We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very good holiday resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Vacation Club Phuket Mai Khao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Vacation Club Phuket Mai Khao to your Saves list
Anantara Vacation Club Phuket Mai Khao
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   887 Moo 3, Thalang | Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Vacation Club Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“a very good holiday resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Located close to the airport, this offers a very relaxing place for a family holiday. Main downside is that it's not on the beach. However, if you have young kids, the pool is a better option. We stayed in a 2 bed pool villa and we only left for meals.

Main restaurant has a very good breakfast offering. Lunch and Dinner choices are a bit limited. The main issue was that apart from the manager, the employees' command of the English language was extremely limited. So anything out of the ordinary, like a special request, was painful.

Across the street, there is a small shopping mall area with a good grocery shop for kids stuff. The main restaurant at the Anantara hotel is of a very high standard. Other hotels, such as Marriott are also located near by - if you wish to try their restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    54
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
74
51
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed for a week in October 2013, great rooms, pool area is great, friendly staff, happy hour at the swim up bar is good. Modest gym, but can get a good workout, bicycles are free, just need to book and there are some good places to explore, especially along the beach.
Restaurants at Anantara are pricy, however there are some great local eating options, great cheap food and beer also cheap.
The beach is a 10 minute walk, the quickest way to the beach is through the other Anantara resort opposite, where the mini mart is, the beach can be quite calm, however can have large waves smashing down, it is a steep beach so the water gets deep very quickly.
Local cheap restaurants near the beach are really good and you can also get a good massage along the beach front.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We joined the AVC last year and used it for the first time this week. The beach is very remote and cabs to and from are not cheap.
The check in was fast and friendly, the villa was absolutely divine. We saw the first one completed last year and am glad to report this one looked as good as the model one. Everything was absolutely perfect, we are both designers and check for faults all the time,none found. Lovely quiet position away from the kids club. Breakfast at the club was fabulous, a great choice and different each day.
I'd like to especially mention the manager who chatted to us while we were leaving, very friendly,and the friendly chef Ian Wood who chatted to guests, helped people with choices. You know it's good when the chef takes such a active role. We also had pizza one night there, great, also with a very entertaining karaoke singer! The pool area is well suited for families, kids club etc looked fine. We really enjoyed the whole experience. We were approached a few times by a rep trying to get us to go to another talk, we weren't bothered by this as it is their job. But that VIlla was just divine.
We also used some on the Anantara villa facilities. The entrance and walkways and landscaping is just beautiful. You are not allowed to use the pool area which we do understand. Lots of other people from other hotels on the beach wandered in and the staff toLd them very politely it was for hotel guests only. We ended up sunbathing in the area below the pool and staff didn't bother us. No one was there anyway. The pool is beautiful though! The loungers on the beach for the AVC guests to use are a bit of a problem. There is no direct pool access from AVC so you need to go past the pool area. We did get a discount when using the food areas. The pool bar is not cheap but we had great cocktails ( English garden mojito :)) and salad. We also had sunset drinks at the tree top bar which is just beautiful. Lovely girls working there. Everything about his hotel is just amazing. Privacy,calm, tranquility. I don't think it's suitable for young kids who tend to dash off as lots of walkways over water. Which is just fine by us!
Maew the pool bar manager ? Is good, friendly efficient and very hard working. The girls working at the tree top bar also lovely. Thanks for a great visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The vacation club is less than a year old. We were allowed the tower block which really looks like a school hostel on the outside. Fittings are ok, not luxurious but suffices as they are new but ne wonders what it will be like when it ages. The pool area is nice and inviting. Best is the kids club which takes a serious view of carrying out parents' instructions, down to the number of minutes the kids are allowed to play xbox! Even i can't do that! Kudos to them!

Room Tip: Avoid the tower block though the view of the place is quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We (family of 2 adults and 2 young kids) normally stay either at the JW Marriott Phuket or Holiday Inn Mai Khao for our regular Phuket trip but we stayed in a one-bedroom apartment at this property under a promotional offer that included a 90-minute Anantara Vacation Club (AVC) membership preview (we are not AVC members) this year. AVC members actually stay in a pool vila.

This property is not on the beach front but is located on the other side of the road of the Anantara Phuket Villas and Turtle Village mall. We were not allowed to use the facilities of the Anantara Phuket Villas except for the restaurants.

Overall Set-Up:
The size of this property was relatively small which meant that the lobby was very small and the only main pool was also small with a smaller area for kids.

It seemed that this property was mainly used as a sales hub for AVC membership so it felt a bit more like a property show-room than an actual resort with the majority of guests coming from Chinese-speaking countries. There was a lack of an atmosphere.

Family Facilities:
Claiming that AVC properties are for family, this one certainly did not seem to have that many. There was a small kids club with very limited activities, a small kids pool area and an outdoor playground which was empty due to the hot weather.

