We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SALA Phuket Resort & Spa to your Saves list
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Moo 3 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
4.5 of 5 stars 909 Reviews
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Magic !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Came here to stay for 2 nights after an 8 day stay in patong and it was paradise!
Lovely place, great service and food, very pampered feel and fantastic pools with views of the beach right at your door step.. highly recommended and especially for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Robert, thank you very much for your review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your 2 nights with us. We hope to see you back at our SALA Phuket paradise for a few more days on your next visit, so we may pamper you some more. Best regards The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    195
    65
    17
    16
See reviews for
109
571
25
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed with a friend in the 2 bedroom villa for 5 days / 4 nights. The staff were attentive, and worked hard to ensure you wanted for very little. the private beach was stunning, and watching the sunset over the water from the bar at happy hour a definite high point.

the high level of maintenance shows, and the care and friendliness of the staff are definitely appreciated. The fact that almost all staff were Thai, added nicely to being there, and minimal language difficulties were encountered, I came away having learnt some Thai :-)

We stayed in a villa with a private pool, and this certainly made a huge difference. The two main pools, and pool staff were brilliant, and rarely left us needing to look far for anything.

airport transfers were a breeze.

Room Tip: We had room 81 - it was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Nathan, thank you ever so much for finding the time to write such a wonderful review on your stay with us at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa. You certainly made a splendid choice with our 2 bedroom pool villa suite. It is so pleasing to hear your rave comments to which we will certainly share with our team and strive to continue to deliver such wonderful service. We shall look forward to your return. Best regards The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We enjoyed 8 lovely nights here after staying at Sala Samui for the first part of our honeymoon.

Sala Phuket offers a far more modern style of accommodation and the style of the resort is amazing. We purchased a book from the gift store about how the resort was designed and built and it truly showed the beauty and thought behind Sala Phukets design.

Lovely location and on the beach. The only thing we missed was being closer to the main areas in Phuket as it was quite costly to travel into town. We love to explore so spent a lot travelling around however for those who just want to relax it is in a perfect setting.

The rooms are great, we enjoyed staying in a pool villa and it had a lovely sense of privacy. Lovely touches such as drinks at turn down made from local fruit. We love these extra details and thought Sala put in.

There is plenty to do here, we enjoyed borrowing the bikes, taking a guided tour of the island with a driver at Sala, and going on the Sala shuttle to the Phuket night markets. Staff are always willing to help and accommodate your needs.

Would recommend to honeymooners wanting a lovely relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Pool villa give you more space and privacy than a garden pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear signature WOOdham, we are so pleased that you had such a wonderful stay with us at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review here. We’re glad you enjoyed the very special book on the award winning architecture of SALA Phuket and found your stay so relaxing. We shall certainly ensure our whole team are informed of your review and that you enjoyed so much our special nightly turndown drinks. We shall look forward to your return. Our very best regards The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our honeymoon and it was a nice and relaxing experience. At arrival we were greeted with flowers and drinks while the receptionist did our check-in. The staff was very friendly and always with lots of smiles.

The room was ok, it wasn't as grand as I expected but the outdoor bathroom was surprisingly good. I was worried being a city person I might be uncomfortable but it was quite an experience showering under the sunshine.

The spa and happy hour drinks is recommended. The massage itself was a super relaxing experience and the herbal tea and dried bananas they served at the end (even the ice itself is tea and not water) was unforgettable.

The hotel is located far from the city so prevent you from being bored the hotel offers a variety activities ranging from yoga to cooking class as well as tours to other attractions. One I did regret not trying was their in-room BBQ dinner, it looks very attractive but we didn't get a chance to try.

Overall I won't expect this to be a super classy/luxury hotel but it was definitely a great place for couples to chill out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Signature Bonnie N, Hong Kong. Thank you both for your positive review and constructive feedback! We are glad you both enjoyed the resort facilities, spa treatments and Happy Hour over Mai Khao's perfect sunsets! Please do let us know if you decide to return so we can organize that in-villa BBQ you did not get a chance to try, we promise you wont be disappointed! Please do let us know if we can assist in the near future should you wish to return to our friendly shores of Phuket and SALA Phuket Resort and Spa. Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is the most terrible experience i have during my life time. My wife and i were just finished taking shower and we were naked in the balcony in my room. We found that the house keeper was standing in the middle of my room and was looking at us. The house keeping guy didn't have an intention to leave the room!! I shouted at him and he left finally.
I reported the case to the General Manager, Jon. This is another terrible experience for me too. This guy just said the house keeper already followed his procedure. How can they know there was people in the house if there was no one answer? The so called GM just telling me it was my own responsiblity because i didn't tell the guy there was people in the room. He also asked me how they can know there was people in the room if people didn't reply. I just wondered this is the job for the hotel to protect the guests' privacy. There was no key chain lock for this room as well!! I further requested to talk to the GM face to face but he just disappeared. There was no appology or any call from him after that. He just neglected what's happening and didn't pay any attention to his guests.
I talked to the Assistant Manager and she said that the house keeper will open the door a little bit first and see if there is any people inside before they come in the room. But i wanted to tell you that the house keeper can see you if you are taking shower and you definitely can't hear the door bell rings.
I'm not blaming the people who worked there because they are following their boss' procedure. The one that i felt really sorry is "JON", the so called GM who is on the top level of his company, that he didn't care the guests' feeling and didn't follow up any mistake committed.

