We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Fantastic Stay...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added SALA Phuket Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Moo 3 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3-Night Beach Break
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Another Fantastic Stay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at the Sala Phuket about 3 years ago and we had such a lovely relaxing time so decided to come back... We got a price directly from the hotel (ask for Ake) which was very competitive. Upon our arrival we were greeted with flowers, a refreshing drink and cold towel. We were taken to our room - we had a sala pool villa last time and this time we went for a one bedroom sala pool villa. The difference is that you have a separate lounge in the one bedroom sala pool villa (no lounge in the standard sala pool villa), a slightly bigger bedroom and bigger pool. It was just as we remembered it... Inside the villa there is a lounge with corner sofa, tv, storage drawers, mini bar, coffee machine and kettle. In the bedroom along the back wall there is a large wardrobe with plenty of hanging space, drawers and a safe. There is a desk for your laptop. A large king size bed with lovely white crisp sheets. There is a small sofa in the corner and a tv. Now for the best bit... Outside, is the toilet (nicely hidden!), open shower, large bath for two people. On the back wall there is a large mirror and washing area with 2 sinks. Then you have a lovely comfy L shaped seating area. There are curtains you can draw around this area but unless you are 12ft tall nobody can see in !! In the garden area there is decking with 2 sun loungers (towels are replaced daily) and a parasol. Last but not least is the pool... Measuring approx 10.5m x 2.7m. We had sun on our pool from when we got up in the morning until about 3pm and sun on the loungers from about 10am until 6pm. The villa along with the whole of the resort is pure luxury and relaxation. There are more signs of general wear and tear (a light not working, chipped paint on drawers) compared to last time but they are in the process of sorting this out. We spent most of our time in the villa chilling rather than by the main pool like we did last time. Room service for food is approx 45 minutes. With regards to the resort itself... The grounds are beautifully kept. The staff can't do enough to help you. The restaurant area (will write a separate review) is well presented. The bar area is well positioned, being only 25m from the beach, and is perfectly situated so you can watch the sun set. While we were there, there was a wedding which was beautifully set up by the resort. We also took part in the thai cooking lesson. It lasts about 2 hours. It was fun cooking different things and meeting new people but we wouldn't feel the need to do it again. So if you have managed to get to the end of this without falling asleep then well done !! This was such a lovely hotel and we really look forward to coming back here... ;-) I can't remember the names of all the staff but they were all brilliant and made our stay even better than last time - Thank You ;-)

Room Tip: A sala pool / one bedroom sala pool villa gives you extra privacy without having anyone above you or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Signature Wishinguwerehere, thank you so much for choosing to return to SALA Phuket Resort & Spa and for sharing your beautifully detailed review. It is so lovely to read you both thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we are still as wonderful as you remembered. We have shared your review with our team and really appreciate your lovely words. We wish you all the best for the upcoming Easter celebrations and hope you’ll return in the future. Our best regards the SALA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    181
    62
    17
    16
See reviews for
101
524
24
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hua Hin, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Really fallen in love with this hotel. If you looking for the place to enchance your holiday, this is it.
Very peaceful location with excellent hotel interior. Suite for couple and family who really want to relax and spend the value time togather. P.S. Dont forget to bring mosquito repellent. Ton of mosquito outside the room as the hotel located next to natural park area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Khun Patcharee R, thank you ever so much for choosing to stay at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa and for such a lovely review. It is so wonderful to read you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The mosquitoes were an issue all over Phuket earlier in the year, however with our additional control measures that we implemented at the start of March we are confident the mosquito concern is now much better and is far less of an issue. Thank you again and we do hope you'll return perhaps next time for a vacation when you next visit Phuket. Our best regards the SALA Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I must admit we chose Sala Phuket with mixed emotions given the variety of trip advisor reviews. We choose the resort based on the contemporary and minimalist style and the fact that they had private pool villas which, as our first trip to Thailand and Phuket, we felt we should experience. I guess as a result of the TA reviews our expectations were reasonable but we weren't expecting a 5 star plus experience.

As our first trip to Thailand we decided to 'play it safe' and arrange airport taxis through the hotel (acknowledging there would be a slight premium - compared to ordering on arrival - but arranging from the UK would have been more expensive). We found the service to be excellent - clearly presented sign on arrival and quick trip in a luxury minivan was welcome after a long flight!

Upon arrival we were greeted by lovely check in staff (complete with welcome drink) and checking in took under 10 mins. We arrived at 11am and we were pleased to be shown straight to our room - a pool villa. I would advise looking at the personal travel photos on tripadvisor since, as others have mentioned, the website photos were taken at the right time of day and with the best lighting so it's looks better than in real life. That said, we found the rooms to be well appointed and private with ample amounts of space and, in my opinion, therefore great value and properly luxurious. Yes, they may need a bit of maintenance (it does have a few knocks here and there) and yes the doors don't close properly but they don't need to - it's hot outside and it doesn't impact the air conditioning! As I write this we are lounging by the pool in the villa and I don't have anything to fault really. Sure if you were looking for luxury branded wash basins etc then you won't find it here but we didn't find this to be a problem.

