We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise - A Fantastic Resort & Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SALA Phuket Resort & Spa to your Saves list
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Moo 3 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise - A Fantastic Resort & Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My partner and I chose to have our destination wedding at the Sala Resort earlier this month. The resort was everything I could dream for and more!

All of the staff from the managers to the gardeners were very friendly, greeting every time you walked past with a big friendly smile. We felt like royalty,the F&B Manager - Jose, Head Chef - Juan, and the Events Manager - Pui all made a point to come and say hello and introduce themselves and offered to assist us with anything during our stay.

We were so fortunate to be looked after by Pui (Events Manager) she was happy to be available for us at any stage of during our stay, nothing was ever a problem. She was fantastic at coordinating everything leading up to the big day right down to the small details and last minute requests (sorry).

The menu on offer and our Wedding and our Day After BBQ Lunch were absolutely amazing and there was so much of it on offer. The chef and team really need to be commended on a job well done.

I would definitely recommend this resort to people looking for a hidden oasis in Phuket, away from the hustle and bustle. We stayed in a Garden Pool Villa and it was absolutely beautiful! We were so caught up with our friends before the wedding that we didn't get enough time to relax at this beautiful resort... so we now enjoying another 5 nights at Sala to finish off our stay. The staff were so happy to welcome us back and I don't know how I'm going to able to leave this paradise!

I'm sure that I'm not alone in saying that all of our guests highly enjoyed the surroundings and service at the Sala Resort. The staff are all so friendly and welcoming and you really do feel welcome, they really are the soul of the resort.

The breakfast on offer is to die for and they had a very fantastic range of cocktails!! The true beauty is there is something little going on each day, and you can be involved if you want to or you don't have to at all.

The beach is very quiet and you don't have people trying to sell you things on the beach.

I would highly recommend this venue for anyone looking to have a destination wedding or any looking for a relaxing couples getaway! You will need at least 5 nights to relax and enjoy this beautiful paradise!!

So glad we have come back to Sala to finish off our honeymoon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Amy & Evan, WOW! Where do we begin to thank you for choosing to have your destination wedding at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa and for writing such a wondrous review of your wedding and honeymoon vacation. We shall ensure we share your lovely review with our whole SALA team and especially Khun Pui, she really is a shining star and nothing is ever too much for her. Please continue to enjoy your villa for a few more days and if there is anything we can do further do make your stay even more perfect please just let us know. Let us take this opportunity again to congratulate you both and wish you a lifetime of happiness and good health! All the best the SALA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    188
    64
    17
    16
See reviews for
104
543
25
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed at Sala for 4 nights, during my honeymoon trip through Asia.
It was just what we were looking for in Phuket.
As you know Phuket is a place that has everything from great beaches to all-night drinking bars. Some parts of Phuket don't let you get the rest and relaxation your looking for, but in SALA you can relax and have a great time.
The hotel is located at a great, calm beach. The staff is great and available 24/7.
The room was very romantic with and indoor pool, that made it great to go for a dip in the early morning without having to leave your room.
It's a great place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Rooms with the indoor pool are great to relax!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Signature Peter P, thank you for choosing to spend 4 nights and part of your Asian vacation at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa and for sharing your experience here. It is so wonderful to read you had such a thoroughly enjoyable time and you were so impressed with the SALA team, our location and your villa. Thank you again and we do hope you’ll make the long journey back to us in the future. Our more sincerest regards the SALA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Ok, so I live in Singapore and go to Thailand a lot, as do others, and I was honestly a bit gob smacked when I arrived at the Sala. I as expecting it to be a really beautiful place. It is not aesthetically pleasing on the eye. It looks like army barracks. The rooms are OK inside but on the outside, its quite honestly quite ugly. Once you walk through the Barracks to get to the beach front then its fine but even then, its a bit bland, with grey furniture and no color to lift the place. I also found the service very very average indeed. The staff although quite friendly, were very slow in the restaurant and not attentive enough for the amount of money you pay. Its almost as though they have slashed there costs in the last few months as a friend of mine stayed there a year or so ago and said it was a fine place to stay. Such a shame, as potentially , it could be rather nice but I found the atmosphere non descript, I have a feeling the staff are not happy !....shame. All in all, not a great write up. Sorry Sala, but I do hope you take this on board and put things right. I will not be going back there again. If I do it will be for a walk on the beach, which really is wonderful and totally unspoilt.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Signature gaynor s, thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa. Our design is loved by most but we appreciate it may not be everyone's cup of tea. We do take all comments good, bad and indifferent very seriously and continually strive to improve and as you’ll see from our reviews that the vast majority are impressed with 84% of our reviewers this year scoring us 4 or 5. It is unfortunate to read your experience was not how you or we would have liked. It is inevitable that things go wrong and there is no pleasing everyone however we pride ourselves on ensuring any issue big or small that comes to our attention is rectify with absolute priority. It is really unfortunate you did not bring to our attention the issues you’ve raised here as I am sure you would have had a far more memorable recollection of your stay. It is also unfortunate and a little unfair that you score us overall a ‘2’ yet score us with 3s and 4s in the categories. Nevertheless thank you again and we wish you all the best, the SALA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This resort is extremely impracticle, either you have a balcony room which requires you to walk up 26 exceptionally steep and slippery (when wet) steps. It is air conditioned in the bedroom only, the bathroom is outdoors on the balcony and is not aircon, you are walking outside to use the bathroom, there is absolutely no privacy in the bathroom at all, insects and bugs accumulate at night everywhere in the bathroom all around your toiletries.

