We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Phuket Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott's Phuket Beach Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Phuket Beach Club
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   230 Moo 3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Out of the way but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night in a 2 bedroom villa with private pool at the end of a week long sailing holiday. I was a very nice resort, the villa was beautiful, and the staff were very helpful and friendly - a lovely welcome when we arrived.

Conveniently the villa had a washer and dryer - we had a lot of laundry after a week at sea. The resort had a lovely pool that was quite busy - would be potentially crowded in the high season. The restaurants were beautiful and the food was nice - breakfast buffet (included in our room rate) was excellent.

The prices in the resort restaurants and in the adjacent shops were a fair bit higher than other areas of Phuket - the price you pay for isolation. There is nothing much to do in Mai Khao in July - the beach is off limits due to the prevailing SW winds and rough surf. It was a convenient location for our last night in Phuket due to its proximity to the airport, but I wouldn't choose to stay for much longer due to the inflated prices and lack of things to see and do.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    149
    29
    9
    3
See reviews for
302
153
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

A family with 4 kids aged 5-16, we were looking for a place where to stay for a few days after a week in Club Med in Kata and booked a 2 bedroom suite with plunge pool at the Marriott Beach club.
We were very pleasantly surprised - the accommodation was big, modern and luxurious, exceptional value in our opinion. The breakfast buffet is varied and of good quality. The staff is nice and helpful. We joined in quite a few activities for kids and adults during the day, and enjoyed the facilities and the diner options at the hotel and the 'village' next door.
Highly recommended. Tip: get lunch and diner at Kin Dee on the other side of the main road (or order from your room, they deliver) - great food, cheap, lovely people and exotic jungle location

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Phuket Beach Club, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We are pleased to hear Marriott's Phuket Beach Club exceeded your expectations! Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we look forward to hosting your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Have visited several Marriott resorts on timeshares (ours & our cousins). For adults, this one tops our list (Myrtle Beach, SC would be our grandkids favorite). The ambiance here is fantastic. A thoroughly tropical atmosphere. The completely open-to-the-weather lobby area is a breathtaking site and yet it's great place to spend a tranquil afternoon reading or visiting. There are several very good restaurants on site (bring your wallet!), pools of course, activities, a beach and etc. The 2 BR accommodations match other Marriott standards and are comfortable, clean and a welcome retreat after a boat excursion or an elephant ride.

The weekly seafood buffet extravaganza located at the nearby Marriott Mai Khao Beach resort was an expensive disappointment. Too many flies buzzing around the outdoor buffet food, and the seafood wasn't impressively displayed or tasty. The one on-site cafe had more reasonable prices and we were always satisfied with our selections.

A very good alternative is the Coffee Club in the nearby "Turtle Market". We had very good food at much lower prices than the Marriott. Also, the grocery in the Turtle market is probably the best place to buy staple or do-it-yourself meals. We spent $40 on a taxi into town to a supermarket, and would have been better off to just buy everything at the Turtle Market.

Even tho the plane fare from Atlanta was steep, we're glad we went, and this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

As always, Marriott's Phuket Beach Club is such a wonderful place to escape to and get away from my stressful as well as mundane world. Ever since I'm a member, this is the third time I have my vacation here and so far, it has not failed to make me feel like a royal, almost. (Hope this will keep going at Marriott Phuket.) It seems everything we need will be attended to whenever requested. Being greeted so humbly whenever we meet any of the staff. Best of all are the facilities, landscape and atmosphere over there. My family and friends never forget their vacation there and want to go back to experience the pleasant environment again.

We usually stay at Patong first, for a couple of days for shopping and buying groceries at the supermarket. Then proceed to Marriott to cook at the nice kitchen in our resort. Next time, we'll give Patong a miss and go to Phuket Town instead where things are cheaper and people are friendlier. At Marriott, we enjoyed our drinks at the bar beside the reflection pool after our meals at the nearby food outlets at Turtle Village (food is good and price reasonable). During this recent trip, we discovered JJ's Bar which I have read all about in the tripadvisor review (right behind Marriot Mai Khao's carpark, not easy to locate but Marriot and Anantara staff are very willing to help to direct). Indeed the local Thai food was really good and affordable plus the owner was friendly and entertaining too. This recent trip was one of the best so far!

