We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit and we will come again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   231 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
Hong Kong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“2nd visit and we will come again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

We just completed our 2nd visit in 3 years to the JW Marriott in Phuket and continue to think it is one of the (if not the) best family resorts in Asia. The service is excellent, the food is varied and decent quality, the location is convenient and the activities for children are first rate. We have 7, 6, and 2 year old children and each had a blast. The highlight was definitely "G" who runs the Kidz Sole activities out of the Kids Pavilion. He is highly engaged and the children love him. He'll even help the adventurous adult who wants to take a whirl on the trapeze course. We visited the resort during Chinese New Year which meant it was full occupancy, but due to the layout and the multiple pools and restaurants the resort never felt crowded. I understand this was rated the top Marriott property worldwide for 2010 and I can understand why. We can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    411
    104
    45
    20
See reviews for
601
563
46
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed 5 and 3 nights over the Xmas break and had a wonderful time. It is a great place for all of us (2 adults and 2 boys 9 & 11 yrs old) to enjoy. Thanks to Nash (tennis) and Mr G (circus school) - your tennis and trapeze lessons where great and our boys loved seeing you again! We hope to come back next year. They also liked the bubble program (diving) by Seabees in the pool. So lots of outdoor sports over the 9 days stay!

Thanks to the management, the staff and the spa. Youdid a great job and kept us all very happy and relaxed even though it was a busy week with many guests because of the festive season. You made us feel very welcome and very well looked after!

We had a wonderful stay and hope we will be able to return in the near future!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We booked the room through Priceline for US$111/night (no breakfast / internet). We enjoyed our stay from Dec 21-22, 2010. We chose to stay in the hotel for a night as it's very far from the central area. The hotel is only 15 minutes drive from the airport (but still costs THB500 to the airport, very expensive). The hotel, beach, and pools are very nice but food and internet are very expensive. I would suggest staying there for a night or 2 to enjoy the beach and its facilities.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

GENERAL
The hotel feels really crowded and is very noisy. Noise comes in the form of VERY loud music from bars and restaurants, lots of teenagers running around, small kids screaming and generally by having a lot of people in a small space. All the restaurants get booked up quickly. Unless you go to the beach early you are confined to very peripheral loungers (if it's more than two of you, it may even be difficult to be all together).
The hotel seems to be very popular with Russians, who probably make up the relative majority of guests, and also with Northern Europeans.
I guess my basic problem with the hotel is that it markets itself, and is pitched by guidebooks, as a Four Seasons-type resort, but really it's just a slightly improved Marriott. That Conde Naste includes it in the Hot List for 2011 is puzzling to say the least...

FACILITIES
The rooms are spacious and pretty well appointed, but otherwise nothing to write home about. We chose to be on a high floor and away from the noisy pool, which proved to be a good idea - ground floor room have very little privacy and a lot of noise.
The restaurants are actually quite decent. Service is as good as it can be in such a large resort, and the staff is very competent.
Spa is pretty well-appointed although massages are relatively average. Because of stiff competition from cheap "beach massages", there's actually quite a lot of availability at the spa. Gym is always overcrowded, hard to get on the machines and they always seem to be sweaty from the guy before...
Pools are large (although the photos on the website are very flattering).

BEACH
Conde Naste says it's the best beach in Phuket, which is a bold and questionable statement. I'll just give you the facts (pros "+" and cons "-"):
+ Basically deserted; even right in front of the hotel there are very few people and no loungers (everyone seems to be content to come all the way to Thailand and just sit by the pool...)
+ Very long stretch; you can walk for several miles if that's what you want
+ Quiet sea; you don't have a million sail and motorboats anchored outside
+ Clean water
- Narrow and relatively steep; the drop off is also very steep, and after four steps you're basically in 6 feet of water
- Coarse sand, hard to walk barefoot for long
- Far from "picture perfect": this is NOT a white sand beach with clear turquoise waters

LOCATION
You're close to a couple of other resorts (Sala, couple of other Marriott brands, Anantara). Other than that, you're really far from the rest of Phuket (e.g. it's probably a little over an hour to drive to Patong)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Yes, the hotel is beautiful and clean. The service is okay - I actually thought the service was better at the Bangkok Marriott and I thought the JW Phuket was supposed to be the best. The two biggest issues I had with this hotel - the food is expensive (which is weird for Thailand where you can eat like royalty for $10) and the hotel location is FAR from almost everything to see in Phunket. If you are looking for relaxing beach time, you can't go wrong with this hotel. If you are looking to see Thai scenery or local attractions, I suggest someplace else. Overall, one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in in terms of ambiance and decor.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

The grounds are like the tropical paradise one would expect. The pools are beyond description. The staff is understated, but are there to comply with your evcery wish. Most speak English, and are more than willing to explain any questions you may have. If you rent a car, which is the easiest way to travel to and from the hotel, know that they drive on the left side and the motorbikes do not observe any of the traffic rules. If you stay on property, understand tthat the restaurants are first rate and charge accordingly. A note of caution. If you wish to shop at any of the stores or supermarket at Turtle Village, you will pay considrably more than at any shop elsewhere in Phuket.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

The JW Marriott resort at Mai Khao Beach is truly a paradise. The setting is superb, with grounds along the Andaman Sea along the NW coast of the island, just one-half hour from the airport. No detail has been spared to make one's stay a memorable one. The rooms / villas are beautifully furnished and well-maintained. The staff is pleasant, friendly, competent, and attentive. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with native plants. There are three pools with differing attractions and four bars with differing ambiances. Five restaurants on the main property (Grill, Thai, Japanese, Italian, International) and one on a nearby property (international), plus regular festive themed buffets, make dining delicious and interesting. There is also a deli with a fresh bakery and many delicious daily specials. Nearby are championship golf courses. At the sister property (walking distance, but golf carts also ferry guests back and forth by request) there is a shopping area (Turtle Village) with resort-type shops plus an extensive grocery store. The resort has an on-site spa, but we prefer the Thai ladies on the beach for one-hour massages at much reduced rates. There is a fitness center, and one can also rent bicycles. HobyCats, kite-boards, kayaks, and other small water aids are available for guests' use at no extra charge. Diving services can be arranged for a fee. Did I mention the cooking school? In a modern fully-equipped teaching kitchen one can learn (Ginja Cooking School) to make the delights one dines on nightly. Boat trips to nearby islands can be arranged through the concierge. This is the place to go for romance, for family fun, for any occasion (there was a wedding at our last visit). Truly a little piece of paradise! We've been escaping there for 9 years and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 231 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa is set in lush tropical gardens, with 17 kms of natural beachfront. Fifteen minutes north of the airport, the resort comprises 265 spacious rooms, including 13 suites, all facing towards the Andaman Sea. Facilities include eleven restaurants and bars, Thai cooking school, three magnificent pools, a Mandara Spa, shopping arcade and an activities-packed kids club. The fitness center includes two tennis courts, yoga sala. Golf available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Phuket Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Jw Marriott Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket
Phuket Marriott
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.