We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good accommodation & service but ......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Vacation Club Phuket Mai Khao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Vacation Club Phuket Mai Khao to your Saves list
Anantara Vacation Club Phuket Mai Khao
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   887 Moo 3, Thalang | Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Vacation Club Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good accommodation & service but ......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My family had a good stay in the vacation club, which is situated next to the villa. We stayed at the 2 bedroom suite. However, the balcony was facing the construction site (they are extending the property here) and hence we didn't using the balcony much. The services, environment, breakfast is good for us... and my daughter love the swimming pool so much. There are kid center where they can play around in it having someone to take care of them (it must be >4 yrs old if to leave the kid there), bicycle to use to travel around and buggy always there if u need their services. the only thing is the location is far from town, where you need to travel for about an hour to reach Patong beach, weekend market or to watch Fantasea show. For the cab available, it is quite expensive due to the distance and always it is fixed price. others than that, I love the stay here.

Room Tip: accommodation with their private pool would be better......
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AVC_Phuket, General Manager at Anantara Vacation Club Phuket Mai Khao, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Eastkid

Good day!

Thank you for your comments and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Especially nice to hear that your daughter was well entertained!

Yes, correct, we have some extensions underway on our neighbouring south side. We have a nice tall fence, however the view from some of our Suites is so extensive you cant help but see over. Apologies for any inconvenience............ they should soon be finished.

Great to hear you liked our big breakfast!

Kind Regards

Lyndon Ellis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    57
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
81
57
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Was here in March at the 1 bed room pool villa with my wife and had an excellent time. This time round, returned with family. Due to last minute room changes unable to get a 2 bed room pool villa and only managed to get the 2 bed room pool apartment for 3 nights and 2 bed room apartment without pool for 2 nights..

Reached the hotel early at 9 am.. Was told that room could be available at 12 pm, then moved to 1 pm and then 3 pm..5 other families that came with us already got their rooms in marriott vacation club by 1 pm.. Feeling embarrassed since I am owner of AVC and yet I treated in this way.

When we stepped into the pool apartment, we were shocked how tired and worn the apartment looked like, in view that this property is only less than a year old. My wife commented whether the furnitures and rugs are old furniture and rugs they used in the anantara hotel next door.. Already feeling upset that the anantara hotel was taken away from the list that avc owners can use our points for, this was really rubbing salt to my wound.. Throughout the trip with the other 5 families, we spent our time at the MVC pools and joined their activities..The apartments at MVC, at least 3-5 years old, looked so much newer and better designed, so did not want to embarrassed myself more by inviting them to view our rooms. When we moved to the 2 bed room apartment without pool, it looked as worn out.

Apart from the room, the service and staff ( except the one handling my check in) are relatively good.

I doubt I would recommend any friends for a preview at this property again.

The AVC management should really put the anantara hotel back to the list for avc owner at least till this property is ready to carry the anantara brand.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AVC_Phuket, General Manager at Anantara Vacation Club Phuket Mai Khao, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear MikeLim45

Good morning.

I am very surprised to hear of your comments regarding the condition of your unit. We have just celebrated our first birthday so your comments are concerning. I will personally inspect both the rooms you occupied.

In regards to your check-in, we try our best to ensure/remind guests to vacate the room at the designated check-out time of 12 midday so we can clean the room for the next arrival. I note that you arrived at 9am and rest assured if the room was vacant, or we could swap you to another room, especially as your are an AVC owner, this would have been actioned immediately however we were 100% full on the night of your stay.

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to comment.

I invite you to email me directly on lellis@anantaraclub.com when next visiting and I will personally take care of arrangements.

