaurant (Sunday mornings in particular) needs improvement - but it has recently been taken over by Hilton from Marriott and things are being improved upon. It may not be as exciting as some other resort-styled hotels around the place, but who goes on holiday to sit by a pool all day and not explore?

My friends and I found it a great place to come and relax after long days of sightseeing all of Phuket, and shopping & partying in crazy Patong. Great stay, highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Adelaidetrio

Thank you so much for completing a review of the Resort after your recent stay.

I am glad we could accommodate you after your relocation and that you enjoyed the Resort and the area around Surin Beach in general.

Having recently joined the Hilton family under the Doubletree brand, we continue to focus on key areas such as the resort presentation and lifting the breakfast experience to be memorable regardless of the day of the week!

I will share your feedback with the Team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Simon McGrath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was my first time in Phuket and after many recommendations and advise from friends chose to stay in Surin. We had friends stay att the Doubletrip who highly recommended this property and believe me we were not disappointed.
I love this place.

The hotel and grounds are beautiful and it almost has a boutique feel to it. Rooms were modern and well aircondiotioned and the pool area was blissful.

Ok, now their breakfast would have to be one of the best breakfast ever... I new exactly were I was heading to every morning.

R\The staff werew so accommodation and I am actually planning my next trip and i know where I am staying.

Suirin is a great locoation close to Patong and the airport.

Plus extra bonus...I love my Hilton rewards points....and the chocolate trip cookie on arrival


I know

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Kasper K

thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort.

Thank you so much for you positive comments on the Resort and its people, which I will certainly share with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards
Simon McGrath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach

Address: 106/27 Moo3 | Cherngtalay Surin Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#12 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the crystal waters and white sands of Surin Beach, the DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket – Surin Beach offers the perfect retreat. Contemporary comfort, a warm welcome and a signature DoubleTree cookie on arrival helps make your stay stress-free. Located just 30 minutes drive from Phuket International Airport and 25 minutes from the nightlife and shopping of Patong, you can really make the most of your time in one of Thailand’s premier beach resorts. Stay connected from your deluxe room or suite at this resort-style hotel in Phuket thanks to high-speed internet access. Relax in front of the flat-screen TV as you watch a movie, or unwind on your private balcony or terrace. The white sands of Surin Beach are just a short stroll away as is the popular Catch Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Phuket At Surin Beach Hotel 1234587
Courtyard Hotel Cherngtalay
Phuket Courtyard
Courtyard Surin Beach
DoubleTree Resort By Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.