We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless resort vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   231 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Flawless resort vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I just got back from the JW Marriott in Phuket and it was without a doubt one of the best resort holiday experiences I have had. The service was amazing and the rooms are generously large and clean; maintained daily by the housekeeping staff. The rooms were more than large enough for the three of us and have enough space to entertain guests as well. The resort provides enough to spend a week there, with things such as a games room for kids and teenagers and a large pool and beach, gym and tennis courts. One great thing they had was bikes for hire which is great for an afternoon. There is also a good range of restaurants to choose from in the resort as well as a few located around it. It was better going as a larger group of 7/8 people as it may get a little boring and you may run out of things to do as the week passes by with fewer people.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley L, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Arya T,

Best resort holiday experience is what we aim for and we are delighted to hear that we provided that for you. We also pride ourselves in continuous innovation and will continue to add variety to improve our guests' experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ashley Lai
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    383
    99
    44
    19
See reviews for
567
532
42
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Just spent a week at this resort with my wife and a colleague. We had an incredible experience. Make sure to inquire about the fire show at 6:00 pm that is done twice weekly. Our day one started off iffy, we had a lower floor and the room did not meet our expectations. But we pointed out our concerns, i.e. damp and musty room and were moved to a regular room on the third floor and chizam we had a night and day turn around! There were so many restaurants and things to do it was almost like being on a cruise ship. The service was superb, the food was excellent, especially when you consider the resort is catering to multi cultural guests, so just because I wasn't fond of a particular dish didn't mean the Asian family next to us was not satisfied. That said we had the Pad Thai at every chance. In the Thai restaurant, by the pool and the bar!! My wife said it was to die for and she can be a picky eater.

We scheduled the couple of day excursions which were very well organized. My wife loved seeing elephants in a comfortable environment. The kids club was packed with events and their parents couldn't have been happier. All of the staff was extremely attentive, we especially appreciate "Su" Supaporn Toluang's recommendations about what to do both on and off property. She greeted us often and made sure we were getting everything we expected out of our stay.

The three pools offered a variety of choices and relaxation. The staff was quick to bring ice water in plastic glasses. I have stayed in 100's of Marriott's, this is my all time favorite! We will come back! That's a given!

Room Tip: Choose a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley L, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear CaptHMSimpson,

We are delighted to have looked after you and happy to learn that you enjoyed so many of the activities Phuket has to offer. To know that you will definitely be returning is a very rewarding thought and one that our entire team share. Thank you for making the effort to recognise Khun. Supaporn by name - now we can make sure she is recognised for a job well done!
The restaurant options are indeed extensive and offer something for everyone and we have recently launched our JW Japanese Sunday Brunch which you must try on your next visit.
Thank you for your continued support of Marriott and thank you for choosing JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa!

Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My wife, youngest son & I visted for 10 blissfully relaxing days in July 2014. We had an Ocean Front suite with it's own pool that was more than large enough for the three of us. The room was extremely fresh and clean and was maintained that way by some excellent housekeeping staff. Our son thoroughly enjoyed the kids club which let us adults chill. The staff were welcoming and very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them to arrange (including a birthday cake for our son). A good range of restaurants to choose from (if you can drag yourself away from one of the pools).

Room Tip: I loved the ocean front pool suite! Very large room, private pool and yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley L, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear WigB2014,

It makes me very happy to read that your vacation experience was so positive. The one bedroom suites are very popular and rightly so - the view of the Andaman sea and having your own private plunge pool is always very well received!
I am also pleased to read that you enjoyed our many restaurant options. We work hard to ensure our food and beverage offering is of the highest quality with the variety to please all of our guests.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I do hope you visit again soon!

Kind regards

Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I recently visited the JW Marriot and I am grossly dissapointed with the quality of the service as well as the physical state of the hotel rooms.

When I first entered the room there was a musty and damp smell. It was an old and stale room. I have previously stayed at Martiot hotels and this was definitely a substandard room.

My husband and I were both tired from our flight and arrived late in the night and was looking forward to a hot and relaxing shower. Upon showering the water was luke warm despite being set on the hottest setting. In addition the drainage made a huge noise. There was nothing relaxing or enjoyable about the shower. It was most unpleasant!!!

The next day we had complained on numerous seperate occasions to the frontdesk but did not get any useful feedback and eventually only got told in the night that there was nothing management could do because it was a standard thing.

I also recall requesting towels and having to wait 30 minutes before getting it.

Touring the far east, I have stayed in a few hotels and this was the worst stay by far. I recommend you do not stay here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley L, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear 402tiffanya,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our resort. I am sorry that we were not able to turn your experience around after learning of the issues surrounding your stay. When there are moments during the stay of our guests that do not meet their expectation we pride ourselves on finding a reasonable solution that enables the guest to focus fully on enjoying our award winning resort - this does not appear to have been the case on this occasion and I apologise unreservedly.

Kind regards

Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My family and I visited JW Marriot in the first week of June 2014.
There were 11 of us including kids from the ages of 8 months to 13 years old.
The resort had fantastic rooms. Excellent pools. Great Halal food which was a great relief to us.
The only issue is that the main town is far from the resort so you are in the resort all the time which isn't bad if you just want to relax and spend quality time with your family.
The staff was very helpful and the hotel also arranged for an ATV excursion for my family which was excellent.
I will visit this hotel again for sure but I will rent a car next time to go spend some time in the main Phuket town.

Room Tip: If you can get a 2 bedroom villa then go for it. Plenty of room for a family of 6. If you have you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley L, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Adil C,

We are pleased to hear that you had an excellent vacation with good quality time spent with family. I am sure the kids must have had a blast on that ATV excursion. The resort is about an hour away from town and is a good sight to visit at least once during your stay, but you will find that there are so many fun things to do on property that your family will not want to leave! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Ashley Lai
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Away from the madding crowd, great hotel. Good choice of restaurants. Food in the Japanese restaurant is a bit steep. Good for a family getaway, great pools and room service. The beach is also a nice quiet place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley L, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear DunamisArt,

Good to know you enjoyed the hotel. Next time you return, you must try our new JW Japanese Sunday Brunch which has great variety and great value for money!

Best regards,

Ashley Lai
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Loved my stay.
Huge property and beautiful view.
We were in a group of 9 guests and everyone loved it.
Though we wanted to stay in the Villa but that wasn't available.
Very pleasant staff and lots of things to do.
It's far from the main city beach but thats what we wanted. (not far from the airport though)
We had a trip planned later in Bangkok for our shopping etc.
This resort is all about relaxing.
The gym is very nice too, it forced me to go to the gym everyday.
Lavish breakfast every morning was a delight.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley L, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Shingla,

It sounds like you had a great friends and family getaway! We look forward to welcoming you back for a romantic one...

Best regards,

Ashley Lai
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 231 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa is set in lush tropical gardens, with 17 kms of natural beachfront. Fifteen minutes north of the airport, the resort comprises 265 spacious rooms, including 13 suites, all facing towards the Andaman Sea. Facilities include eleven restaurants and bars, Thai cooking school, three magnificent pools, a Mandara Spa, shopping arcade and an activities-packed kids club. The fitness center includes two tennis courts, yoga sala. Golf available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Jw Marriott Phuket Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket
Phuket Marriott
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.