We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort with good restaurants and beautiful beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   231 Moo 3 | Mai Khao Beach, Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Nice resort with good restaurants and beautiful beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a large sprawling resort on the far northwest coast of Phuket next to a very quiet and beautiful beach. We stayed in an Oceanfront suite on the first floor which was very comfortable with a large bathroom and wrap-around terrace. Although built only in 2001, the resort is starting to show its age in some places and the décor in the rooms and bathrooms are a now a bit dated. The restaurants are all good; we were impressed by the Thai food at Ginja Taste and the quality of the food in the Italian restaurant. There is an all-day dining restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and on some evening a themed dinner buffet as well as a Deli open all day. Top of the range is the Andaman Grill which does lobster, steak and seafood but you certainly pay for the pleasure of eating there. Five minute walk from the resort is the Turtle Village which has a small supermarket, some shops and an English Pub. There are three pools; the main family pool full of screaming kids and two quieter pools; the North Pool is supposed to be for adults only although this was not policed particularly well by the pool staff who seemed quite happy for the odd family with toddlers or small children playing in the pool. The resort is really in the middle of nowhere; there are a couple of other resorts nearby but apart from that it is a long way away from anything else in Phuket. If we were to come back to Phuket, we would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,200
    442
    118
    48
    20
See reviews for
667
631
56
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here for free at a six bedroom villa as part of our time share with another company and my wife and I were blown away by the sheer size of our accommodation. Peace and quiet and we even got to greet a baby elephant on the beach all to ourselves. We stayed for five days at Patong and enjoyed the rat race but it was also great to get away from it all the last week to this hotel. Lots of activities to do. We ate at the Turtle Village British Pub and Coffee Club great Thai meals also on the menu and at fraction of the cost they charge at the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be of a high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Sadly only here for 1 night as part of a business trip. A great retreat with fantastic facilities. Good choice of restaurants and bars. Buffet breakfast was superb. Pool was lovely and warm, sea was rough but the beaches were amazing

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I brought the committee here for a retreat and after the initial hiccup of exchanging a pre-paid extra bed with F&B credit, everything went rather well upon arrival. The hotel was very well maintained and the grounds were huge as it combined with the other Marriott concept hotels. It was a long walk to the room but it was lovely and the bathroom was spotlessly clean. Little touches around the room leaves the impression that it is definitely well worth the price. Their signature amenities with the scent of lavender and ylang-ylang /rosemary were relaxing and much appreciated after a long day outside. The additional bed however made the third person feel inferior compared to what was already there as it is just a rollaway bed and small.

F&B - The Sala Bar serves some nice cocktails and relaxing jazz music in the evening, while the Cafe & Deli food was so-so. The beef noodles was disappointing as the beef was tough as leather and the barbecued pork had too much red colouring, it made the entire bowl of noodles red. On the last night we had diner at Cucina Italian Restaurant and the food was very good and the best compared to all that we had in the hotel. Special thanks to Chef Febrizio who helped create the menu with our budget and his numero uno crab linguini. Breakfast spread was okay but the highlight must be the special coffees and tea they provide with compliments. I was told that you may even order the beverage to take away but after some double espressos, you don't really want to take anything away. After all, the ground coffee provided in the room is equally good!

As for going to town, we got a rip-off lunch at some seaside restaurant. The seafood was fresh but it took forever to arrive and served by sour-faced waitresses and lingering pesky flies that won't take no for an answer! lol In my opinion, Patong beach / Bangla road itself is a lot of hype (unless you have overflowing libido) – it looks crowded and dingy at the same time. It was comforting to know that our hotel is located far away from the 'scene of action' and we were quite relieved to return to our haven in Phuket.

The beach just outside the hotel is very clean and the sunset is something spectacular one should not miss, it feels like the sun sets especially for Marriott!

The down-side to this place is that the managers are inaccessible, they are somewhere around and you can speak to them over the intercom but they are never available to meet you for any reason. Totally different from some of the 5-star (and less) hotels and resorts I have been to, the front office manager, F&B manager and sometimes even the general manager do their rounds and are very people-friendly. Sadly, it doesn't happen here - leaves me an impression of a beautiful and very arrogant girl.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

yes it is costly and the food, besides the breakfast buffet isn't really outstanding BUT the resort is awesome: sprawling, well maintained, lots of facilities for adults and kids. the staff at the marriott cafe (in particular a Mr Densek) were fabulous. great attention to detail without being too in your face. by the second day, they knew all our names, our coffee preferences etc. most of you would find this when there but there are 2 huts offering very affordable and decent massage by the beach. for 400BHT you get a full 1hr Thai massage with the sea breeze and crashing waves. probably best value we found at the resort.

Room Tip: we splurged on a 1 bedroom suite that was sea facing. gosh it was nice. massive (approx 100m2) with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We have just got back from this hotel where we spent 10 nights, at first it was a bit daunting because of the reviews we read from previous visitors. And I can honestly say its not a prison, or a dollar pulling American company. But yes it is expensive to eat in the evening at the restaurants apart from Siam deli what me and my wife thought was very reasonable. But we found going out to Kin dee Thai restaurant was very nice and the food was great and with a good price. JW is a 5 star hotel and if you go 5 star expect to pay the going rate. So either go to turtle village where again the food prices are quite good, there's the English pub, or there is a couple of other cafes where you can get food that's very good with a nice price to match.
JW rooms are jaw dropping, and there are plenty of pools to sit around and soak up the sun, the sea was very ruff as we were told it's the time of year.
One tip I will give is get your water from turtle village as 310bt is very expensive in the room, and if you don't like the price of the restaurants get out and about, and you'll find plenty of places to eat. But don't let other peoples views put you off. Do you home work before you book. We enjoyed our stay and if we didn't want the expense of eating on site we made sure we went out. You can also get yourself some drinks for your room in turtle village. Theres beer, spirits, wine on sale there too. So I would say look at where your staying, and I think it's great for your money, and if you don't want to eat and drink then get out and about. And yes I would recommend this hotel if you just want to relax,

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narre Warren
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed over easter which was fantastic. The staff at the kids club put on a fantastic easter party that had the kids enjoying themselves all day. Actually so did we. They had so many activities to do. The kids club itself was full of great activities too. Everyday the kids had a swim then raced back for the next session. They learnt alot about Thailand in a fun way and loved every second.
The breakfast here is fantastic and the room service food excellent too. We had a romantic dinner on the beach and the staff set it up so beautiful and were so nice plus the food was by far the nicest Ive ever had. So much for dinner we ended up getting the kids out of the kids club to come out to finish our dessert.
The hotel grounds are excellent but the beach is not really safe to swim especially with kids. Very bad rip and very rough plus the beach is on a angle so not good to lie on either. However the hotel has plenty of pools.
The downside to this hotel is we couldnt get inter-connecting rooms so had to sleep in seperate rooms which is not how we like to spend our holidays. Other than that a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 231 Moo 3 | Mai Khao Beach, Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa is set in lush tropical gardens, with 17 kms of natural beachfront. Fifteen minutes north of the airport, the resort comprises 265 spacious rooms, including 13 suites, all facing towards the Andaman Sea. Facilities include eleven restaurants and bars, Thai cooking school, three magnificent pools, a Mandara Spa, shopping arcade and an activities-packed kids club. The fitness center includes two tennis courts, yoga sala. Golf available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Phuket Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Jw Marriott Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket
Phuket Marriott
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.