We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully designed resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SALA Phuket Resort & Spa to your Saves list
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Moo 3 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Beautifully designed resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Small peaceful resort with great architectural design. Stunning rooms. Beautiful serene surrounding. Amazing long stretched white sand beach with very little crowd. We felt rested everywhere in SALA resort. Everything was amazing... although the food at the restaurant can be improved.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Shanica, thank you for your feedback and support of SALA Phuket. I'm terribly sorry to hear that you were not 100% satisfied with our cuisine. As we are constantly seeking guest feed back to improve our product and overall guest experiences, I would appreciate if you would email me anything specific that you experienced and would like to see improved while staying at SALA Phuket. Many thanks, Jan Hollister EAM Food and Beverage Chefphuket@SALAPhuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    233
    75
    18
    17
See reviews for
133
692
28
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at Sala for 7 nights in late October and were very impressed with the resort. The service was faultless, particular mention to Gib at the front desk who initially showed us our room on check-in. All staff we encountered were very professional and accommodating. The facilities were lovely and always immaculate. Loved the pools and poolside area, and the restaurant and bar.

The food was first class and again, special mention to the restaurant manager Jose (sorry if I have the name wrong!) who accommodated our large party of 20 for dinner with no prior notice and whipped up an amazing meal for us.

The spa was also fantastic; we had a couples massage that was probably one of the best massages I have had.

We would definitely return to Sala in the future, we loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Mrs. Cahill,

Thank you very much for your positive review.

You and your group were an absolute pleasure to host. We were a bit surprised when you asked for a table for 34, however, you and your group’s flexibility and entrusting us to prepare your menu, was very nice for myself and the rest of my team, we were very motivated to ensure a successful evening. In the end, we all had a good time.

Once again, thank you very much for your support of SALA Phuket. We truly hope to welcome you back to our resort and restaurant in the early future. Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly if you are thinking to organize a large group in our restaurant for lunch or dinner! My email is: fbphuket@salaphuket.com

Best regards,
Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights at the signature pool villa. The environment is just what we are looking for. The whole resort is quiet, peaceful, open, and beautiful. A perfect getaway for couples!

The resort has an open concept, with outdoor shower, outdoor bathtub, but all right within the privacy of the villa. In Villa private pool is BIG! With the minimalist in design concept, of coz, there is some inconvenience during rain. The resort however, do assist guests around with umbrellas tho.

The SALA Restaurant serves good food. Breakfast serves ala carte but order as you wish. their Spanish Omelete is excellent. For lunch and dinner, tries their pizza and Thai food. All could not be faulted. It took some time before food were served, but probably because try cooked the food per table basis, not by orders. The wait is ok since we could enjoy sitting there relaxing while waiting for the food.

One thing to highlight which the management could look into us the service staff. Could not remember her name but she did not show us the menu of the pizzas and Thai food during our dinner, but only showed us the menu with the seafood. We have to ask for more menus before she actualy gave us the rest.. It would be better if all menus could be shown to us from the start for our choices. It will be even better if she could provide service with a smile....

As during our stay there was a beach carnival nearby, huge hotel provide complimentary shuttle service to and fro Patong. We took the shuttle service back which we were told was 10.30. However, when we board the shuttle bus they told us it was 11pm and we had to wait.. Could have told us earlier of the change.

Other than that, the conciege services are good, with friendly staff and prompt services. Booked an island hop trip thru them and all was well coordinated. A taxi call came on time and all we got to do was just wait to be served.

Truly enjoyed this trip at SALA Resort!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Signature KWoNi, thank you ever so much for your extremely complimentary review of SALA Phuket. We shall look in to your comments about our staff and we shall share your comments with them, we strive for excellence and we will continue to improve in all areas. We are so pleased you enjoyed your 3 days in your SALA Pool Villa with us so much and we shall look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know when you would like to return to SALA and thank you again. The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The environment of hotel is excellent. My wife and I enjoy sunshine on the grass land between swimming pool and the beach everyday. I never visited a hotel with that high quality of food. No matter what kind of food we ordered, our only response is thumb-up. All staff have very good attitude which made us feel like at home.

The only sorry thing was my wife fell down on the slippery corridor when we were in the spa center. Her body is ok but the mobile phone was full of water and was broken. Besides, our package called "spa retreat package" which supposed to include a late checkout privilege. But when we arrange the check with front desk, the lady told us the late checkout is subject to room availability. I think the hotel can think about improving in those areas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Alan, thank you very much for your complimentary review in particularly on our excellent restaurant and our staff. It is so rewarding to hear such positive comments and we shall most certainly pass your review on to our executive chef, his team and everyone at SALA. We do strive to offer a late check-out whenever possible; however room availability didn’t allow this on your day of departure. We shall ensure our communication is improved on this matter, to avoid disappointment in the future. Thank you again, we hope you’re both well and please let us know when you would like to return to SALA. The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, Ilhas, Macau
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

When i back to Macau i am missing Sala Phuket 's everything . The nice service , the wonderful environment, the comfortable rooms !