Room Tip: If you don't mind privacy and you want other to see you naked in your hotel room, pls choose SAL...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Signature Ernest K. Hong Kong, China. thank you for your feedback but i believe most Trip Advisor viewers would appreciate the complete facts and not just your version of the incident that occured during your turndown service which happens each night (as did the night before in your villa prior to your late arrival) and to all villas/suites in our resort nightly (where houskeeping staff turndown bed, burn oil scents, close blinds and adjust lighting etc). In fact a large majority of our guest reviews on Trip Advisor positively comment and praise our 'Turn Down Services in the resort. After investigating with our housekeeping employee of (1.8yrs of service) who was responsible to turndown your Deluxe Balcony; he knocked twice and announced twice 'Turn Down Service' before entering your room as i mentioned to you this was our procedure (and after trying to apologize to you when you rudely hung up, i believed you did not wish to speak any further on the matter). We have since taken measures to fit all of our Deluxe Balcony rooms with wireless door bells out on to the balconies to improve on guests privacy in the future. Again we sincerely apologize for the insensitivity and dissatisfaction that you both experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here twice over the years and once at Sala Samui which is also good but this one beats it hands down. Stayed in a Sala Villa each time and well worth the money. It is very private and secluded and apart from meal times you can feel like you're on you own. Perfect for couples of friends just chilling out.
Beach is lovely and always deserted which makes it feel even nicer.
The food and drink is a real highlight, yes it is more expensive than local restaurants but its fantastic, great wines (which can be hard in Thailand in some places) and service around the whole resort is first class.
Little touches like the evening turn down are very special.
The spa was good too, great ambiance. Expensive though in relation to other places but your surroundings are great. I would love to see the spa add a Jacuzzi or hot pools area indoors as this would improve the experience.
Do note though there is little else around, a couple of other high end hotels but no centre for nightlife. Note the Sala Samui does have plenty of bars etc around.
I've always visited as part of a 2 or 3 location holiday and use 2-5 nights as a chill out part at the sala.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Signature Littlemisskatef, London, UK. Great to have you back and thank you for a lovely review and feedback! The staff and management are all glad you enjoyed the surroundings and small touches of your private pool villa and our award winning cuisne, spa and of course our wonderful private 9km stretch of white sandy Mai Khao beach! The resort is somewhat a distance from the hustle and bustle of Patong's night life, but we kind of like it that way, so you can visit Patong or Phuket town at leisure and then....leave when you want to return to some peace and serenity of North of Phuket! please do let us know if we can assist in the near future should you wish to return once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to SALA Phuket Resort and Spa. Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We booked a one-bedroom pool villa and loved our stay. While it seemed very big for two people originally, it was great space to have for a week. The pool was so refreshing every morning and evening. I would recommend to the hotel that the windows on the staircase are all frosted for privacy. The staff are very accommodating, extremely friendly, always want to help. The spa was fantastic - love that they use Clarins products. Service around the pool was pretty good - love the ice tea and it is refilled when needed. Location good since there are other places to explore within the vicinity for a change. Intimate, relaxing atmosphere until....a large noisy wedding party arrived and seemed to consume the resort for the first couple of days somewhat disrupting the calming atmosphere.

Room Tip: While our villa had quite a bit of privacy it appears that the pool rooms farther back off the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Signature CricketGirlDubai, Dubai. Thank you both for your encouraging review and great feedback! We are glad you both enjoyed the resort facilities, cuisne and your private pool villa. I will ensure our staff can view your praises on their behavor and service standards by posting it on our employee notice board. On behalf of the wedding party we do sincerely apologize on any disruption they may have caused during your stay, please do let us know if we can assist in the near future should you wish to return to our friendly shores of Phuket and SALA Phuket Resort and Spa. Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SALA Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 333 Moo 3 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort, featuring private swimming pools in 63 out of 79 rooms, villas, and suites.SALA Phuket boutique resort is an impressive compliment to its popular sister property, SALA Samui. SALA Phuket combines rare historical Sino - Portuguese architecture with modern 5-star facilities.Located on pristine Mai Khao beach on Phuket's northwest shoreline, SALA Phuket resort and spa is just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The famous Blue Canyon Golf Course is a short distance from SALA Phuket and the picturesque Phang Nga Bay is located just 25 minutes away.SALA Phuket is the ideal location for a Phuket wedding and honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach and lush beachside lawn surrounded by a coconut tree plantation swaying in the wind.In addition to friendly, professional and personalised service, SALA Phuket luxury resort offers facilities including:- 3 large beachfront swimming pools- World class international beachfront restaurant and bar with an air-conditioned dining option- Award winning SALA Spa- Full equipped Gym, Steam Rooms & Salon- Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet connection throughout the entire resort- Gift Shop- Business traveller services- Entertainment and Theme Nights- Nightly Villa Turn down Service- In-Villa Dining- Miles of untouched beach front, the longest and least developed in Phuket- An array of local activities and excursions are availableWeddings at SALA PhuketMarriage is an occasion that should be cherished always. A variety of locations for your ceremony are available, from golden sand beach stretches, lush green lawn expanses or an intimate sunset rooftop vantage. Our personal, intuitive staff will ensure your special occasion receives the attention it deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your SALA Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Phuket Resort And Spa
Sala Phuket Mai Khao
Sala Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.