We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious burgers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Box Restaurant and Bar

Sand Box Restaurant and Bar
555, Moo 3 | Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
66-76363999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 42 Restaurants in Mai Khao
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This Phuket beach restaurant offers light lunch service in the afternoons and transforms into a contemporary bar and barbeque each night.
prague
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Delicious burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This was my daily dope of proper burger (not to be on the thai food diet only :-)). cannot imagine the stay in Renaissance without having burgers there :-)

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    21
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrington Park Sydney
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This place is great for lunch, we have had lunch here a few times during our stay at the Reneissance and their pizza is great, they are pool side so we ordered a few times by the pool and it was always great!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, wish the chefs were my personal cooks! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed at the Renaissance for two and a half weeks at the beginning of April so ate at the Sandbox on almost a daily basis. The food is stunning!!! Our favs were the Renaissance pizza, the sliders and the club sandwich (which I wish I had discovered earlier!!!).

It's all open air overlooking the lead up to the beach so you can see the sea from most seats, as well as the infinity pool.

Prices are UK hotel prices so expect to pay £8-12 for a main meal. A bottle of local beer was £4.40. Cocktails £6.30 all prices are subject to tax & service charge.

We had great service almost everytime we visited, and happy hour between 4:30-5:30 pm is manic so get your order in at bang on 4:30 to make the most of it! There were a couple of occasions when food or service took longer than expected (45mins +) and trying to get attention for ordering after your first drinks can be a tad annoying BUT that's only because the staff are rushed off their feet. This is the only reason I have given the review a very good instead of excellent as quite a few times I was left waiting for longer than a reasonable amount of time which could have been spent enjoying the sea :) thanks to all of the staff, all extremely friendly and helpful!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The food is amazing, excellent grilled fish and brilliant burgers. Awesome! The staff were fantastic and friendly.seafood options were excellent too. Plus in a perfect location by the pool and beach!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The club sandwich was awesome. Didn't expect such a huge portion. Nice crispy fries to go along with it.
For dinner, I had a surf&turf, pretty decent also. Had a martini (extra dirty), surpringly good cocktail!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Box Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Mai Khao, Thalang District
Mai Khao, Thalang District
 
Mai Khao, Thalang District
 

Been to Sand Box Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Box Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.