We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow,wow,wow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138/21 Moo 4, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wow,wow,wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Was only for short time here,but we were happy and surprised.We did not pay big money but we got a so nice care,rooms,service...everything was simply over any our expectations.If we only can stay longer.Simply a dream.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Alena O,

We appreciate your time in writing down this review and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable commendations . It is with great pleasure and pride for all of us at the resort that we exceeded your expectations during this sunny sojourn of yours. We thank you for your kind words of appreciation during your stay with us.

Thank you once again and delighted that for you had a memorable experience and we look forward to welcome you again.

Sincerely,
David Coyle
General Manager
Maikhao Dream Villa Resort & Spa, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    29
    9
    2
    6
See reviews for
50
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Maikhao Dream Villa. We stayed in the two bedroom villa which afforded an enormous amount of space with beautiful surrounds and appointments. The staff were very attentive from pick up at the airport till departure. The restaurant was nice, and as we were enjoying relaxing so much, we were pleased to stay close by for meals anyway. The private pool was great, but we still felt a sense of privacy within the ground of the small resort. The spa services were also fantastic and i felt reasonably priced as far as spa resorts go. If you are after a holiday where you can totally relax and unwind - this is the place to go! I am greatly looking forward to my next stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room on the beach has a nice outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear chickenshoes,

Thank you for choosing Maikhao Dream Villa Resort & Spa during your most recent visit to Phuket. We sincerely appreciate you for taking valuable time to share your comments with us.

We are delighted to note your compliments on your overall experience with the resort. Our villas are indeed popular for the spacious interiors and direct entry to the golden shores just outside your door. Your gracious appreciations will help us strive further to excellence in our aim to continuously improve our services.

We look forward to welcoming you again should your travels bring you back to the island.

Sincerely,
David Coyle
General Manager
Maikhao Dream Villa Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We travelled In a group of six and stayed in a three bedroom villa. It was huge and spacious. There aren't many residents so we can be really noisy at night and not disturbing the neighbors. The private pool is wonderful. There are two living rooms and kitchens but the bad point is kitchenware is not provided so even we were given a very nice kitchen we weren't be able to cook even some simple instant noodles.
The resort is really far from the city centre (almost 45-60min car ride to patong neach) that it's a must to rent a car. There aren't any restaurants or shops nearby too.
The beach behind the resort is really close but it's too rough to swim. There is a large common pool in the hotel for you to swim if the private pool is too small for you.
So overall it was a pleasant stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear OY C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your experience and for choosing to spend your vacation at the Villa. In behalf of the Dream Team, I am pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
David Coyle
General Manager
Maikhao Dream Villa Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I spent a quick 4D3N trip here with my sister in May 2014. IF your aim is to spend time away from the loud city, some quiet peaceful time, this is the place to be. It is secluded, quiet and serene. There was even a point of time where there were barely 5 people on the beach.
The food is a little pricey, so is the spa services, but you can easily get these at the small village/market nearby (10mins away with free shuttle from the hotel).

All in all, I had the perfect time de-stressing here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear ShaOmar,

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your feedback.

May your future travels bring you back to the island.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the Villa.

Sincerely,
David Coyle
General Manager
Maikhao Dream Villa Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at the Maikhao Dream Resort Phuket and had a nice relaxing time. Got upgraded to a two bedroom beach front villa which was stunning and huge for three people. The villa was elegantly furnished. A well equipped kitchen for those who wanted to cook. The sala and pool area was very nice that’s where we spent most of our time.

Breakfast was nice but not outstanding. We had dinner at the resort one night and the food was tasty and enjoyable. There was only one restaurant at the resort so we went out to different restaurants to try - two buffet dinners at the nearby JW Marriott hotel which was good value and one night at the sister resort Natai but was average.

The service overall was excellent. Staff were warm, friendly and attentive like most Thai resorts. We checked out their sister resort Natai but felt the Phuket one was much nicer.

Two of us had the special spa deal - 2 hours of massage & body scrub which was nice and good value.

