We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Phuket Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Phuket Beach Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Phuket Beach Club
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   230 Moo 3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice apartments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed at the Marriot Beach Vacation club in the month of April2012.. The apartments were very well furnished and well maintained too. We were given an apartment on the second floor and would have ideally preferred one on the ground floor though this did not cause any inconvenience.
We could call for a buggy which would come very promptly to take us to any part of the resort and this was very convenient.
They have a very good Deli in the resort and my son enjoyed the food there. Also, nearby is Turtle village which has a couple of eating places for a nice change and very economically priced.
Now for the negatives, it took us ages to check in almost more than an hour !The staff attending to us kept us waiting and just disappeared without a word for almost half an hour. We noticed that even other guests took a long time to just check in. This can be rather irritating after a trip when all you are interested in is to get to your room and start your vacation.
This Mai Khao beach resort does not offer any water sports and is rather faraway from town center .
On this trip we were just looking forward to relax so did not miss the excitement of being where the action is.
All in all a good place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    167
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
344
172
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is clean with excellent staff service and has huge and beautiful gardens all over the place. Looks like a mini forest when you walk around. swimming pool is huge overlooking the beach. However dont expect to have the chance to swim in the beach because of the big tides. I was there on july, dont know if its ok on other days of the year. However at the same time other beaches far away from the hotel were safe to swim; maybe becuz the marriott's beach overlooks the ocean. Rooms are of usual marriott decoration and style, abit outdated and not modern but well maintained. The hotel is 45 minutes away by car from phuket's most popular city (patong), so it is not convenient if you are looking to visit patong frequently. It is more of a resort in an isolated place to relax . Absolutely recommended for families, kids would love the pool.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

On this second visit, we were able to do more activities. Discovering cycling around the resort area was really fun. This time around I had a better experience, as unlike the first I politely said no to their marriott vacation club sales pitch. Instead I dropped into the Anantara vacation club and took a free massage. I'm not for vacation clubs, but if you are, I'd skip marriott and give Anantara a try - they seemed much more reasonable and flexible. Also I was told they actually own the property that JW is on. Food was great especially at Kabuki. The restaurant at the Turtle village was also good. Will visit again. The spa - still very good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

First I would say the rooms are big. We booked a 2 bedroom villa. The villa could accommodate up to 6 persons. Thus, we invited two friends to stay with us also.

Service is slow. We reached the resort in the late evening and we need to wait for the 20 mins for the buggy service.

Breakfast is good but I think it is expensive. You could go to the Turtle Village for breakfast. There are some nice cafes in the Turtle village. It is located within 1km walking distance from the hotel.

I have stayed in many Marriott Group hotels and I will rank this resort "the lousiest" among Marriott Group hotel. The front office staff are very cold and unhelpful. The check in time is 4pm and the check out time is 10a.m. We requested for late check up because 10a.m. is too early especially when you are traveling with kid. I would not check in this resort if I know the check out time is 10a.m. They do not allow late check out even though you are the platinum/gold Marriott members! They reply/rejection for late check up is standard and monotonous!

You pay for the nice view there, minus the service. Not much service so to speak in Marriott's Phuket Beach Club.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We went here for spring break and had a really nice time. We have stayed in a lot of Marriott vacation clubs, and we tend to like them quite a bit. This one has a great pool area for the kids, with a slide and turtles to climb on. We spent every day of our five days at the pool. The rooms were enormous, two bedroom and two bath, and the beds were comfortable. We had three adults and two children and there was plenty of space. We ran into six other families we knew at this resort, so it was crazy fun. One of our friends actually fit three adults and four children in this room (with two rollaways).

The buffet in the morning was nice. Room service was great, there was even pizza that the kids liked, which is hard to find in Asia. We also ate in the Japanese restaurant and the food was fantastic. The kids club was easy and convenient and the kids enjoyed it. We have a four and six year old.

I do have a few criticisms. One, the kids pool has deep and shallow pockets and it is not completely obvious where it dips down, so my four year old, who couldn't swim well, got into trouble a few times when the depth slipped down suddenly and was over her head. You have to keep a really close eye on little ones. Two, one day we went after lunch and couldn't find a lounger by the kids pool so we had to sit on the ground. One didn't open up for hours. Three, we didn't see much of Thailand, and this resort is not very convenient for seeing the local spots. It could have been on a beach anywhere, didn't feel very Thai to me. Four, we went to the sales presentation to get a cheap rate. It was fine, and the guy easily let us go, but four of my other friends also went and one of them was really upset by the amount of badgering and strong arm tactics used by their sales person. I saw her again a few nights ago and she was still complaining about it to anyone who would listen a month later, so it must have been pretty bad. Five, the beach has really strong waves unsuitable for little kids.

Overall, it was really nice, fun for the kids and easy for the parents to relax. The grounds are really beautiful, but it can be quite a schep to and from your room to the main areas of the hotel. If you are coming for a unique Thai experience I don't think you find that here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the beach. Ours was hidden quite far and it involved a lot of schlepping t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This was an absolutely gorgeous resort, I wouldn't mind my house being decorated in the decor of the main lobby. The staff was great, friendly, polite and helpful. Rooms and amenities were clean and comfortable.

My only complaint was that overall the food was very expensive on the resort, and it was a very expensive cab ride to a food store, that it just wasn't worth it. Having a full kitchen and not really being able to use it was disappointing.

Room Tip: I'd go with a hotel room over a villa for this location, you won't be using your kitchen so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokosuka, Japan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Checked in 02:00 AM, and was met with INCREDIBLE service. Been here for two days now, and have decided to quit my job, give up my friend, and move in!! We were assigned to a 2-bedroom 2-bathroom condominium with every amenity possible - even a washer and drier!! Beautifully landscaped, wonderful pools (one with a sit-in-the-water bar), excellent restaurants, small shops. We want for nothing. The lanai looks over a wooded common ground with a stream that runs through it.

On the down side - always a downside - the resort is removed from everything else available on Phuket, so we found a rental car to be required. Don't misunderstand, we could stay here every day and go NO WHERE ELSE, but we prefer to get out and about. We also don't like the haggling with taxi and tuk tuk drivers, and parking is VERY easy to find, even down in Patong and Puket Town.

In short, a home away from home... even complimentary wired and wireless high-speed internet service!!

I've come to Phuket almost 30 times, and stayed in about as many hotels, but this is the hotel I will use from here on out!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Phuket Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Phuket Beach Club

Address: 230 Moo 3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott's Phuket Beach Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's Phuket Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Phuket Beach Club Hotel Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket Beach Hotel
Marriott Mai Khao
Phuket Marriott
Marriott's Phuket Beach Club Mai Khao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Phuket Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.