We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than Anticipated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added SALA Phuket Resort & Spa to your Saves list
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Moo 3 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Less than Anticipated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Having read all the TripAdvisor reviews, we were eagerly anticipating this vacation from our home in Bangkok. While SALA is certainly a nice place, it wasn't all we were hoping for.

On the positive side, SALA is located not far from the airport (about 20 min) but we did not notice any plane noise or disruption at all. The beach itself was also nicer than many in Phuket in terms of not being crowded nor spoiled by umbrellas, chairs, vendors, pony rides, etc - very nice for sunset viewing without being bothered (though it appears to be steep, one should beware currents). SALA did a good job setting up a day diving trip with Seabees while we were there, and the staff at the reception area were quite helpful and friendly. One evening at dinner featured Thai dances from around the country and that was a lot of fun. And for any readers who are birders, I can add that the road around the lake behind SALA is productive in the mornings.

For anyone considering the balcony rooms, which have outdoor baths and toilets, I would point out that these rooms all face each other across a small courtyard. Yes, you can look directly into the outdoor bath and toilet of the balcony room opposite, and they at you ... unless you pull closed the floor-to-ceiling curtain, which sort of defeats the purpose of the outdoor facilities. Most resorts in Thailand that feature outdoor baths do it better by mixing privacy with the sense of being outside. Even with the odd arrangement, SALA could have achieved something similar via half-height screens or curtains that still allowed some view of the sky and treetops. And that nice-looking round tub on the balcony? That takes forever to fill and is not very comfortable to actually sit in.

Our balcony room itself was a rather depressing concrete box, all painted in drab, muted colors. The floor was nothing more than painted concrete, with a tiny rug at the foot of the bed. Our impression was that the room had been heavily used. The TV remote control was so old most of the markings on the buttons were worn off. The built in furniture was chipped and marked up, the doors were heavily scuffed, and walls were marked by the hands and luggage of many previous guests. We asked for a deep-clean of the room after finding dust bunnies on the shelves and dirt/flyspecks in the glasses set out on the shelves. The management did offer to shift us to a first-floor pool room, and we appreciated that consideration, but upon taking a look decided that it was less attractive due to being completely walled in. The balcony rooms at least caught a bit of a breeze in the afternoons.

We took a look into pool villas as we walked around, and a lot of reviews are quite complimentary. We did notice, again, that they appeared a bit stark - rectangular with high concrete walls. Of course, one would appreciate the privacy but other places we've stayed soften the impression with woodwork, bamboo work, or small gardens around the pools. In fact, the overall impression of the resort is very much concrete and rectangles. Those who are looking for a more tropical, Thai style resort might want to look through the traveler photos on other places in Phuket too.

The food, to us, was not very exciting. As others have mentioned, one can ask for plain water instead of the pricey sparkling or Voss water. Wine is exorbitantly priced, even for Thailand, and the beer selection is minimal (Hoegaarden at THB290 for a 330ml bottle) which is disappointing considering that Thailand is undergoing a nice sort of beer renaissance recently. Just outside the hotel grounds is a collection of Thai beach restaurants which we enjoyed one evening. We brought our own wine ...

Overall, SALA was a nice place to relax for a couple of days, and one can do far worse in Phuket, but there are other places we'd go back to before here.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are in the back, away from the beach, more humid, and look directly into each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    216
    73
    17
    16
See reviews for
123
651
27
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

From the moment you step into Sala everything is just so tranquil and relaxing. We loved the pool villa- very private and great for tucking yourself away and forgetting about everything . The restaurant was great (for a cheaper option the local restaurants next to sala are also very good). Service is amazing . We watched sunrise on the beach one morning too (although beware the strength of the waves can be deceivingly strong ). All in all a great place.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Outstanding room! Would highly recommend pool villa suite. Fabulous attention to detail and real boutique feel; the resort wasn't too big. Having stayed at two other luxury hotels during the same trip, this hotel compared favourably in terms of value for money. Food, drinks and excursions were reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Samantha, thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing to spend part of your holiday in Thailand with us at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa in one of our SALA Signature Pool Villas. It is so lovely to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your pool villa and the resort and we look forward to welcoming you both back in the future. All the best the SALA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were extremely impressed with our stay at Sala Phuket and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a quality boutique resort for a relaxing stay. Mai Khao Beach is very very quiet which is lovely and the resort itself is away from the hustle and bustle of the rest of Phuket Island. Location well suited to a relaxing stay but not for people wanting to be in close to night life / shopping / etc. Resort itself is very well designed and the quality of the design, build and fit out is flawless. Quality of the food and cocktails from the restaurant/bar was amazing with traditional thai and modern food both available. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Would definitely recommend the Sala Phuket Resort and believe although it is on the pricier side it is money well spent for a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Signature Ahsiet, thank you for your wondrous review of your stay with us at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa. It is lovely to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we thank you for recommending us to your fellow travellers. We never get bored of hearing such praise about our award winning SALA Restaurant, thank you. We do hope we’ll be able to welcome you both back in the very near future. Our kindest regards the SALA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from our honeymoon in Thailand, for part of which we stayed at the SALA Phuket. From the moment we arrived we knew we would love it!

