We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added SALA Phuket Resort & Spa to your Saves list
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Moo 3 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
101 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

Stayed here for one night (yeap! one night only because I only had Sat/Sun off) and I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel/resort. Why? Here are the reasons

Pros
- I stayed at the Villa and it was absolutely amazing... large pool, large outdoor tub, extremely comfortable beds, private and secluded, large sofa/siting area
- Friendly service by all the staff
- The best infinity pool I have ever seen - with very cool little steps leading down to the pool, and you are basically on the same level as the grass, which makes the experience very serene and enjoyable
- Free breakfast (delivered to room) was more than adequate and very delicious
- Dinner at the hotel restaurant was of very high quality, and there was live jazz music
- Spa/massage was top-notch and prices are quite cheap based on the experience
- The rooftop sitting area was the best with sweeping views of the beach and the resort area
- Most importantly - the environment: Shower is located at a platform above the interior courtyard/garden, and the water that was disposed of goes straight to the soil of the garden that helps grow plants/flowers
- Lots of bottled water in room
- Mini little floating beds in pool
- Fast internet service ($)
- Close proximity to the airport

Cons
- Since most of the bathroom facilities are outdoors, there are lizzards and spiders and flies. So don't be surprised when you are using the bathroom/toilet/shower and there is a lizzard right above you!

Honestly, I highly recommend this resort. Even thought it is more expensive, DO stay at a villa rather than the regular resort rooms as it is a much great and memorable experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    238
    76
    17
    17
See reviews for
136
702
28
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weston,CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

Stayed four nights at the Sala Phuket after two weeks of frenetic touring in Thailand and Cambodia. Couldn't have chosen a more perfect spot to just chill. Pool villa was elegant and luxurious and it is so nice to jump into your private pool for a few strokes after waking, before bed, or whenever the mood strikes you. If you stay here it really pays to splurge for the pool villa, otherwise you will feel you are missing out. Outdoor bathroom was a lot of fun, the privacy is more than adequate and don't worry about the little lizards, they are totally harmless, I for one think they are cute. Bugs were not a problem. If you are too shy to use outdoors facilities you probably should stay home. Ocean and beach are beautiful, but even in December (when the water is supposed to be at its calmest) there are waves and a steep drop-off: you need to be a reasonably good swimmer. NOT for little children. Staff was solicitous and discrete. Everyone hangs poolside on the comfy lounges, the beach has no chairs and is kind of hot to hang out at , but a dip in the ocean is just steps away from your poolside hang-out. The pools (two of them!) are fantastic: huge and beautifully designed. We swam a few laps every day and pretended that we burned off more than a tiny fraction of the calories we consumed at breakfast alone. Just when we convinced ourselves of this, a staffer would come around with some complimentary treat to whet your appetite for lunch.
Try a massage at the hut just outside the property line, those ladies have strong hands and the price is a fraction of what you are charged in the hotel spa.
The restaurant is good, but after two dinners there we were tired of it. (Breakfast is huge and delicious.)
You can head up to the nearby Marriot or Anantara to eat, but expect similar high prices and lots of fellow tourists. Never tried the local beach huts, not brave enough. If I went back would find the motivation to take a cab down to Surin beach and check out the multitude of restaurants there.
The ownership really tries hard here to make your experience unique and memorable, and to a large extent they succeed. I would strongly suggest this hotel for a special trip.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

from check-in to check-out, Sala was great!! the design of the hotel is great... a grey and purple modernist/minimalist theme... the resort is just the right size... i hate when you stay somewhere and it's always a challenge to get back to your room! the rooms were great. we had a one bedroom villa which had a private pool and outdoor bathtub. AH-MAY-ZING. the service was quite good. all the staff were very nice, friendly and responsive. the breakfast is awesome, having different set options for guests to choose from. the thai food was not too great, because we were interested in local flavour and luckily there was a little shack just outside the hotel by the beach where we got traditional southern thai food. the hotel had bikes for us to borrow for free, tons of other sports equiptment including volleyball, football, batminton, etc. but they did not have any water sports things.. maybe just one kayak and some boogie boards. which was a pity. would have been nice if they had windsurfs or something.
the spa is fantastic. great staff there as well.
overall, an awesome place for a holiday with friends, a lover or your family even... pretty quiet, and although my friends and i were a bit of a ruckus, no one really minded and we really enjoyed playing in the main pool with children who were there with their families.
the beach here is also pretty decent and quiet, which is great.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london U.K
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

After reading the reviews and seeing the photos felt sure this place would be amazing! How wrong we were. Its so not a luxury hotel by any means. We checked in on New Years Eve in the afternoon and when we arrived all we could here was VERY loud music coming from right outside the resort. I was very tired and wanted a nap before dinner but when we checked into our room that was impossible! Too light (even with all curtains closed the sun came in a lot, also with the loud music going on outside. We asked the staff where it was coming from and basically it was the locals having a street NYE party with a stage set up, and band playing all through the day and night?! Becuase the resort is not on its own private land there was nothing they could do!

The rooms look good but are very small and impractical concrete blocks! The bathroom was outside so it meant I or my husband would wake up if either of us went to the toilet in the night as the doors were not easy to open, plus then even more light would come in if it was say after 6am! We complained about the light and the manager upgraded us to a pool villa which was not much better! The aircon machine was VERY loud, so even though it was a darker room still could not sleep well?! Also the room was small and crap layout, not much space for luggage at all and we have two Large suitcases and two small ones. The lighting too was terrilble sooooo dark no where to sit and apply make up and dry hair with good light! The outside bathroom was useless, I wanted a bath and it took FOREVER to run and the sinks blocked as soon as you turned the taps on which was a nightmare when brushing your teeth! The shower was a rain head shower also not what we like especially when washing my long thick hair! This hotel was NOT worth anywhere near the £400 +++ a night they were charging, have slept better in far cheaper places where everything worked properly etc. The pool looked ok (didnt use it), we checked out after one night!

