We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   231 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My family (2 children, ages 5 months and 2 years old) along with my wife stayed here during the Chinese New Year and were simply blown away. From the welcome drink and cold towel, being upgraded to a room on the first floor with patio, plus free breakfast for 2 (for being a Marriott Rewards Gold Elite member) I cannot think of anything wrong with this resort.
The beach is quiet and gives you a feeling of privacy, unlike Patong and the beaches further south. The 3 pools are all amazing, though we only used the main pool, due to the kids pool being there. I would recommend the breakfast at Marriott Cafe over Cucina though, as there were more options. The Thai restaurant Ginja was sensational!
The staff was consistent in greeting us every time we passed, which shows not only hospitable service, but also great training. The housekeeping team did a fantastic job each day, and every request of ours, including a bottle sterilizer was met promptly and with a smile.
My family and I would go back to this resort in a heart beat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles S, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear GlobalCitizenP,

We are so delighted that you have taken the time to share your positive impressions of our Hotel. We all work very hard to make sure our guests have a wonderful stay so your comments are much appreciated by us all at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa.

Kind regards

Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    400
    101
    44
    20
See reviews for
589
547
46
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Our arrival was rather a bit uneventful, we arrived early and of course the suite wasn't available yet but the staff was accommodative. We traveled light so we left our backpacks at the fitness centre and went to enjoy the beach.
We appreciated the myriads of activities provided by Marriott. Staff at the fitness centre was great; helpful and informative.
The suite was above par; spacious and well-equipped - the working area (my partner had to work a bit) was comfortable; the surround sound system was good, the hot tub was fun with the ever-changing lights.
The bathroom; one word to describe it - luxurious.
Just a little kink - had an upset tummy after lunch (fried rice) at the poolside; too oily?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles S, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Rae C,

I'm very happy that you enjoyed your suite so much, they are very popular and always in high demand as you might expect. Thank you for taking time out to share your experience of our Hotel and for choosing JW Marriott. I will share your comments about the rice to our Chef. I hope to see you back again soon at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa.

Kind regards,
Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Out of all the things Phuket had to offer, what I will never forget is the experience I had at this wonderful resort. We were given a very warm welcome the Thai way. With their private beaches and many many things offered for the guests, it is undoubtedly a perfect holiday location to be with your family. I still regret the fact that I couldn't spend enough time at the place and make the most out of it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles S, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear tqueen2014,

It makes us very proud to know you had such an enjoyable holiday with us hear in Phuket. We look forward to welcoming you again one day soon.

Kind regards

Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capistrano Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our first visit to Phuket was great experiencing the JW Marriott luxurious suites on the ocean front, we thoroughly enjoyed the ambience and 10+ service and professional staff service at our every request! The grounds were beautiful and every restaurant was wonderful!

Room Tip: We observed a traditional Indian wedding which was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles S, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear HappyinHanoi2014,

I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Your kind comments have been shared with our team who work especially hard to deliver the JW Marriott service that keeps our guests coming back year after year. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Loved the architecture and the pools. The Japanese restaurant was outstanding in every way. We were with little children and they had a blast. Staff very child friendly. Enjoyed shopping at Turtle Village. Close proximity to airport, which is good. Rooms and bathrooms nice and spacious. Excellent landscaping. Very accomomodating staff. Will definitely go back again but not in the rainy season.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles S, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Sabera T,

Thank you for taking time out to feedback your thoughts about our Hotel.
I'm happy to read that you enjoyed our Kabuki Japanese restaurant very much. Chef Suwat and his team do a great job and I have shared your comments with the Kabuki team and they look forward to welcoming ou back one day soon.

Kind thanks

Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed in this Hotel for two weeks in Jan. 2014. The Hotel is located directly at the Mai Khao Beach. The large Garden is well maintained. There are three pools. The lager Central Pool Features also a small water slide. Service at the Pools is poor. The Sun Chairs available are not sufficent for the large no. of guests. The guest are left on their own to find a Place. Wie stayed in a Deluxe Terrasse room. The room was spacious however the interiour is already older and not well maintained. Breakfast is served in a smaller Restaurant at the First Floor. At our Time it was Daily a Problem to get a table. From 9 to 10:30 the guests have to que in a Long line for 5 to 20 Minutes. Overall this is an extensive Mass Tourist Ressort which falls Short of the Service and quality expected from a Five Star Hotel.

Room Tip: Service Seeking guest should avoid this Hotel in the High Season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles S, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear RalfFranz,

Thank you for choosing to stay at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa and for taking the time to feedback your thoughts on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to hear that you were not happy with the breakfast arrangement at the resort. We open three restaurants for breakfast during peak periods, Marriott Cafe & Cucina offer an international buffet breakfast and Siam Deli has an extensive a la carte breakfast offering. We have also extended the breakfast hours at Marriott Cafe from 6.30am to midday to reduce time pressure for our guests. Half the battle is advising our guests of the different breakfast options; we will double our efforts.
I'm concerned to read that you were not happy with the service around the Pools. Being busy may be the reason why we could not deliver the service you expected but it is not an excuse. Your experiences have been shared with the Pool team and we will all need work harder to deliver the JW standard that our guests rightly expect.
I'm sorry that you were not happy with elements for your stay however I hope that on balance your experience overall was a positive. I do hope to welcome you back one day to our beautiful Hotel and I thank you once again for your valuable comments.
Kind regards
Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

When with Family & a large group of friends.

Good food, good rooms and a lot of activities (most organised by the group). Suggest you try the Mauy Thai class which the hotel may organise.

Only issue is not much to do outside the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 231 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa is set in lush tropical gardens, with 17 kms of natural beachfront. Fifteen minutes north of the airport, the resort comprises 265 spacious rooms, including 13 suites, all facing towards the Andaman Sea. Facilities include eleven restaurants and bars, Thai cooking school, three magnificent pools, a Mandara Spa, shopping arcade and an activities-packed kids club. The fitness center includes two tennis courts, yoga sala. Golf available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Phuket Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Jw Marriott Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket
Phuket Marriott
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.