Our room came with breakfast for 2 adults but kids over 4 years old have to pay half of the adult breakfast buffet price. This was certainly not family friendly.

As we were not allowed to use the facilities at the near-by Anantara Phuket Villas, we got bored after 3 days. Also, it was a bit odd to go to Mai Khao and not having access to the beach.

The Accommodation:
The one-bedroom apartment was very comfortable, spacious and well furnished including a kitchenette, a washing maching and tumble dryer that are convenient. AVC members do not stay in these apartments that are purely for promotional offers to give potential members a feel for what the pool villa may contain.

In-room internet was complimetary for 30 minutes per day with charges for longer usage. Again, this is one of the non-standard things that we were surprised to see for this type of brand name.

Summary:
Compared to the JW Marriott Phuket and the Holiday Inn Mai Khao where we have stayed, we did not see much reason for wanting to stay here again as our priority is family facilities and not the pool villa.

The staff was very courteous and provided a great service but we felt that this property lacked in too many areas compared to other resorts in the same area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed at the Anantara Bophut Vacation Club as the main hotel was under renovation. As it was undergoing renovation, we didn't quite get to enjoy the full facilities of the place and had to make do with renovation noise and dust. Service as with all the other Anantaras that I've stayed in is top notch. Room service was delivered very quickly, staff are friendly and very helpful. Location of the resort is good, we enjoyed walking through the fisherman's village. It wasn't dirty and seedy. Food options at Fisherman's village was very good too. The beach at Anatara is not the usual soft sand but its fairly quiet and not overly crowded much like Chaweng, so it was quite nice to lounge around.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My magical experience at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort made me fall in love with the Anantara brand. With high expectations, we arrived at AVC Phuket only to feel cheated and lousy. We were originally promised a 2BR villa with private pool which eventually turned out to be a 2BR apartment and could only use the common pool. As the resort has limited facilities and is located far from town, we had pretty much nothing to do. The hotel provides transport to town at quite a high cost as that is one of their sources of revenue. If I didn't remember wrongly, one cannot take a local taxi from there as transport in the area has been monopolized by the hotel group. My Phuket trip would have been more enjoyable if we had put up at a more accessible resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AVC_Phuket, General Manager at Anantara Vacation Club Phuket Mai Khao, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Queenmomo

Good morning.

Apart from the couple of points you mention in your review I hope the rest of your stay was a pleasant one!

In regards to transport.

In Phuket (the entire island) there is no meter taxi service. The only taxi service available is "local taxi" which is an ungoverned, unregulated group of mostly unmarked cars where the price must be negotiated prior to the journey. We can and do assist with this negotiation process on our guests behalf to ensure the price is within the "market" threshold.

Rest assured that our hotel has no financial interest and does not receive any commissions from this taxi service. Yes, I agree there is a "monopoly" concening transport in Phuket, however not to the advantage of anyone but the actual drivers. For the sake of keeping our guests happy we are very much in favour of a highly competitive transport structure that will allow the natural market dynamics to dictate the price.

We do provide a hotel limousine service which is the only transport we recommend as we can guarantee the service and ensure all safety and insurance is in order.

Unfortuntely I cannot identify you from your Tripadvisor name, however I would very much like to investigate your booking detail in regards to the room type allocated. Please feel free to email me direct on lellis@anantaraclub.com and I will liaise with you directly.

Albeit you mention in the header of your review you are never coming back, I do hope you decide to venture back one day. As I mentioned earlier, i hope our team made the rest of your stay a relaxing one.

Kind Regards

Lyndon Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Vacation Club Phuket Mai Khao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Vacation Club Phuket Mai Khao

Address: 887 Moo 3, Thalang | Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Vacation Club Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Vacation Club Phuket Mai Khao 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anantara Vacation Club’s brand new signature resort in northwest Phuket offers a truly indulgent tropical escape, yet is only 15 minutes from Phuket International Airport and a short drive from the bustling beaches of the south. The resort’s luxurious choice of Apartment Suites and Pool Villas are designed with couples, families and friends in mind. All feature an incredibly generous living space, with sizes ranging from 94 sqm for a One Bedroom Apartment to over 250 sqm for a Two Bedroom Pool Villa. Each apartment and villa is equipped with a kitchen, large refrigerator, cook top and utensils, as well as a clothes washing machine and dryer, to create a convenient home away from home. Just a few minutes’ walk away are the tranquil sun kissed sands of Mai Khao – Phuket’s longest beach. While Sirinath National Park that fringes our resort is your gateway to an impressive natural playground of sea caves, mangroves, coral reefs and dazzling islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Anantara Vacation Club Phuket Mai Khao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Vacation Club Phuket Mai Khao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Vacation Club Phuket Mai Khao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.