The restaurant is outdoors and birds are flying in doing droppings all over the seats, so you need to check before you sit down. If you have young children, you are either trying to negotiate them upstairs or if you upgrade to a pool room at double the price your child would walk out the door and fall into the pool. Also the pool room bathrooms are again outside and the toilet is visible from the pool so no privacy from other guests in the room.

The staff are extremely unhelpful and arrogant. Management need to look at their business practices as the other resorts nearby are packed to capacity and Sala was almost empty except for the wedding guests.

The water activities offered is simply 2 kayaks, if you are a party of more than this then ????

On the plus side if you are a young couple without children, fit and healthy then it would be a quiet retreat (remembering you have no privacy in bathroom for anything you do, and you are fighting the insects, and heat) if you are willing to pay the exorbitant prices charged for drinks and food.

Room Tip: Do not pick a balcony room if you cannot manage 26 steep steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Signature Jan F, we are extremely sorry that your vacation at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa was such an unfortunate let down for you. Our outdoor bathrooms are a feature of SALA and are stated on websites and literature promoting SALA, in addition numerous comments have been made on here about them too. In the main we receive positive comments on the design, layout and its aesthetics, however we appreciate it may not be appreciated by all especially those with families. The Myna bird is a pest and of concern throughout Phuket, Asia and Australia as I am sure you know, we do try our utmost to ensure the restaurant and its guests are protected from their annoyances, we have tried numerous methods to eradicate them and we continue to pursue with this. With respects to the water sports we are not big on water sports and the complimentary kayaks and bicycles are offered for our guests to leisurely enjoy the splendor of our location in the Sirinath National Park. It is undoubtable when one travels that sometimes things go wrong, and we appreciate that we are not perfect, though saying that one thing we do pride ourselves on and take with paramount importance is the eradication of guest concerns and problems. When things are brought to our attention we act fast and we go to almost any length to ensure our guest’s stay is a truly a memorable one. It is therefore with great regret that it we were not made aware of any of your grievances during your stay, for as we had known we would have acted. We appreciate you sharing your views and hope your next family vacation the resort matches your family’s needs more appropriately. Our sincerest regards the SALA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We started our honeymoon at SALA and the 4 nights we were there it was just amazing. The private pool villa we had was top class, combine this with great service from all staff and our stay was something to remember. The property is pretty secluded from shopping, bars and the hustle and bustle so its definately a place to come and relax but everything you need is within the resort. The rooms are designed for privacy with clever layout and the use of high walls throughout. The breakfast overlooking the pool and ocean is definitely a great way to start your day, follow that with a complimentary cocktail at the pool at lunchtime and end your day on one of the daybeds at the pool bar to watch the sunset and SALA ticked all our boxes. Weather was 34 celsius everyday and not a cloud in the sky, definitely the best time to visit SALA and phuket in general. Only 15 mins from the airport so a perfect place to relax and indulge before you get on a plane and head home. We will be heading back to SALA in a few years to do it all over again if we get the chance.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Signature Brendan H, thank you ever so much for choosing to spend 4 nights of your honeymoon at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa and for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It’s so lovely to read that you both had a thoroughly enjoyable time and we have shared your review with our team. Let us congratulate you once again and wish you both a lifetime of happiness and we hope you’ll return to spend your anniversary with us. All the best the SALA Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanmore, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I recently stayed at Sala Resort.
