We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel for families and children, not couples!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   231 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hotel for families and children, not couples!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013


My boyfriend and I had booked to stay here for 5 nights, having spent some time in Khao Lak's Marriott. The staff were very helpful, and we were quickly shown our room. We immediately went down to the beach/pool area to have a look around, and quickly realised that this hotel was too big, busy, and full of kids to be the relaxing holiday we had hoped for! We immediately looked at trip advisor reviews, and quickly moved to the hotel next door, the Renaissance which is far more suited to couples.

Don't get me wrong, I'm sure this hotel would be great for families with kids (during our 30 min stay we saw the kids club activities, and a circus skills lesson going on, plus the pool was packed full of kids enjoying the fountains etc) but this is definitely not a place for couples looking for a relaxing holiday!! The staff were v helpful in helping us transfer to the other hotel, being very understanding too!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    409
    103
    44
    20
See reviews for
599
562
46
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our second stay at this resort, our first stay being around 2 years ago.

Pick up at the airport had been booked through the hotel directly and was relatively smooth, even though we missed the driver walking through the airport the first time. The drive up to Mai Khao was not overly long and fairly relaxing. Many other resorts have since appeared around this area which even has a mini shopping area (Turtle Shops) - although admittedly we never went to vist this.

Check-in was smooth however no welcome back or upgrade was offered. A simple thank you for staying with us again would have been nice, but did not occur. The walk to the room was reasonably long as this is a large resort, but it was fairly close to the pool which suited us. Breakfast was a hike in the morning however and the selection and standard was not on par with other places in Phuket we have stayed. The Holiday Inn (Patong) provided a better breakfast selection than here.

The room itself was lovely, with nice views of the beach and close to the pools. However we did not spend that much time in the room. The bed was excellent and shower was pretty good but the amenities (shampoo, soap etc) was pretty poor for a hotel of this level. .

The pools and beach are really what make this an excellent spot for families. We would spend hours swimming in the ocean as this was clean and often more refreshing than the pools (although it could be rough at times). The baby elephant was always a hit with the kids and parents alike and the kids club activities were great (kids fishing and circus are highly recomended).

As others have said this resort is far from main areas. It cost us 1000 baht (one-way) to visit Patong and took about an hour, so if you want to visit here regularly be advised it will add up. The trip back can also cost you more depending on whether you can bargain.

However for us the real change we noticed was in the staff, who have always been wonderful and accomodating in the past but this time seemed indifferent or uninterested. When trying to book for restaurants or activities there did not seem to be much help in providing information or alternatives if things were fully booked.

Comparing this resort to similar resorts in Thailand and even Bali, the level of service and finishes that mae this hotel no 1 are no longer apparent. For the price I expected better service and sadly I would not stay here again for the price we paid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A lovely, stylish hotel. Staff quietly efficient with great attention to detail, with 2 young boys we often have to duck out the door leaving the room looking like a bomb has hit it and come back to a beautifully tidy room where everything has been thoughtfully put away neatly.

Although the beach isn't that great for kids, the kids swimming area more than makes up for that and our kids didn't want to go anywhere else.

I would say the one let down is the food, breakfast was good and the normal standard and offerings you would expect from this class of hotel but the other times we happened to eat there we were less than impressed. For us though that wasn't an issue as we're Thai and so it was no big deal for us to go out and find some real tasty food, just a bit of a shame for international travellers who might not venture out to only have it as an option.

Apart from that though would recommend it highly for families and a lovely get away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 7 days. The hotel is only 15 mins from the airport but still on a very nice not crowded part of phuket. The rooms are big. The mattresses are a bit hard for a european.

The restaurants are great. Japanese, thai, grill all in very good quality. Book at least a day ahead or eat at 9pm.

The pools are great and the beach is really nice. Not a lot of people on the beach.

Lot's of stuff to do like sailing. Free bodyboards, windsurfing gear.

Service is very good. Wifi everywhere. Beach,pool. In the lobby it's super fast

Lot's of families with kids, which is understandable since it offers a lot for kids. The best kids club I have ever seen. Playstation 3, pool tables,imacs. and I've been to some pretty luxury resorts.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here having been 'referred' by friends who are members of the Marriot Vacation Club. We had a wonderful 2-bedroom suite which was beautifully decorated and well equipped with everything required for us to 'live like kings' for our short stay. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful with a really authentic Thai feel; lots of nice touches including small temples, ponds, fires and ethnic furniture. The staff were generally excellent, keen to please and to ensure we were enjoying our stay. There's an array of eating options, a well equipped fitness centre, bike hire and a very quiet beach with kayaks and sailing catamarans available to guests. The hotel is very extensive with 3 pools and gardens spread along a wide expanse of Mai Khao beach.

Generally, it's a spectacular place and we enjoyed a very relaxing, luxurious experience. Our only criticism would be that the hotel was clearly struggling to cope with full capacity. We didn't have breakfast on site (880 baht?!) but were told that the queues were extensive each morning. The pool beds and sun loungers around the grounds were all taken from very early in the morning (they do claim to have a policy of making beds available if left unoccupied for 45 minutes, but that was simply not being imposed); on two occasions we approached the pool attendants to ask for 2 towels only to be told (rudely) that they were 'finished'. One time the attendant simply laughed when I asked for a towel. To escape the crowds, we spent most days relaxing under a tree on the quiet beach. The kids club is great but was pretty chaotic at times with the sheer numbers of children needing supervision. Our son did enjoy the Easter-egg hunt but passed on other activities as the numbers of kids (and parents in tow) was a little overwhelming.

Turtle Village (5 minutes walk away) has a great Ice Cream Parlour (Svensons) and 'The Coffee Club' which is a better (and much cheaper) alternative for breakfast. Not much else there though apart from overpriced boutiques. A lovely 10 minute walk North along the beach, next to the lifeguard, is a fantastic 'hawker' beach restaurant serving superb, good value thai food and cold beers; there's even a swing hanging from a tree for the kids to play on!

Incidentally, an obligatory element of our 'free package' was a vacation Club sales presentation which, I have to be fair to say, was professional and informative. We genuinely approached it with an open mind as a number of our friends are contented members. While club membership represents real value for some, it wasn't for us and we did feel comfortable explaining our reasons. As teachers, we would be tied to visiting such properties at their busiest times, the problems of which I've mentioned above - hence, not for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great resort but far from town (45 min drive). Service was very good but you get that in every resort in Thailand. Rooms spacious & clean with nice Thai decor. Pool area was lovely with slippery slides into the pool for kids & right across from beach. Food expansive & they charge in USD only.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and really enjoyed our stay.. The property is quite large and well equipped with multiple pools and restaurants.. The beach is lovely and peaceful. This is not a resort where you go partying.. It's a chill out place.. However, the resort has got the Anantara resort as its neighbour and in comparing the modern architecture of that resort, the Marriott is looking a little old.. Still really enjoyed the Thai hospitality and the friendly staff.. Can't wait to revisit Thailand..

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 231 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa is set in lush tropical gardens, with 17 kms of natural beachfront. Fifteen minutes north of the airport, the resort comprises 265 spacious rooms, including 13 suites, all facing towards the Andaman Sea. Facilities include eleven restaurants and bars, Thai cooking school, three magnificent pools, a Mandara Spa, shopping arcade and an activities-packed kids club. The fitness center includes two tennis courts, yoga sala. Golf available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Phuket Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Jw Marriott Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket
Phuket Marriott
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.