One big problem for us was the beach which was extremely rough. Tried to go to the beach twice but both times only lasted 5 minutes because the surf was so strong and kept knocking us over. This explained why life jackets were kept in side cupboard in each villa. Saw some hotel guests actually put on the life jackets just to get in to the water. This could not be fun!

If your priority is to swim in the sea, sit and relax or build sand castles on the beach, play in the sea water or go kayaking then perhaps Maikhao is not the right resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

To all TripAdvisor followers. Let me help you out here:

Please note:
You need to rent a car if you want to see Phuket and not just stay at the hotel, which is true I think for any hotel in Phuket unless you enjoy to stay only in crowded Patong and see nothing else of the island.

Pros:

1. Villa is amazing - huge (650 m2 for the 3 bedrooms) very beautiful and is really a dream villa.

2. Breakfast is perfect. The variety and the quality.

3. The outside pool is big and very nice to use especially the fact that you don't have too many screaming kids all around you. When we were there it was like another private pool for us. Maybe because all villas has 2 private pool and most people prefer to use those on a regular basis.

4. The staff is nice and were very generouse to give us complimentary transfers from and to the hotel to and from the airport.

5. The beach is perfect - like in pictures. Its a private beach of the hotel and most of the time it a beach of your own.


Cons:

1. The beach has not too many attractions - No bar on the beach. No water sport facilities except for one small Kayak (which is free to use). No life Guard.

2. The battler (Beer) that was promised as our assistant during our stay was hardly there. We saw him maybe once or twice during our stay. So disappointment on this issue.

3. Some of the staff English is very poor. I think they should hire employees with perfect English that can understand what you say and not pantomime everything so they understand.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear rocoil,

Thank you for taking time to write a feedback on your recent stay at Maikhao Dream Villa Resort & Spa.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your villa as well as our breakfast selection. Rest assured that I have passed on to the team your kind feedback.

Whilst you had a pleasurable stay with us, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you have encountered.

As Maikhao Dream Villa Resort & Spa is built within a national park, only non-motorized sport facilities are allowed in the area. However, there are other activities that can be enjoyed such as beach volley and kayaking. Also, our Pine Bar which is located within a walking distance from the beach has a wide selection of cocktails and dishes.

Regarding the staff concerns, be assured that we have addressed this matter accordingly.

I hope that I might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort on your next visit to Phuket.

Sincerely,
David Coyle
General Manager
Maikhao Dream Villa Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We had a three bedroom villa. It was huge and very well appointed with an excellent pool that was fed by a cascade from the two pools on the first floor. The restaurant serves an excellent breakfast and evening meals. The beach is not suitable for small children as the surf is too strong. To enjoy what Phuket has to offer a car is essential and provided you are prepared to drive 20 to 30 minutes you can find excellent restaurants, shops and beaches. Banana Beach is only 20 minutes away and is the nicest on the island, although a bit difficult to get to as the only access is by boat or by a fairly steep unmade path from the roadside. There are a couple of small shops and a local restaurant in the village, that is a five minute drive. Had no problems with rats but the big brown beetles that drop from the trees at dusk are a bit of a nuisance if you are dining al fresco!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa

Address: 138/21 Moo 4, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#9 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northwest coast of Phuket Island, Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa, Phuket, is only a short drive away from Phuket airport. It offers 22 exquisite pool villas that blend in perfectly with Phuket’s natural beauty. The resort exudes unstinting grandeur in a tranquil and natural environment where the warm turquoise sea caresses the golden sand of Maikhao Beach. Escape to a tropical playground where the warm turquoise sea caresses the golden sand of Maikhao Beach nature and sophisticated Thai design converge in celebration of a luxurious stay. Maikhao Dream Villa Resort & Spa, Phuket is a splendid holiday destination offering impeccable personalized services and facilities tailored to exceed guests’ expectations and ensure a “home-away-from-home” stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maikhao Dream Villa Hotel Mai Khao
Maikhao Dream Villa Resort And Spa Phuket/Mai Khao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.