Room Tip: Ground level facing the sea is our favourite. Although we can't see the sea, we can walk a few m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Phuket Beach Club, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your five-star TripAdvisor review! At Marriott's Phuket Beach Club, you certainly are royalty and we are pleased you have enjoyed your visit. Our team hopes you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great accommodation at US$200/night for a well appointed 2 bed apartment but this is the loss leader because they charge like wounded bulls for everything they can. 880 Baht for a buffet breakfast and 800 baht to borrow 4 tennis rackets to play on their free court. They charge for the majority of kids club activities or the free video games are limited to one set of controllers. They had two sets but one set was broken. Six video screens but only one working. To get supplies for your self catering facilities they transport you free to their shops where prices are between 2 and 3 times the price in town or you can drink at Bill Benter's Pub or eat ice cream at Svensens which are both owned by them with the same mark up. Tesco Lotus is 20 minutes away and worth the 1,200 baht taxi trip to stock up so do it big time. If its raining, do take them up on their offer of 4,000 baht to listen to the sales patter to buy a re-invented loyalty/time share but when you realize the annual service fee equates to $200 per free night on offer you may question its worth. We enjoyed 5 breakfasts for our effort but said No thanks to the deal. I think it sad when the corporate machine assumes Joe Public to be so gullible.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our family has owned a Marriott Vacation Club timeshare for several years now. This is the seventh property we've had the pleasure to stay in and this is by far the best we've experienced. As noted in all of the reviews, the grounds, the staff, the rooms and the amenities are all amazing. This property is part of the JW Marriott so it is a very exclusive resort. The online photos don't do the resort justice. Every inch of the property is absolutely beautiful and perfectly maintained.

When we decided to visit Phuket, we requested both this property as well as the other Marriott close by. The Marriott Phuket Beach Club came available first. We visited the other Marriott property and were thrilled that we ended up at the Phuket Beach Club. It is a five star property, the other is maybe a three star resort. There is no beach access on the property and it is a more tired, less exclusive hotel.

The food at the Phuket Beach club was pretty good for hotel food. We are a family of five and eating at the hotel three meals a day for seven days can get expensive and boring. As noted in other reviews, Mai Khao is quite north on the island and is away from most restaurants. Turtle Village is walking distance (no need to hire a cab) and offers several restaurants for about half the price of the Marriott. Thai food is one of our favorite foods, but after a few days, we were in need of a burger. There is an English Pub named Bill Bentley's in Turtle Village. Stay away, it was not good at all. Our favorite restaurant in Turtle Village was the Coffee Club. The restaurant has a terrible name because it is not only a coffee house but a very nice, inexpensive restaurant. They serve sandwiches, great burgers as well as very good Thai food. The coffee is great as well. There was also a noodle restaurant in Turtle Village that was quite good and much less expensive than the Marriott.

In a lot of the reviews, people are disappointed that the Marriott property is far from Patong. We decided to take a trip to check it out. Our whole family agreed that Patong was a rat race and we all preferred Mai Khao.

The two major excursions we took while in Phuket were Phang Nga Bay and Phi Phi Island. There are many tour operators for each and prices vary significantly. We decided to go with the hotel's recommendations.

Phang Nga Bay: We went on John Gray's Sea Canoe. This was bar far the best day we had while in Thailand. We cannot say enough good things about this tour company. As for prices, it is likely on the higher end of the range, but you get what you pay for. John Gray Sea Canoes does the tour differently. It is an all day event beginning around 11:00 and ending around 8:00 pm. Both lunch and dinner are served on the boat. Believe it or not, the meals were the best meals we had while in Thailand. By leaving later in the day, the crowds were avoided and we had the area almost completely to ourselves. We got to eat dinner while the sun was setting and explored one of the caves in the dark. Very cool. The employees were top notch and really cared about the customers.