Kind Regards

Lyndon Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Having already stayed at both Anantara Layan and their Anantara Phuket Villa properties, my wife and I decided to try Anantara's Vacation club property in Phuket also located on Mai Khao beach. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit with a plunge pool. I have to say, the room quality was super impressive. The rooms are large, spacious, modern, luxurious and have all the facilities required. The small touches from their room maids were thoughtful and helped to make our stay feel very personalized. The main swimming pool was a highlight and the pool staff were attentive. The restaurant was equally as good. We found the service and food quality to be excellent. A big thanks for Lyndon the General Manager and his staff for personally making sure our stay was memorable! I can highly recommend to stay at the Vacation Club in Phuket.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at the Anantara Vacation Club in 2 bedroom unit for 3 nights. The resort is absolutely beautiful and the staff super friendly and courteous. We were very well looked after and our daughter was doted over. The staff all seemed to remember her name which we loved. The resort is quite remote so we felt that 3 days was enough. If we were there without her I imagine we could have relaxed a lot more and made more of the isolation. The beach isn't great but the pool and pool bar made up for that. There is a small shopping village over the road which was handy for supplies and killing some time during the rainy periods. I would recommend this resort for longer stays as a couple but just a few days for families unless you plan to do lots of day tours.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in the Pool Villa for 3D2N. Excellent stay, very good food especially the lamb rack, which is the best I have ever tasted! Should have brought my daughter here as it is very child friendly! Definitely worth the money! Will come back again! Thanks.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor Darul Ehsan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at Anantara Vacation Club @ Mai Khao, Phuket over the weekend. It is a wonderful places for family as well as just couple.

I was there with my spouse and we love everything in the apartment. Since we were there for our 15 anniversary, the Anantara team located us on the highest floor, the far in unit, for greatest privacy.

The apartment comes with everything family or couple would need. One can practically move in here without any luggage, as it comes with bathrobe, washing machine, dryer, full kitchen utensils etc.

If we do not feel like eating out, can always head over to Turtle Mart (5 minutes walking distant) to get the ingredients.

Overall experience has been perfect, from the check in to check out, of course in between asking for more drinking water, everything fulfilled.

We had a minor accident while we were out, which required medical attention, I contacted the Anantara team, they recommended nearby hospital.

Although have been to Mai Khao twice now, we will definitely come again.

Perhaps, the next round, we will try the Anantara Villa :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AVC_Phuket, Manager at Anantara Vacation Club Phuket Mai Khao, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear SamuelTan

Thank you for your kind comments.

I am pleased you had a wonderful time and that you appreciated the added facilities we provide in our guest rooms.

Look forward to seeing you back soon!

Kind Regards

Lyndon Ellis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This hotel is perfect for you if you prefer somewhere private and quiet. We had the room in 6th floor. The room was speechless for two people, was very big and convenient. You have kitchen, laundry, dining and living areas separated from bedroom with Pool view. It just perfect suite for your short and long stay. The service was also excellent staffs were very polite and helpful. Worry about buying foods and shopping? Don't worried, you also have ''Turtle village'' where you can buy foods, dining at restaurants, and do some shopping. It is just opposite to the hotel. Breakfast was also meet my expectation. They have many varieties of foods including Continental, American, Thai and some Sushi and taste is good tho. We had a fantastic stayed here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Vacation Club Phuket Mai Khao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Vacation Club Phuket Mai Khao

Address: 887 Moo 3, Thalang | Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Vacation Club Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Vacation Club Phuket Mai Khao 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anantara Vacation Club’s brand new signature resort in northwest Phuket offers a truly indulgent tropical escape, yet is only 15 minutes from Phuket International Airport and a short drive from the bustling beaches of the south. The resort’s luxurious choice of Apartment Suites and Pool Villas are designed with couples, families and friends in mind. All feature an incredibly generous living space, with sizes ranging from 94 sqm for a One Bedroom Apartment to over 250 sqm for a Two Bedroom Pool Villa. Each apartment and villa is equipped with a kitchen, large refrigerator, cook top and utensils, as well as a clothes washing machine and dryer, to create a convenient home away from home. Just a few minutes’ walk away are the tranquil sun kissed sands of Mai Khao – Phuket’s longest beach. While Sirinath National Park that fringes our resort is your gateway to an impressive natural playground of sea caves, mangroves, coral reefs and dazzling islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Anantara Vacation Club Phuket Mai Khao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Vacation Club Phuket Mai Khao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Vacation Club Phuket Mai Khao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.