We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Awesome Thank You” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Phuket Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Phuket Beach Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Phuket Beach Club
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   230 Moo 3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
4.5 of 5 stars 627 Reviews
Orange, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely Awesome Thank You”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We, family of 4, have just returned from 7 nights at Marriot Beach Club Phuket. This place is fantastic.We had a 2 Bedroom, 2 bathroom unit booked through Interval. The unit was very large and comfortable, fully equipped kitchen, 3 flat screen tv`s not that you will have time to watch them. We were in the North wing about 40 metres from the pool and 70 to the beach. 3 large and luxurious pools throughout the resort with staff to look after you with towels and drinks even borrow a book if you like.
My wife and 1 daughter have specific dietry requirements that we notified the resort of prior to our arrival. The first morning we spoke with staff of the exact requirements and they could not be more helpful. They advised us that they would notify every restaurant on site of our specific requirements which they did. Unbelievable.
Resaurants - did not have time to go to all. Breakfast buffet was terrific, Siam deli for breaky lunch or dinner if you in a hurry, Thai restaurant great value and even better food, Steak and seafood restaurant a little pricey in comparison to other on sight places. We arranged a private dinner in our unit on the last night catered and cooked by a personal chef. Seafood BBQ with salad, bread, beer & wine a great way to relax and look back on the week.
We arranged all tours through the activities desk and airport transfers again faultless. Knowledgable staff that could answer all our questions and advise what was the better option to suit our requirements.
This place has it all. I would put this place on the very short list if you are visiting Phuket.
We hope to return very very soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    157
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
319
160
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Marriott Vacation Club Phuket, and enjoyed every minute of it. We enjoyed a 2-bedroom apartment, with a great view on the swimming pool and ocean. Apartments come with a fully fitted kitchen, dining-living room area, wash machine and dryer, TV/DVD in each room and even a sizable terrace where you can enjoy a quiet meal. Hotel offers many activities (including Thai Boxing, Yoga, biking... on top of the usual resort activities). Staff is well trained, very friendly and welcoming. Location of the property in on the Northern side of Phuket, in a quiet area, away from the crowds and city activities. Perfect for couples and families with young kids who want to enjoy a truly relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, Ilhas, Macau
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

worth to visit Phuket and stay at Marriott Phuket beach club. The 2 bedroom villa is huge which can accommodate more than 6 persons. They have south wing and north wing and I personally prefer to stay at North which i think it is a little bit away from the crowd. This year I stayed for 2 weeks and I did find time flies. My whole family wished to stay a little bit longer. staff are so friendly there especially the security guard at the hotel main entrance. there are also many restaurants there for us to choose. they are all priced reasonably. some may find the prices are cheap.

Room Tip: stay 2nd or 3rd floor of the villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We became owners of Marriott's Phuket Beach Club in 2003, then again in 2004, then again in 2006!!! There wasn't much around the property at that time, we loved that aspect of it! We figured one week wasn't enough, so we bought 2 than the third.

Times have changed and there are now quite a few properties in Mai Khao. Each year we return, it's quite interesting to see how the area had grown.

The reason I haven't written a review of this property, is a selfish one. I didn't want others to discover our home away from home. Of course now I realize that's impossible, as it has jumped to number 1 on Trip advisors rating of hotels in the area.

Granted, MPBC is far from Patong, and the action you will find there. That's what we like about it. We always rent a car while staying here. We like to go grocery shopping, take trips around the island, go shopping in Patong, visit Rawai and Nai Yang for seafood, drive to Kin Dee for dinner, etc.

This year, there is a closer TESCO, only 20 minutes or so, which makes us happy, as we usually eat breakfast and lunch in our apartment.

MPBC is the best resort in the Marriott group. The Thai people, the culture, the cleanliness, the attention to detail is noted throughout the resort. The apartments were remodeled last year with flat screen tv's, ipod docking stations, new drapes/linens, etc. Lovely designs and very fresh looking.

The three pools all have a different design and feel. You can take your pick as to what pool suits your mood and personality.

Families will love this resort, there is an amazing kids club, wonderful workout room, many restaurants and my favorite bar, the Blue Bar, where parents relax on loungers after dark, enjoying their cocktails, and the children watch movies and eat popcorn!

The apartments are large, with 2 good sized bedrooms and bathrooms, a nice sized balcony with a table and 4 chairs, a decent kitchen to prepare your meals, a living/dining area with 6 chairs at the dining table, and very important, a washer/dryer, so you don't have to pack many clothes!

This year there are two baby elephants that come and visit the pool areas twice a day, around 11am and 4pm. Yaya, our favorite, is 23 months old and a real delight. She is a big hit with kids and adults alike.

I know Phuket is VERY far from California, however, we find ourselves returning year after year, because this truly is our "home away from home".

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We have been MVAP clients for 5 years and visited this resort over 10 times in that period. We have frequently taken family, friends and visitors with us on trips here. Generally speaking we love the resort. Apartments are amazing. Huge. Very clean. A great base and feels more like a 'home from home' than a hotel. Our daughter loves the kids club. There is a lady who works there called Popcorn who is so sweet and kind to the children and does all sorts of activities with them like making wind chimes and tissue art. The pool and recreation staff are also really lovely. I think their Manager is called Ge, but he really listens to what sort of activities you want to see so they have water aerobics, bike tours, pool volley and water polo to name a few. My main criticism is that this trip we found the resort at capacity and standards slipped. Check in took a long time, and the concierge was busy every time I went to discuss a boat trip. There was no latitude on a later check out ( of which we have always been accommodated in the past ) and despite being asssured that airport transfers were free 2 charges of THB 1500 for this found their way onto my bill. I guess as we have always experienced amazing se

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed here for business in 2010 and knew I had to come back with the family. So my wife and I and our 7 month and 3 year old spent 12 nights here in August 2012.