For Phi Phi Islands: we took another operator recommended by the hotel, Luxury Vacations. As noted in many other Trip Advisor reviews, Phi Phi Islands was a huge disappointment. Luxury Vacations was an OK tour operator but frankly, it is just way too busy for our taste. The islands are even more beautiful than Phang Nga Bay but the crowds completely ruined the experience for us. We felt like cattle being herded around from island to island. We loved Monkey Island for obvious reasons. Beware that the monkeys bite. The tour operators don't really warn of this and it is a big deal if you get bit. We wish we had gone to Phang Nga Bay a second time and skipped the trip to Phi Phi.

Thai Cooking Class: My daughter and I signed up for a class at the hotel. What a great experience. I am an avid cook and was thrilled to find that we were the only students in the class. The chef was a great teacher and we had him all to ourselves to ask questions and get tips.

Driving: We spent a lot of time debating whether or not to rent a car. In the end, we decided to take taxis and avoid the added stress of driving on the left side of the road and avoiding all of the scooters. Taxis were easy to obtain at the hotel and all were great and relatively inexpensive to use. If taking a day trip, you can hire a driver for the day. We found this a very nice option and it probably wasn't much more expensive than renting a car and purchasing insurance.

Groceries: We like to have breakfast in our room. We also have three teenagers so having snacks on hand is also a huge convenience. On the way from the airport, we arranged with our driver in advance to take us to the grocery store. There is a Louts Tesco on the way from the airport. The place is a real trip and a bit overwhelming (you'll see why when you get there!) but you can pick up what you need before arriving at the Marriott at very reasonable prices. There is also a small market at Turtle Village but it is the most over priced market we've ever been to. We purchased a stick of butter and an onion for $13.

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Phuket Beach Club, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your five-star TripAdvisor review, Jackie! We are thrilled to read Marriott's Phuket Beach Club is the best Marriott resort you have visited! Our team appreciates your kind words and we look forward to hosting your family again in Thailand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I bought into the time share scheme (although Marriott does not call it a time-share) back in 2007. I visited the resort about every other year. This is a very nice resort and has kept up the Marriott standard. My timeshare ownership entitled me to a 7 night stay at the resort once a year. However I usually won't be able to stay for 7 nights due to my schedule. The beach is beautiful, but you won't be able to swim in it most of the time as the wave and current is very strong. The decent is also very steep. However, there are a couple of very nice pools within the property. The resort is very far away from the Phuket town centre so this is one thing you need to consider if you plan visit the resort. By and large you will be stay most of the time within the resort. The suite is very nice and well keep.
I visited the resort a couple of times before I bought into the timeshare scheme. What a big mistake. For a two bedroom suite resort (7 nights entitlement), you have to pay around a thousand USD a year for maintenance. This, they won't tell you in their sales pitch. This is in addition to the initial fees that you have to pay. One can rent such a property from Interval International or other agents specialising in resort rental for probably less and you have a choice of properties world wide, without having to pay the initial fee. I sold my timeshare slot last year at around 1/3 of what I paid for. My advise is that if you are considering the purchase, think carefully whether you can use the annual maintenance fee for better deals.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Phuket Beach Club, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review of Marriott's Phuket Beach Club! While we are pleased you have enjoyed your visits to the resort, our team apologizes the vacation club experience did not work out for you. We do provide options for owners who do not visit the resort every year to exchange their week for Marriott Reward Points or rent their week for a profit. Maintenance fees are disclosed in the initial sales presentation and are included in the signed paperwork that is completed during the sale. We hope you will have a chance to visit us again and thank you for providing us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Phuket Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Phuket Beach Club

Address: 230 Moo 3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott's Phuket Beach Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Phuket Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Phuket Beach Club Hotel Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket Beach Hotel
Marriott Mai Khao
Phuket Marriott
Marriott's Phuket Beach Club Mai Khao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Phuket Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.