Upon arrival we were greeted with a lovely bouquet of orchids and a fresh ginger water. We were immediately taken to our room to complete the check-in process. When we walked through the gate to our room (SALA Pool Villa) our jaws dropped; the outdoor area consists of a gorgeous private pool and a beautifully-decorated outdoor bathroom, complete with huge bathtub filled with rose petals and a sparkling chandelier overhead. We knew this was the layout before arriving, but the pictures online really don't do the rooms justice! The pool was easily large enough (and the right temperature!) for a nice swim and was absolutely private - not overlooked from any angle. The garden and the room smelled gorgeous - housekeeping light essential oil burners each evening to fragrance the rooms. Arriving was just a wonderful experience - it felt like a very special place.

The outdoor bathroom was well equipped with amenities and had two overhead fans which helped to keep bugs away. We didn't have a single mosquito bite during our stay which was something I had been worried about. As mentioned, the pool seemed to be temp controlled so was always warm enough to swim in.

The room itself was very nice - very comfy bed and a convenvient layout with good amenities. We really enjoyed the little bottles of local fruit juices left each day - the pandan juice was a particular favourite!

We ate at the hotel restaurant a couple of times and the food was lovely. The fillet steak with garlic and salt was outstanding, as was the local Thai menu. We also had room service on a few occasions and again were very happy with the quality of food.

The bar has a nice (if quiet) vibe and cocktails were very good, though expensive for Thailand. We ordered drinks to our room one day to have by the pool. I wonder if the hotel management would consider implementing a roaming bar in the hotel, as we liked to spend our days by our private pool but it would have been nice to have someone stop by occasionally with drinks / snacks. We thought a method similar to the 'do not disturb' beads could work well, whereby you hang up a set of beads if you'd like the trolley to stop at your room when it passes by so you can buy cocktails, bottled beers etc...

The hotel is on a very nice beach, but is about an hour away from Phuket and Patong towns. This was fine with us as we only wanted to go into town once to see what it was like, but if you like to be very nearby to all the nightlife etc. then probably worth bearing in mind that it's a bit of a drive. Having said that, I found this to be a positive, as the other guests at the hotel consisted mostly of families and other couples which meant it was pretty peaceful :)

Overall we had a fantastic time and will definitely be trying other SALA hotels when we visit in future. The hotel had a very cool vibe but also felt appropriately relaxed. Loved it!

