We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SALA Phuket Resort & Spa to your Saves list
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Moo 3 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Absolutely stunning resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

The Sala resort is magical! Having never been to Phuket, we decided to get married at the Sala and we were not disappointed by our choice. It was perfect in every way, the location was remote and romantic, the staff were so friendly and the food was phenomenal. Our wedding day was everything we hoped for and more. The ceremony set up on the beach was beautiful, the staff were so attentive and our guests commented that their glasses were never empty of wine and water during the reception. The food was absolutely superb and the coconut soup should not be missed on your visit-a big thank you to Juan and all of his staff for the amazing food served.
The most impressive part of this resort is how remote it is. It really is a place to get away from it all and relax. The Sala Spa was beautiful and I had the best massage I’ve ever had here. I only wish we had more time to indulge in other treatments.
The sunset should not be missed and the beach is beautiful and picturesque. Anyone thinking of getting married here and staying here, you will not be disappointed!
The rooms were big and the bed is comfortable. The Sala kindly upgraded us to a one bedroom villa and having your own private pool is such a treat. The outdoor bathroom is gorgeous.
A very big thank you to all of the staff at the Sala for their friendliness, their constant smiles and their kindness. Thank you especially to Khun Pla for organising our beautiful wedding and to Stuart, Juan, Tibor and Jon, thank you for making our stay and our wedding so special. We hope to see you for our one year anniversary.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    234
    75
    18
    17
See reviews for
133
695
28
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

We spent a week (7 nights) at Sala Phuket and really didn't want to leave. I mean really. We even considered changing our flights and staying an extra week.

One of the joys of staying a whole week was that we actually got to really enjoy the place. Over the weekend, the place seemed to get a little busier and there were slightly more of the beautiful people around the pool, but it never seemed crowded. It also meant we sampled many of the theme nights, all of which were very good. On our last night we decided at the last minute to stay for the Thai night. We were concerned that it might be a bit clichéd, but were pleasantly surprised... and the food - there was SO much.

We had a Sala Pool Villa, so we never actually managed to get into the main pool. The villa was well worth it. Very private high walls, your own pool and outdoor shower and bathroom. The privacy was glorious, although the villas are close together, so you can hear your neighbours occasionally. One small frustration was that all the doorbells sound the same, so sometimes when the neighbour's bell went, you had to get up and put on a robe/clothes (well it IS a private villa) and answer the door to find no-one there. The freshly made herbal tea and lit lemongrass oil burner with the turndown service was a daily highlight. Very large and comfortable bed and lovely linen. One of those plug-in insect repellent strips was provided.

There are quite a few small steps up and down scattered irregularly around the villa, so for the first few days we had a couple of small trips (even when we hadn't been indulging in sunset cocktails). Word of warning though - the tiles around the pool are VERY slippery when wet. It's mentioned in another review, but the cheap and flimsy matting that has been put down is more of a hindrance than a help.

Food was very, very good. We ate most days at the restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner and were never disappointed. Service was good (not excellent - a little slow at times on spotting guests wanting another drink), the food a good mix of Thai and western and always delicious, well prepared and presented.

The spa is excellent, and we had a number of treatments, including the couples massage. I had the Thai/shiatsu combination and my girlfriend had the Swedish. Both were very good, undertaken by experienced and well trained masseuses. The spa itself is very well appointed, and a good range of treatments. A very relaxing and luxurious environment.

Would I return? We've already booked for later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon - and it was amazing. From the moment we made the booking we were sent an email asking us to complete a few questions in order to make our trip extra special. We were asked how we liked our pillows, to the type of scents we wanted our towels to smell like! It was brilliant!!

Once we arrived, the hotel itself is very unique and luxurious. It has a very tranquil feeling to it with it so you instantly feel relaxed and calm the moment you step foot inside.

The staff are very friendly and speak fluent English. This came in handy when we asked them about local attractions and touristy stuff.

We stayed in a deluxe villa which was stunning. The pool was a good size and everything was very clean on inspection. The room itself if spacious but cosy at the same time. There were two flat screen TV's (one infront of the bed and another in the lounge) and we were told we could hire DVD's for free from the front desk.

The restaurant itself is outside in view point of the beach (*sigh: very romantic*) and the breakfast buffet (which was included in our package) was VERY delicious!! We'd have an array to pick from. For lunch and dinner, they'd have a range of international cuisines (from Mexican/Italian etc) to Thai dishes. These were pricey but very tasty. If you require Halal food - let them know as they cater for Muslims too.

The spa was wonderful- although I can't tell you much about this as my massage was so relaxing I feel asleep within five minutes of starting it! That's a sure sign it was good! There's also a little massage hut outside (near the restaurant) that charges a fraction of the price (like £5 I think) so you can afford to get one done everyday if you wanted.

We hired bikes for free while we stayed here and cycled to the local shops (a small complex with a dessert bar, a mini-supermarket and a few others). This was great to do as the weather was perfect.

The only "issue" if I had to say is the location of the hotel - it's very far from Pa Tong Beach and Phuket town so we'd take a shuttle bus there which would take roughly an hour. This also worked out to be around £10p/p. There isn't much to do around the hotel too but we didn't mind too much to take the shuttle bus (a mini van) as it's well equipt and comfortable.