As a result first impressions were that expectations have been exceeded and we're thoroughly pleased we are staying here.

I thought I would summarise the positives and negatives as we see them. Note we stayed for 6 nights, on a half board package (and flew Malaysian Airlines from LHR via Kuala Lumpur).

Positives
- Decent sized Pool villa
- Overall style of the resort
- Bar/ restaurant area - really great place to chill
- Music in bar
- Staff/Service - everyone is so pleasant and attentive
- Location - nice and quiet and with a very long stretch of beach
- Food - really fantastic - especially on half board - best, consistent food we've had in a hotel for a long time
- choice of cocktails
- healthy smoothies
- wine list
- Spa - really good couples massage
- early checkin and late check out
- evening turn down service - a new tea every night, candle scent and anti mosqitoe measures in place (coil, electric in room)

Negatives
- wine by the glass varies if a bottle has been open orif they are opening a new one - they don't use a vacuum system to keep a wine overnight so I felt that some of the wines were not as good.
- tiles in the villa - it's been said before, but they can get very slippy when wet

Comparisons with surrounding resorts:

We always feel compelled to check out surrounding resorts - we visited Renaissance, JW marriott and Anantara resorts as they were all within walking distance of each other - we didn't eat at any of these places but just wanted to get a feel for the resorts and ambience - here is my view:

1. Renaissance - impressive reception area and more landscaped gardens. Spa looked lovely and communal areas were in a similar contemporary style to Sala. Whilst the impression I got was that things are looked after better I imagine there is a reason for this - a) it has 3 times as many guests staying at it (but the resort is a fraction larger than Sala) b) it is part of the Marriott group so bigger budgets. That said, it does feel more corporate and less of a boutique hotel for me - I preferred the bar and pool areas of Sala and I can't see how you would beat the food or winelist at Sala so Sala wins for me. Staff were also a lot more disinterested - not one person said hello to us - upon walking back into the Sala property from the beach at least 3 people came up and said hi.
2. JW Marriott - not our cup of tea - this felt like a typical, corporate four star resort. I guess the benefit of that is you know what you're going to get (and maybe pay for?) - for us Sala wins hands down.
3. Anantara - still corporate but more impressive landscape (over a lagoon). Pool and bar area nothing special. The villas (we asked to be shown one) are nice enough, imitation traditional thai - so if that is what you after then you might be happy.

Overall, we've thoroughly enjoyed our stay here - it's a chic resort, with lovely staff and great food. If you want ocean front villas and pools then don't come here or this area as no one seems to be allowed to do this around here but come here with realistic expectations and you will be very happy - as we were. Price to quality ratio was perfect! Thanks to all at Sala.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Signature Kpfromuk, WOW! Where do we begin to thank you for writing such a wonderfully positive and comprehensive review of your 6 days at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa. It is so thoroughly rewarding when we see all the hard work all our staff put in, pay off with such a beautiful review and account of your experiences at SALA. To say we exceeded your 5* expectations is a true blessing on the efforts our team put in day-in-day-out. It is always extra rewarding when we know this was your first time in Thailand and you have left us and Thailand with such beautiful and lifelong memories. We have shared your review with all our team and it’s reviews such as yours which helps motivate us all to continue to strive for excellence. Sometimes things go wrong and we take it on the chin and put it right and even try and make it better. From your account we got everything right first time – Thank you again and we look forward and hope we’ll be on your itinerary for your 2nd trip to Thailand. Our very best wishes the SALA Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingwall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Best resort I have ever stayed at. Very well maintained and the staff are all super friendly and helpful. The food is 5 star, very delicious, especially the pancakes, cream and mango, which is made to order. Quiet location, close to nice beach. The resort itself is beautiful and it has the comfiest memory foam sun loungers, which I could happily lie on all day. Highly recommend to all looking for luxury and relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Signature Lyndz86, thank you so much for your lovely review. It is so tremendous to read your thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of your stay which we have shared with all out SALA team. Our breakfast pancakes are always a winner! We do hope you will return and if so, please let us know. Out best regards the SALA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is the perfect place for couples and family to get away. It quiet and away from the crowd. A wonderful place for one to just chill and relax on a holiday. My room was upgraded for free and I enjoy the private pool that came along with it. I was attended by Beny upon check in, a cheerful young lady who explain the services available around the resort. On every evening when we came back to the hotel we would find a small bottle of drink which is good for the body. On my check out day, They even offer a complimentary ride to JW Marriott Phuket where I will be heading to attend the conference. To summaries, a good place for one that want to get away from urban life and excellent customer service.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Signature Chan J, thank you ever so much for such a great review on your stay at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa. It is so lovely to read you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and found our service excellence so accommodated. Thank you again and we hope you’ll return in the near future for a relaxing vacation. Best regards the SALA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My partner and I chose to have our destination wedding at the Sala Resort earlier this month. The resort was everything I could dream for and more!

