We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best hotel I've stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Moo3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110 , Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Probably the best hotel I've stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Ok, so the reader will see I'm fairly well travelled, more than 70 tripadvisor hotel reviews, IHG Platinum, and the room upgrade was nice to have, but the hotel is probably the best I've stayed in in terms of location, facilities, value for money and the friendliness of the staff. There's enough TA reviews to tell the reader about the basics ... lots of Russian families, do eat at Mama's restaurant outside the hotel for dinner, breakfast buffet is enormous with, for example, 3 kinds of papaya fruit ... THREE KINDS ! Close to airport, beach is great, people are fantastic. The room was majestic, decorated in real style with little treats on the bed each evening as part of the turndown service. But while the facilities can add to the impression one gets of an hotel, it's the people that make it and this is service with a smile.

My advice to guests staying more than a couple of days would be to rent a car and go further afield than just this resort hotel which is isolated. Mai Yang beach on the other side of the airport is only 20 minutes drive and we spent several of our days there, or drive inland into the forests. Car rental is cheap and the driving is relaxed and easy, though maps are ... er ... approximate would be a good way to describe them, a bit like the rest of Thailand.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Alan S,
It was very nice to get your open and honest review especially after seeing all of your travels. On behalf of the team, thank you. We are more than happy to meet all of the benefits you deserve and glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs, as an IHG Rewards Platinium Member. We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    158
    37
    10
    4
See reviews for
204
133
25
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Good location close to Phuket airport as the hotel is only 15min driwe away. Hotel is located on a beautiful sandy beach far away from all the noise and services.

Rooms are spacious and well equipped/maintained. All necessary services on premises. A big plus for shuttle service to Patong three times per day.

The majority of hotel guests seemed to be families, mainly from Europe and especially from Russia.

This is a great place for a couple nights stay, either to start or finish your vacation in Phuket

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Jan-Erik L,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you appreciate our efforts. Mai Khao is indeed the perfect location to relax and admire nature’s beauty. Your positive comments will be a high motivation for our team members to maintain a great service. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I would like to take this opportunity to say what an amazing holiday we had. The staff at the resort were friendly and always obliging. They were diligent, efficient and conscientious from the moment we arrived to the day we left. The pool access room was fabulous and always clean. Breakfast buffet had variety. Before we booked to stay at this resort we read the reviews on TripAdvisor and saw many complaints about the flies, hard beds, lack of restaurants and how far it was from Phuket Marina or Patong Beach. I have to set the record straight. Yes, there were a few annoying flies at breakfast but only if you sat outside. Coming from Australia it wasn't really an issue. Beds were fine my daughter slept on a rollout for 9 nights and never once complained. Beds were huge and comfortable. We organised three days of various activities and found it easy to get to Phuket Marina or shopping by hopping on the shuttle bus. It took us straight from the resort to our destination quickly and comfortably. I didn't mind a 30-40 minute drive it was all part of the experience. The fact that the resort was further away from other popular beaches made the holiday relaxing and enjoyable. After visiting Patong Beach for a day I was very happy we had chosen to stay at this resort. I can't imagine spending 10 days in a crowded, busy and seedy location. Our long stretch of white sandy beach was heaven, beautiful one day and perfect the next. The best place we found to eat, great value for money and tasty was the seaside cottage restaurant just a 2 minute walk along the beach. The stuffed chicken was to die for. I wanted to put to rest some of the negative comments made about this resort. To reiterate we had a wonderful experience and I would definately stay there again and again and again...

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Mitzipoulos,
Thank you very much for your nice comments on our resort and staff. And thank you for setting the record straight. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the facilities, location, food and shuttle service we provide. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon and will do everything it takes to exceed your expectations again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlise
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My partner and I spent 4 days over new year at this most amazing resort by the beach. I stay in many hotels being Platinum and IHG and Platinum with Marriot and the room / bathroom combination was one of the best I have stayed in. Various food choices all excellent, an infinity pool and bar overlooking the beach (which was endless) made our stay memorable and enjoyable. The staff in all areas of the hotel were happy, smiling and eager to assist in many different languages
Highly recommend and will be going back :)

Room Tip: Stay on the ground floor and just walk out of patio doors onto pool or grass area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear HarleyBoyCarlise,
A very warm and sincere thank you for your review and thank you for your continued and valuable support, as an IHG Rewards Platinum Member.
We were delighted to meet your expectations and receive your positive comments on our resort and team members. We are looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to try a new resort and was glad this was available for the busy time of Christmas. We were met with some discrepancy in our booking online and the info they had at the check -in. It took us more than 1 hour to sort out the rooms for our 15 people group so we all waited in the lobby, children and elderly altogether. They tried their best to accommodate our huge party, but the staff were not experienced to problem shoot.
We booked the rooms that opened up to a wading pool, but other than that, the room was quite plain yet clean. Only 2 restaurants to choose from, for all our meals so we had to be a bit creative on how to make our meals interesting. A number of facilities were pleasant to find: ping pong table, badminton net, outdoor movie night was a first for us (nice surprise). Small fitness room, no exercise classes to find.
Small resort so the beach is just a short walk down, to a very nice and quiet beach. Good sand and nice lounging area with shade where necessary.
The Spa was small but basic and pleasant. Not expensive and was the best thing about this resort. The therapists were helpful and accomodating, and were good at what they do.
This is the BEST thing about the Resort.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear ladygargar,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I visited Phuket for one week over Christmas and chose Holiday Inn because of its location on Mai Khao beach and the attractive price when compared to other hotels on the beach.

Holiday Inn is located at the end of Mai Khao closest to the airport so it is quite far (if walking) to the other hotels such as Amari & Marriott.