This is my favourite hotel for a number of reasons, but a couple of stand-outs:

1) Resort and room design. The design of the rooms and entire resort is exceptional. It's a obvious a great deal of though has gone into it. In addition beach club attendees do not suffer from a downgraded room (the beach club rooms are slightly further from the centre of the resort but have the same quality fitting, meaning a large family apartment at the same rate as a small hotel room).

2) Service. Take the wonderful Thai culture, their friendliness, gentleness and respectfulness and add excellent hospitality training and you get one of the best service experiences anywhere. The service experience was simply perfect for the bulk of the trip. Unfortunately I must deduct one star due to the check-out experience. On both occasions I have checked out I found the front desk staff in stark contrast to all other staff on the resort. They do not come across as friendly, more awkward and disinterested. A real spoiler of a finish that prevented me from walking feeling like I'd just had one of the best holiday experiences, or perhaps questioning the genuineness of the hotel.

3) Buffets. The various buffets are also a real highlight of this hotel, whether it's the breakfast buffet, or for dinner, Thai or International buffets.

4) Location. It doesn't get much better than this. Well, it does, but you just won't get the food and the service in north Queensland or Fiji!

5) Value. I've rated this very high since we booked well in advance in low season. Regular prices are still relatively good compared to full pricing of other resorts around the world.

There's too much to say that's good about this hotel, so instead a couple of criticisms:

1) Massage. You have a choice of the very cheap ($US12 p/h) beach hut massage or the overly expensive spa treatment. Unfortunately neither is very good quality. We get far better Thai massage almost anywhere in our home town for less than the Spa, but anywhere else in Phuket is better too. I found it was not worth my while to even pay for the beach hut massage even though it was dirt cheap since the massage was unsatisfying, the masseurs were more focused on their own chat and did not seem to have any training in the their own tradition.

2) Check-out experience. As mentioned above. I would also give the overall rating 5 stars if this were improved.

3) Taxis. The Mai Kao area seems to be under the influence of a cartel, so be prepared to pay 'tourist' prices to get in and out of the area, which you will want to do once or twice. At least the pricing is consistent and every operator will show you the same price card. Taxi drivers are friendly and helpful though and will wait up to 3 hours wherever you go for a slightly discounted return journey.

Room Tip: Families check the the 'Marriot Phuket Beach Club' not the 'JW Marriot Phuket'. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I spent a week at Marriott's Mai Khao Beach resort. The rooms are huge and luxurious. We used the kitchen facilities for our breakfasts, lunches and most dinners, because the restaurants onsite and nearby are quite expensive compared with typical Thai restuarants.
Although the kitchen utensils and crockery are mostly fine, the frying pans were buckled so did not sit properly on the stove-top. The bathroom is enormous, with both a shower and a large bath, but the shower grouting has mold so needs a bit more maintenance. The fridge was disappointing as it did not keep things as cold as we like. Maybe for cosmetic reasons there is an extra door outside the fridge, but we found this a nuisance. The cupboard doors above the stove are poorly designed, and are awkward to open. Nevertheless, the rooms are spacious and the furniture very comfortable. There are multiple flat-screen TVs as well as a DVD player, and the outdoor deck was great to relax in.
The swimming pools are nice, but it's a good 10 minute walk to the beach, and the beach itself was very disappointing. I live by a good surfing beach in Australia, and Mai Khao beach was quite inferior to what I expected. It was closed to swimming (rough weather, and also jellyfish). Also it rained almost every day, sometimes quite heavily. I found out later that August is in the middle of the rainy season, and that the best time to come is in the dry season (e.g. December, January, February).
One especially good thing about the resort is that wifi was free and the speed was good.
Adjacent to the resort is Turtle Village, which includes a minimarket, some restaurants, and some up-market stores for expensive goods. However, the region is quite isolated and you would need transport to go anywhere else, apart from a free shuttle to J W Marriott just down the road.
The resort is good place to relax. However, we found that there was very little for us to do there, since it is in an isolated region. We would have found it very boring to stay there the whole week without doing tours.
Fortunately we contacted Mr Kung (a local driver) before we arrived, and he made all the difference. He picked us up at the Phuket airport and called in to a supermarket so we could buy food and drinks etc at really cheap prices. We also hired him for a full day tour around Phang Nga and another full day tour around Phuket island and those days were the highlight of our stay. He speaks good English, is a very safe and considerate driver, and went out of his way to make our trip as enjoyable as possible. Before our second tour with him, my camera battery went flat, but he found a store where we could buy a universal battery charger and he arranged for our battery to be charged while he took us to some local sites (pearl outlet etc), then with our battery charged we were able to take plenty of photos for the rest of the tour. He took us to a number of temples and other interesting sites which we found fascinating, and we did an Elephant trek etc.. Mr Kung also took some very nice photos of my wife and me, and seems to have a real talent for photography. His charges were also cheaper than costs of other tours that we considered. I highly recommend Mr Kung, and we will certainly contact him again if we come back to Phuket. His phone number is +66 81 676 8747, his e-mail is anuwit3787@hotmail.com, and his website is www.drivers-phuket.com.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Phuket Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Phuket Beach Club

Address: 230 Moo 3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott's Phuket Beach Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Phuket Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Phuket Beach Club Hotel Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket Beach Hotel
Marriott Mai Khao
Phuket Marriott
Marriott's Phuket Beach Club Mai Khao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Phuket Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.