All of the staff from the managers to the gardeners were very friendly, greeting every time you walked past with a big friendly smile. We felt like royalty,the F&B Manager - Jose, Head Chef - Juan, and the Events Manager - Pui all made a point to come and say hello and introduce themselves and offered to assist us with anything during our stay.

We were so fortunate to be looked after by Pui (Events Manager) she was happy to be available for us at any stage of during our stay, nothing was ever a problem. She was fantastic at coordinating everything leading up to the big day right down to the small details and last minute requests (sorry).

The menu on offer and our Wedding and our Day After BBQ Lunch were absolutely amazing and there was so much of it on offer. The chef and team really need to be commended on a job well done.

I would definitely recommend this resort to people looking for a hidden oasis in Phuket, away from the hustle and bustle. We stayed in a Garden Pool Villa and it was absolutely beautiful! We were so caught up with our friends before the wedding that we didn't get enough time to relax at this beautiful resort... so we now enjoying another 5 nights at Sala to finish off our stay. The staff were so happy to welcome us back and I don't know how I'm going to able to leave this paradise!

I'm sure that I'm not alone in saying that all of our guests highly enjoyed the surroundings and service at the Sala Resort. The staff are all so friendly and welcoming and you really do feel welcome, they really are the soul of the resort.

The breakfast on offer is to die for and they had a very fantastic range of cocktails!! The true beauty is there is something little going on each day, and you can be involved if you want to or you don't have to at all.

The beach is very quiet and you don't have people trying to sell you things on the beach.

I would highly recommend this venue for anyone looking to have a destination wedding or any looking for a relaxing couples getaway! You will need at least 5 nights to relax and enjoy this beautiful paradise!!

So glad we have come back to Sala to finish off our honeymoon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Amy & Evan, WOW! Where do we begin to thank you for choosing to have your destination wedding at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa and for writing such a wondrous review of your wedding and honeymoon vacation. We shall ensure we share your lovely review with our whole SALA team and especially Khun Pui, she really is a shining star and nothing is ever too much for her. Please continue to enjoy your villa for a few more days and if there is anything we can do further do make your stay even more perfect please just let us know. Let us take this opportunity again to congratulate you both and wish you a lifetime of happiness and good health! All the best the SALA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed at Sala for 4 nights, during my honeymoon trip through Asia.
It was just what we were looking for in Phuket.
As you know Phuket is a place that has everything from great beaches to all-night drinking bars. Some parts of Phuket don't let you get the rest and relaxation your looking for, but in SALA you can relax and have a great time.
The hotel is located at a great, calm beach. The staff is great and available 24/7.
The room was very romantic with and indoor pool, that made it great to go for a dip in the early morning without having to leave your room.
It's a great place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Rooms with the indoor pool are great to relax!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Signature Peter P, thank you for choosing to spend 4 nights and part of your Asian vacation at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa and for sharing your experience here. It is so wonderful to read you had such a thoroughly enjoyable time and you were so impressed with the SALA team, our location and your villa. Thank you again and we do hope you’ll make the long journey back to us in the future. Our more sincerest regards the SALA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SALA Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 333 Moo 3 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort, featuring private swimming pools in 63 out of 79 rooms, villas, and suites.SALA Phuket boutique resort is an impressive compliment to its popular sister property, SALA Samui. SALA Phuket combines rare historical Sino - Portuguese architecture with modern 5-star facilities.Located on pristine Mai Khao beach on Phuket's northwest shoreline, SALA Phuket resort and spa is just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The famous Blue Canyon Golf Course is a short distance from SALA Phuket and the picturesque Phang Nga Bay is located just 25 minutes away.SALA Phuket is the ideal location for a Phuket wedding and honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach and lush beachside lawn surrounded by a coconut tree plantation swaying in the wind.In addition to friendly, professional and personalised service, SALA Phuket luxury resort offers facilities including:- 3 large beachfront swimming pools- World class international beachfront restaurant and bar with an air-conditioned dining option- Award winning SALA Spa- Full equipped Gym, Steam Rooms & Salon- Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet connection throughout the entire resort- Gift Shop- Business traveller services- Entertainment and Theme Nights- Nightly Villa Turn down Service- In-Villa Dining- Miles of untouched beach front, the longest and least developed in Phuket- An array of local activities and excursions are availableWeddings at SALA PhuketMarriage is an occasion that should be cherished always. A variety of locations for your ceremony are available, from golden sand beach stretches, lush green lawn expanses or an intimate sunset rooftop vantage. Our personal, intuitive staff will ensure your special occasion receives the attention it deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your SALA Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Phuket Resort And Spa
Sala Phuket Mai Khao
Sala Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.