We also stayed at The Six Senses Destination Spa Phuket which was HEAVEN on earth and a true luxury escape. There we had an amazing BIG pool villa, the food was fantastic and included in the rate, as was two hours massage treatments each each day in the spa. Very peaceful and we slept like babies there, we will go back there again for sure!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Well what can we say.........this is our "new" spot in Phuket!
Such a welcoming and inviting atmosphere and ultra chic and exclusive all wrapped into one beautiful package. We will certainly be back on our future trips to the island.
Such a fantastic find and we loved being a bit out of the hustle and bustle of Patong Beach. What an AMAZING beach at Mai Khao. We had one of the finest visits we've ever had this year. Thank you so much Sala Phuket!! And thank you trip advisor patrons for the spot on reccomendation!!

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

From the moment we arrived at this hotel we felt totally relaxed and pampered. You are offered a seat in reception with a cold drink while they arrange check in. As we were on honeymoon they offered us a free upgrade to a Sala Pool Villa (we had booked the Garden Pool Villa) as well as flowers, sparkling wine and a free couples massage at the Spa. When we were shown to our villa all the features were fully explained to us.

The villa itself was lovely. We hardly even bothered to leave our room apart from for food and spa treatments. The public pools look lovely but we didn’t use them as we were so happy with our own private pool. The room is well maintained and has everything you would expect plus some extras such as a sun hat and beach bag for your use. There are also complimentary sorbets in the freezer compartment of the mini bar.

The outdoor bathroom is a strange experience and I wouldn’t suggest you stay here if you do not like creepy crawlies as there were several geckos out every night. This didn’t really bother me but my Husband didn’t like it. The shower is completely open to the skies and this means that if it rains you will feel like you are showering in the rain!

Food and service at the restaurant are great at both breakfast and dinner time. We had breakfast included in our rate and it is a la carte rather than a buffet. All the choices on the menu include several courses such as fruit platters, cereal or pancakes as well as different cooked breakfast options. The portions are huge and we didn’t need to eat again until dinner. The bar area is also very nice and does great cocktails. There is a happy hour every evening when drinks are half price and they will bring you complimentary thai tapas.

We left the hotel twice for dinner, once to go the the nearby Marriott and once to go to the Anantara. Both times the hotel took us free of charge in one of their cars and also came to collect us again at the end of our meal. I would say that the Marriott is more for families than couples. The Anantara hotel is lovely and the front desk staff are great. We had walked along that morning to make a reservation at their restaurant (Sea, Fire, Salt) and told them we were coming from the Sala. They had a golf buggy ready and waiting to take us to the restaurant. However, restaurant service was not great. The food was nice though and the setting lovely.

Next to the Marriott and Anantara there is a small shopping centre with a supermarket called Turtle Village. The Sala has bikes that you can borrow free of charge and we used these to cycle along and stock up on things like soft drinks and crisps. It probably takes about 5-10 minutes to cycle there and 20-30 to walk there along the beach. There is not much else in the immediate area.

In summary this is a lovely hotel if you like understated luxury. The staff are lovely and seemed genuinely sad to see us leave. I would not recommend staying here if you want wild nighlife and lots of activities. However, if you are looking for a quiet relaxing time then this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

This hotel has the wow factor! It is situated in a very quiet area with a stunning beach.
The staff welcomed us with a smile. The service was first class throughout our stay.
We stayed in a first floor balcony room for 6 days. It was very comfortable- although the air conditioning unit was a bit noisy at night.
We upgraded into a garden villa for the last 6 nights- it was perfect.
The food served at the hotel was fantastic- as was the food served at the small local place just outside the hotel!
We cant wait to return! Thank you Sala.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
14.6 mi away
Point Yamu Resort by Como
19.2 mi away
Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Anantara Phuket Villas
Anantara Phuket Villas
#1 of 9 in Mai Khao
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 333 Moo 3 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort, featuring private swimming pools in 63 out of 79 rooms, villas, and suites. SALA Phuket boutique resort is an impressive compliment to its popular sister property, SALA Samui. SALA Phuket combines rare historical Sino - Portuguese architecture with modern 5-star facilities. Located on pristine Mai Khao beach on Phuket's northwest shoreline, SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The famous Blue Canyon Golf Course is a short distance from SALA Phuket and the picturesque Phang Nga Bay is located just 25 minutes away. SALA Phuket is the ideal location for a Phuket wedding and honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach and lush beach side lawn surrounded by a coconut tree plantation swaying in the wind. In addition to friendly, professional and personalized service, SALA Phuket luxury resort offers facilities including:- 3 large beachfront swimming pools, world class international beachfront restaurant and bar with an air-conditioned dining option, Award winning SALA Spa, full equipped gym, steam rooms & salon, complimentary wi-fi internet connection throughout the entire resort, gift shop, business traveler services, entertainment and theme nights, nightly villa turn down service, In-Villa dining, miles of untouched beach front, the longest and least developed in Phuket, an array of local activities and excursions are available. Weddings at SALA Phuket, marriage is an occasion that should be cherished always. A variety of locations for your ceremony are available, from golden sand beach stretches, lush green lawn expanses or an intimate sunset rooftop vantage. Our personal and intuitive staff will ensure your special occasion receives the attention it deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, EasyToBook, Splendia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your SALA Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Phuket Resort And Spa
Sala Phuket Mai Khao
Sala Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.