Other than that, this hotel is gorgeous. We'd def recommend it and we'd def come back! Mai Khao beach is a beautiful sight too.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

We had great expectations for our long Week-end at Sala Phuket - website research showed a design hotel in a great location. So we booked and went.......
the place is difficult to rate - it is difficult to be fair as one would have high expectations for a published rate of close to 19,000 BHT for a Sala Pool Villa.
It took 45 minutes to check in - not because the hotel was busy but everything simply seemed to move in a hap hazard way - all staff was friendly. The girl that showed us to our villa could not find the way......not a big deal but a little strange. But once we arrived at the villa we saw the "fun" that was going to require us to have a sense of humour for the next 3 days : the nice girl was unable to open the villa doors onto the garden as the hatch to open them was set at a hight that most thais could not reach....aha we laughed - and they have won the Siamese Architectural awards ....
the room was nice enough but the quality of the materials in general below standards. wooden doors that we very difficult to open and close as the wood had absorbed moisture. Dangerously slippery tiles next to the pool covered with a cheap sheet on non slip material that was constantly blowing in the wind. Fans that were hard to control for speed as the symbols were no longer according to the settings........what made us laugh the most was the cheap chinese thermos - oops that certainly was not out of "Wallpaper Magazine". Anyway all in all a nice room but 19,000 bht ??
We went down to the resorts only restaurant to get some lunch - good setting overlooking the pool and ocean. A friendly F&B person greeted us and asked if we were aware of the promotion they were running ? BBQ with wine included....sounded good so we went for that - good salads - great Aussie beef - good value. As we later found out the restaurant staff is not always aware of all the different promotions that are running - on Sunday evening we went for "Fishermans Catch" in a room flyer it said BHT 1900 for 2 - the menu were were given in the restaurant said BHT 2800 for 2 - a trip back to the villa to get the flyer and a puzzled restaurant supervisor promptly changed the price for us - I wonder what all the other guests ended up paying for this meal - again good quality but very un-thai taste.
A walk around the resort took us to the location of the Garden Pool Villa and Balcony Room area. The Garden Pool Villa is the lower unit in a two story hotel like building - very different from the Sala Pool Villa we had that was in a freestanding villa.
The Balcony rooms are fine BUT mind you the steed staircase you have to up and down on to reach each room would be a challenge to many and certainly encourage you to hold back on the Happy Hour bars offering.

All in all " good try " but knowing some of the thoughts that went into this resort we would think that total execution needs to be upgraded substantially. Maybe that is why the resort is currently running a series of deeply discounted promotions for local residents.

Discounts are nice but for a luxury boutique resort quality of execution should be the first priority in our humbe view.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

We have just returned from a 3 day stay at the Sala Hotel. The rooms were unique and the whole hotel was very stylish. We loved the food, the decor, the pools and the service was very good.
The only negative comments I could make were that on our return trip to the airport the hotel transport which we booked with the hotel turned out to be a local taxi which wasn't really big enough for our family and our luggage and was in stark contrast to the lovely hotel car which had come to pick us up from the airport when we arrived, but still cost us 900 baht.
Also on the Friday night we had a booked a table for the Thai Gourmet dinner with friends who were also staying in the hotel and were quite disappointed to find ourselves surrounded by smokers, especially as there were children on the table. We were told when we complained that we were in a smoking section of the restaurant, although we hadn't been asked when making the reservation whether we wanted a smoking or non smoking area. We were offered another table when we complained but it was right at the back of the restaurant where we would not have been able to see the Thai dancing.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

we loved this place and are going back in the furture,we went for our honey moon,and it was the best clean,relaxing,great food,and best service these people will look after you,its a quiet place,the ladies are on the beach waitin to give you a massage,for only around 200bht,(heaps cheaper then the sala spa)do take the sala bus insted of the taxi man,the bus is so much more comfortable,its a real lovebirds place,

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We stayed at the Sala Phuket in a pool villa for 2 weeks. It was one of the most relaxing holidays OH and I have been on. Definately 5* hotel/service. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Would (and have) recommend to friends/family.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to SALA Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 333 Moo 3 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort, featuring private swimming pools in 63 out of 79 rooms, villas, and suites. SALA Phuket boutique resort is an impressive compliment to its popular sister property, SALA Samui. SALA Phuket combines rare historical Sino - Portuguese architecture with modern 5-star facilities. Located on pristine Mai Khao beach on Phuket's northwest shoreline, SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The famous Blue Canyon Golf Course is a short distance from SALA Phuket and the picturesque Phang Nga Bay is located just 25 minutes away. SALA Phuket is the ideal location for a Phuket wedding and honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach and lush beach side lawn surrounded by a coconut tree plantation swaying in the wind. In addition to friendly, professional and personalized service, SALA Phuket luxury resort offers facilities including:- 3 large beachfront swimming pools, world class international beachfront restaurant and bar with an air-conditioned dining option, Award winning SALA Spa, full equipped gym, steam rooms & salon, complimentary wi-fi internet connection throughout the entire resort, gift shop, business traveler services, entertainment and theme nights, nightly villa turn down service, In-Villa dining, miles of untouched beach front, the longest and least developed in Phuket, an array of local activities and excursions are available. Weddings at SALA Phuket, marriage is an occasion that should be cherished always. A variety of locations for your ceremony are available, from golden sand beach stretches, lush green lawn expanses or an intimate sunset rooftop vantage. Our personal and intuitive staff will ensure your special occasion receives the attention it deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your SALA Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Phuket Resort And Spa
Sala Phuket Mai Khao
Sala Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.