I was on holiday for my friends wedding. Sala resort was stunning.
The rooms were immaculate and the outside bathroom on the balcony was amazing.
The spa area was tranquil and relaxing.
The food and restaurant area was set near the pool and overlooking the beach. The food was well presented and very tasty.
I particularly thought the breakfast was excellant value, big spread buffet selection and also a la carte hot breakfast included.
I will definitley return to Sala in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Signature Michelle H, WOW - what a fantastic review! Thank you so very much for sharing your experience here and scoring us so perfectly in every category. Your friend’s wedding was quite stunning and we are sure you’ve left us with some very sweet memories. Thank you again and we have shared your wondrous comments with our SALA team. Take care and we hope you’ll return in the future, all the best the SALA Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this resort with my boyfriend in March 2014 enjoyed every moment, was so relaxing just what we needed, the whole resort was beautiful and the staff were wonderful exceeded my expectations, will definitely return.
Ms Burton

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Ms. Danielle Burton, how do we top that? We exceeded your expectations – WOW! That is so amazing to hear; our entire team strive to ensure every guest has an amazing time and then when we hear that they did it is so fulfilling. Thank you so much to you and your boyfriend for choosing SALA Phuket Resort & Spa and we look forward greatly to you hopefully returning in the near future. Please let us know when you do wish to return. Our very best wishes the SALA Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SALA Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 333 Moo 3 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort, featuring private swimming pools in 63 out of 79 rooms, villas, and suites.SALA Phuket boutique resort is an impressive compliment to its popular sister property, SALA Samui. SALA Phuket combines rare historical Sino - Portuguese architecture with modern 5-star facilities.Located on pristine Mai Khao beach on Phuket's northwest shoreline, SALA Phuket resort and spa is just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The famous Blue Canyon Golf Course is a short distance from SALA Phuket and the picturesque Phang Nga Bay is located just 25 minutes away.SALA Phuket is the ideal location for a Phuket wedding and honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach and lush beachside lawn surrounded by a coconut tree plantation swaying in the wind.In addition to friendly, professional and personalised service, SALA Phuket luxury resort offers facilities including:- 3 large beachfront swimming pools- World class international beachfront restaurant and bar with an air-conditioned dining option- Award winning SALA Spa- Full equipped Gym, Steam Rooms & Salon- Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet connection throughout the entire resort- Gift Shop- Business traveller services- Entertainment and Theme Nights- Nightly Villa Turn down Service- In-Villa Dining- Miles of untouched beach front, the longest and least developed in Phuket- An array of local activities and excursions are availableWeddings at SALA PhuketMarriage is an occasion that should be cherished always. A variety of locations for your ceremony are available, from golden sand beach stretches, lush green lawn expanses or an intimate sunset rooftop vantage. Our personal, intuitive staff will ensure your special occasion receives the attention it deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your SALA Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Phuket Resort And Spa
Sala Phuket Mai Khao
Sala Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.