The Goods:
- The car that picked us up from the airport was extremely clean, driver was friendly. Check-in was smooth and quick, which was great since we arrived around midnight and was exhausted from travelling.
- Room was very spacious and clean with lots of drawers, closet and counter space. Toilet and the rest of the bathroom was separated which was a bit strange. Shower was HUGE.

The Bads:
- Food was extremely greasy at both JJ's and Pesto. Every morning, my eggs were cooked in a large pool of oil, even when I asked for less oil. Pizza and pasta at Pesto were also very greasy, we had to lift our pizzas and let the oil drip off before we could eat it.
If you're looking for food around the hotel, we strongly recommend leaving the hotel and walking just 5 minutes outside. There is a strip of restaurants just outside the hotel gates and they were all reasonably priced and had excellent food.

- We had a few packs of snacks with us and one of the packages must not have been sealed very well because shortly after placing it on the desk, there was a huge queue of ants that travelled half way across the room to the package. We called housekeeping to have someone look at this issue and there was no response after 30 minutes. We called again and by the time someone came to look at the issue, the ants were well fed and most had returned back to whatever hole it came out of. The housekeeper then proceeded to drench the entire hotel room with bug spray without letting us know, while were were present in the room. We had to vacate to our balcony for the next half hour while the fumes diluted inside the room.

- on the map that the hotel provided us, there was a spot labeled "local seafood". We asked the concierge to help us get a cab and direct it to this location. We were then asked whether we wanted to go to "Thang Long". Of course, we had no idea because we just saw this recommended on the map and thought it would be a good place to try. As we were in the taxi driving to our destination, it became increasingly clear to me that the taxi was not going to where we had asked for AT ALL. Instead of the "local seafood restaurants" on the map, the concierge had directed the taxi to a seafood restaurant that was just outside of Phuket. The dinner was fine, but the experience made us feel incredibly unsafe as we are nowhere near where we were expecting to be. Additionally, the location was farther, so we expect we paid more in taxi fare as well.

- There was a singer that sang every night from around 6pm to 11pm. She was awful. Our room was located at the corner that was closest and facing where they were singing and we could not escape these terrible performances on a nightly basis.


To sum it up, we had a lovely time in Phuket. We saw loads of families at the hotel and believe that it was very family friendly. It's a real shame that the restaurants were awful and the staff were not very helpful despite being warm and welcoming. At the end, we wish that we had splurged a little more to stay at one of the other hotels on Mai Khao beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear maumak,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I am delighted to hear that our rooms exceeded your expectations and efficient check-in process. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us and if your stay was negatively affected by our restaurant service. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Overall our stay was okay, but as other reviewers have said it is really a resort to park yourself and not go anywhere as it is far from everything and very cost prohibitive to get anywhere by taxi, so unless you have a hire car you are sort of stuck there. It depends on what you are looking for in your holiday, we just weren't expecting the really high taxis and transfer rates.

The biggest let down at the resort was the food quality and service. Granted it probably is their busiest time of the year, but in general the food and service was poor. The buffet's were of average quality, especially their night time ones. The seafood night buffet at 1099 plus plus, was a let down as the variety and quality of the seafood wasn't good, not what you would expect from a resort such as this in Thailand, and given the number of people staying at the resort at the time, they could afford to put on a good buffet, where as it more looked liked they were trying to save money.

The service from the staff was average, I think perhaps they were understaffed given the number of guests, they tried but it wasn't anywhere good enough. Also the resort didn't seemed to have planned their dinning well, with moderate ques of people waiting for seating at breakfast on most days.

Finally our friends had a very negative experience with their room, having bugs of some sort biting them during the night. The reception staff were unwilling to acknowledge that there was a problem and my friends had to ask them to change the sheets and mattress 3 times. It was obvious that it was bugs in the room (weither they were " bed bugs" or not) as they were eaten 2 nights in a row, went to bed with no bites and woke up with many. The resort told them that they couldn't possibly be getting bitten in the night and that they must be bites from the ocean.

!A basic hospitality rule that the Holiday In failed miserably in, if a guest makes a reasonable request just do it, and don't belittle them, and say they are wrong and dismiss their issues. !

We won't return to the resort anytime soon, given the rates you pay for the rooms, the service and food quality.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Craig N,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Address: 81 Moo3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110 , Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in paradise - and feel right at home! Stroll across white sands. Relax amidst the beauty of Phuket. Enjoy a romantic dinner for two. Discover an out-of-this-world array of family and kids' activities. Holiday your way in one of the island's most welcoming getaways - Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Mai Khao Beach. You can enjoy a perfect location right on Mai Khao Beach, the island's longest stretch of sand. Mai Khao offers up 10 kilometres of tranquil, crowd-free beach with spectacular sunsets from Phuket's west coast. Within our family-friendly resort, lounge in beautifully landscaped gardens. Float along the length of our large infinity swimming pool, or splash the morning away in the kid's pool. From Tea Tree spa indulgences to Thai boxing, from cooking classes to bike rides glimpsing beautiful ponds and Buddhist temples, you will find something to excite your interests. Meanwhile, children enjoy an absolutely amazing Kid's Club with an indoor ball pit, outdoor playground and dozens of fun programmes held morning to night. Rooms and suites offer up the ultimate comforts and a variety of options. Want direct pool access from your terrace so you can step into the calm waters right from your room? How about getting a "wow" from your kids when they see their very own bunk beds, bean bags and video games in a Kid's or Family Suite? Offering excellent value for all guests, our resort makes family stays extra affordable with our "Kids Stay and Eat Free" programme. Children under 12 years old dine for free, while all guests below 18 years old sleep for free when staying in their parents' room in an existing bed. We are located a 15-minute drive from Phuket International Airport. And with a shuttle bus service running three times a day to Phuket Central Shopping Centre and Patong Beach, you have got easy access to discover the rest of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.