I need to thank every waiter of restaurant, because they gave me and my boyfriend a big big surprise! My boyfriend was very happy on his birthday.

When i travel Phuket again , i must be choose SALA again !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Signature Sandy628 - Macau, IIhas, Macau, Thank you both so much for your encouraging review and feedback, the team at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Phuket and returned to Macau with fond memories! I will ensure your comments are passed onto our team and we look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future. thank you both once again, Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Wonderful Resort with stunning pool villas. Very isolated for relaxing and chilling out away from the big crowd.
Also a nice outside bar lounge where you can chill with a great healty super smootie.
The spa is also a superb place to enjoy a heaven on earth massage in all the tranquilty.
I had a super 4 nights stay and enjoyed my pool villa very much, the open badroom is lovely and very cozy indeed.
During a few nights we had rain and the floor at the toilet area was all the time wet so they will need to look at this one quit urgent as well the wooden flooring at the open shower area.
Overal a great stay!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Chris, thank you very much for your complimentary review of your 4 nights at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa and that you enjoyed so much the isolation, relaxing atmosphere and your heaven on earth massage in our award winning spa. Your concerns regarding the wet floor when it rains is something we most certainly will look at. Thank you again and please let us know when you would like to return to SALA. The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just returned from an amazing 12 night stay at the Sala Phuket. We were greeted with cool towels and ginger ice tea (lovely and refreshing following a 20hour journey from the UK), and taken directly to our room for check in and allowed to make preferences for the type of pillows and fragrance of toilettries that we preferred. We stayed in the basic room but were more than pleased with the size etc. Massive bed that had lovely soft cotton bedding - I slept like a baby for 12 nights! The outdoor bathroom and Sala was amazing.

The pool areas are well kept, sun loungers are comfortable and it was lovely getting a cold towel and a jug of ice tea each day by the pool - although it would be nice to have further cold towels throughout the day when it was very hot! Great service around the pool, easy to get drinks and food - highly recommend the pinapple & mango crush and the peanut & banana smoothie.

Food at the restaurant was also lovely, a little bit on the pricey side but this was expected for a 5* resort. There are some brilliant local restaurants approx 5 min walk from the hotel on the way to Turtle shopping centre, very cheap and very tasty. We went here most nights.

Breakfast was very good initially, but became a little monotonous by the end of our stay. I can recommend the pulled pork eggs benedict and the waffles! Great pinapple and orange juice drink options.

Weather was brilliant - we were expecting lots more rain but were very lucky!

Our flight was not until 5pm and we were offered late check out without any hassle/charge. We took advantage of hotel transfers to/from the airport which were very efficient and comfortable.

All in all a wonderful relaxing holiday, great location (unless you wan tthe hustle & bustle of Patong). We went to Patong one evening on hotel transport - nice to see, made us even more certain that we had made the right decision about the location of our holiday!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Kim & Phil, thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and complimentary review of your 12 nights at SALA Phuket. It is so warming to read with such passion your enjoyment of our SALA Signature Services, and there’s nothing better than a great night’s sleep! We’re so pleased too that you specifically mention the peace and tranquility of SALA and our distance from Patong, so as you rightly said we are miles away from the hustle and bustle. We try our utmost to provide subject to availability a late check-out whenever it’s possible and we are happy we were able to do that for you. We are continually looking to improve on our services and we have passed on your comments regarding breakfast to our executive chef. The weather is still wonderful and we hope the weather back in the UK is being kind to you. Thank you again and please let us know when you would like to return to SALA. Let us wish you all the best for the festive season ahead. The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to SALA Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 333 Moo 3 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort, featuring private swimming pools in 63 out of 79 rooms, villas, and suites. SALA Phuket boutique resort is an impressive compliment to its popular sister property, SALA Samui. SALA Phuket combines rare historical Sino - Portuguese architecture with modern 5-star facilities. Located on pristine Mai Khao beach on Phuket's northwest shoreline, SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The famous Blue Canyon Golf Course is a short distance from SALA Phuket and the picturesque Phang Nga Bay is located just 25 minutes away. SALA Phuket is the ideal location for a Phuket wedding and honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach and lush beach side lawn surrounded by a coconut tree plantation swaying in the wind. In addition to friendly, professional and personalized service, SALA Phuket luxury resort offers facilities including:- 3 large beachfront swimming pools, world class international beachfront restaurant and bar with an air-conditioned dining option, Award winning SALA Spa, full equipped gym, steam rooms & salon, complimentary wi-fi internet connection throughout the entire resort, gift shop, business traveler services, entertainment and theme nights, nightly villa turn down service, In-Villa dining, miles of untouched beach front, the longest and least developed in Phuket, an array of local activities and excursions are available. Weddings at SALA Phuket, marriage is an occasion that should be cherished always. A variety of locations for your ceremony are available, from golden sand beach stretches, lush green lawn expanses or an intimate sunset rooftop vantage. Our personal and intuitive staff will ensure your special occasion receives the attention it deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your SALA Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Phuket Resort And Spa
Sala Phuket Mai Khao
Sala Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.