Room Tip: The SALA Pool Villas are absolutely worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Signature PEDubai, thank you so much for choosing to celebrate your honeymoon with us at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa in one of our garden pool villas. Thank you also for taking the time to write such a wonderfully comprehensive review of your stay. We have shared your review with our entire team and we take great pleasure in reading your kind words. We do hope you’ll return in the future to perhaps celebrate an anniversary. In the meantime let us take this opportunity once again to congratulate you both and wish you a lifetime of happiness. Our kindest regards the SALA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself & my husband visited Sala Phuket in January of this year and we could not say enough good things about our stay. We were met at the airport by a friendly member of staff who took us the short drive to Sala in an air-conditioned jeep and offered us bottles of chilled water. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted warmly by the reception staff who gave us floral bracelets, iced tea and refreshing towelettes - such a lovely warm welcome after a very long flight. Our luggage was delayed but the hotel looked after this for us, we didn't even have to think about it. They were so helpful. Our room was a balcony suite which was just stunning and so comfortable. Amazing outdoor bathroom on the terrace and fabulous tub. As we were honeymoons they had very kindly decorated our room with rose petals and there was a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolates waiting for us along with a fruit bowl and chilled herbal tea.
We ate in the restaurant most evenings and the food was amazing! The breakfast was to die for, I am still dreaming about the gorgeous pancakes with vanilla whipped cream and mango, they were just amazing.
It is such a beautiful, quiet, luxurious resort right on the beach with incredibly warm and friendly staff. It is a beautifully designed resort with stunning architecture and their stylish villas and suites offer lots of privacy. The attention to detail in the design, architecture and layout of the resort is amazing.
By the pool everyday towels are provided for sunbathing and complimentary fruit cocktails and iced tea are given out which is a really nice touch.
There is a complimentary shuttle buggy that brings guest to Turtle Village just down the road which is a small shopping centre with a supermarket, bar, cafes and a few shops.
The spa at the hotel is absolutely stunning and is a lovely way to spend an afternoon. I had two fabulous massages during my stay and both were amazing.
We organised two day tours with the hotel and again everything was taken care of and we had two fabulous trips. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and they are all genuinely happy and friendly, it is a credit to the management of the hotel to have such lovely, happy, hard-working staff. It was lovely to see their smiling faces everyday.
The resort is about an hour away from central Phuket so if you're looking to be somewhere central, this is not for you but it was perfect for us as we were looking for a quiet, non-touristy destination.
We loved every minute we spent at Sala and would love to return for a special occasion in the future. It is without a doubt the most beautiful place we have ever stayed. Perfect for a honeymoon!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Signature Stylistgirl81, thank you ever so much for choosing to celebrate your honeymoon with us at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa and for taking the time to share such a lovely account of your stay. It is always so rewarding for us to read such high praise and we thank you dearly. We do hope you’ll return in the future to perhaps celebrate an anniversary. In the meantime let us take this opportunity once again to congratulate you both and wish you a lifetime of happiness. Our kindest regards the SALA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erding
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We did enjoy our stay from the first minute to the last minute.

Mai Khao Beach is beautiful and quiet. Airport is close but you hardly hear any planes. There are some local Thai Restaurants next door. We tried several and find the "Thiw Soen Seafood" the very best. The supermarket at Turtle Village is just a short bike ride away.

Our balcony room was big enough and we realy enjoyed the open air bathroom.
Lovely litte touches and personalized details made our stay memorable.

The pool area is very nice designed and was never crowded. We enjoyed the little service extras like free ice tea, cold towles and smoothies very much.

The restaurant is very nice located and designed but rather expensive.
Breakfast was realy good. We loved the fresh juices and the combination of buffet and made-to-order menu.
Service was realy excellent and we would like to highlight Leo.

We definitely recommend Sala Resort Phuket

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Stefan, wow! Such a lovely review of you stay in one of our deluxe balcony rooms here at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa. Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with fellow travellers and for highlighting the excellent service you received during your stay especially from K. Leo in the restaurant, which we shall ensure we pass on your compliments to him. It is so lovely to read that you both really appreciated some of our complimentary services around the pool, it is very rewarding for us when we are complimented like this. We have shared your review with our entire SALA team and we hope to be able to welcome you both back in the future. Our kindest regards the SALA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SALA Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 333 Moo 3 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort, featuring private swimming pools in 63 out of 79 rooms, villas, and suites.SALA Phuket boutique resort is an impressive compliment to its popular sister property, SALA Samui. SALA Phuket combines rare historical Sino - Portuguese architecture with modern 5-star facilities.Located on pristine Mai Khao beach on Phuket's northwest shoreline, SALA Phuket resort and spa is just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The famous Blue Canyon Golf Course is a short distance from SALA Phuket and the picturesque Phang Nga Bay is located just 25 minutes away.SALA Phuket is the ideal location for a Phuket wedding and honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach and lush beachside lawn surrounded by a coconut tree plantation swaying in the wind.In addition to friendly, professional and personalised service, SALA Phuket luxury resort offers facilities including:- 3 large beachfront swimming pools- World class international beachfront restaurant and bar with an air-conditioned dining option- Award winning SALA Spa- Full equipped Gym, Steam Rooms & Salon- Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet connection throughout the entire resort- Gift Shop- Business traveller services- Entertainment and Theme Nights- Nightly Villa Turn down Service- In-Villa Dining- Miles of untouched beach front, the longest and least developed in Phuket- An array of local activities and excursions are availableWeddings at SALA PhuketMarriage is an occasion that should be cherished always. A variety of locations for your ceremony are available, from golden sand beach stretches, lush green lawn expanses or an intimate sunset rooftop vantage. Our personal, intuitive staff will ensure your special occasion receives the attention it deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your SALA Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Phuket Resort And Spa
Sala Phuket Mai Khao
Sala Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.