We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed but soulless and overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Catch Beach Club

Catch Beach Club
Surin Beach Road | Cherng Talay, Choeng Thale, Phuket, Thailand
+66 (0) 76 316567
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 60 restaurants in Choeng Thale
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Description: Phuket Most Exciting & Fashionable Beach Club
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well appointed but soulless and overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Catch is every bit the resort restaurant, with a well-designed but soulless layout, pricy western food, and lukewarm service.

In an apparent effort to emulate 5-star Western service, the staff are well trained... but have lost the Thai friendliness which usually makes the region such a joy. Service was polite, but not friendly, which made the enforced tip (added to each bill) a bit of an affront (we always tip anyway, but it is somewhat insulting to be forced).

The food was good, and well suited to those seedy mornings when you want to play it safe. The beef burger and Tuna steak in particular were delicious. Prices were approaching what we would pay at home, and more than double what you'd pay at neighbouring Thai restaurants. Strangely the cocktails were the most reasonably priced thing on the menu, while beer was easily double the standard price.

The overall feel was very polished, but not necessarily in a good way. Manufactured is the word that comes to mind - and not what we were looking for in Thailand.

*Note* We also ate at Catch for a Wedding banquet, which was absolutely incredible with a huge array of beautiful Thai food - this review pertains to the normal restaurant operation only

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    184
    160
    76
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best location in Phuket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Catch is truly a wonderful setting; based directly on the gorgeous Surin beach, the location just doesn't get better. The food is good (not great), I had the catch pizza which was very good, my wife had the Tuna which was cooked very well and the kids had spaghetti Bolognese which was forgettable. The drinks list is excellent although very expensive which is probably justified with the location. There is a very cool bar area with a DJ in the corner playing relaxing music. If you like KuDeTa in Bali you will probably like this.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“fantastic location, amazing food and absolutely the BEST cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Location was fantastic fronting onto the picturesque Surin beach. Food was reasonably priced and delicious and I could not get enough of the cocktails, in particular the Banana Daiquiri. We attended one of their Buffet barbeque nights and can thoroughly recommend these. The food was truely amazing! We also never had to wait for a Sunbed and these were free for us- staying at the Twinpalms resort. Atmosphere was casual and relaxed through the day and this followed through into the evening.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“cool evening on the beach at the Catch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

A very pleasant evening with good drinks and food. If you want to relax, eat and drink and feel the sea breeze, then I can highly recommend the Catch. Most of the staff are quite friendly and they try to provide good service. I enjoyed the place to such an extent that I went there twice with different friends.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“expensive, but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Catch beach club is a great spot to go if you want to feel away from it all. I really like the friday night and tuesday night bbqs and go there often. Its also a great place for cocktails with friends.

I dont think i have ever eaten off the menu here, opting to go for their "bbqs" every time i go there. I think that considering the prices of the food, i would prefer to go to a Thai place next door or the pizza place up the beach.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catch Beach Club also viewed

Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 

Been to Catch Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catch Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.