We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Moo 3 | Mai Khao Beach, Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
4.5 of 5 stars 1,195 Reviews
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Extremely friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Me and my wife stayed here as a part of our honeymoon. The hotel staff was extremely friendly right from the driver who picked us up (nice chap) to the staff at the front desk to the waitresses at the restaurants and professional at the same time. The hotel is nice and has an overall laid back feel to it. The beach was very clean and the sea was also nice and calm.
The breakfast area was superb with the tables going right into the middle of the artificial lagoon they have made. Didn't go to the spa so can't comment on it. It's a little smaller than the mariott next door but is nice and cozy unlike the mariott where we felt that the staff was not interested in the guests at all.
Considering the amount of guests travelling to Thailand from india they should have a few more vegetarian options in the menu.
The only drawback is that it is pretty far from the main city and it takes you around 45 mins to go to patong etc which otherwise would have made it the best place to stay in phuket.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHI_HotelManagement, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Once again – Happy Honeymoon!

Thank you for taking the time to write us reviews. We are delighted that your stay with the Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa was enjoyable.

We are most pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel's service and facilities. Your comments are very valuable in helping us ensure that your expectations are met each visit. Our team is committed to providing a high level of service in all areas and we are delighted that this was transpired throughout your stay.

Your insight on value for more vegetarian options which has been briefed to our Director of Food & Beverage for corrective measurement. With regards to the distance away from city, the resort location is well-known for the peaceful beach of Mai Khao on the national park site. Our Navigator Concierge can assist you with some actions within the resort distance even though more attractions are in the city.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,

Adanaan (Andy) Chalachol
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    264
    51
    19
    3
See reviews for
247
610
49
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic staff, lovely quiet resort, pool villa was fantastic. We took our 1 year old with us and she loved it! In a quiet part of Phuket so good for those looking to relax. Hotel food was excellent, slighty expensive for Thailand but what you expect at a resort. Sandbox food was large portion sizes, buffet breakfast amazing and seafood BBQ well worth the price! Kids play room a fantastic facility too! We can't wait to go back

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHI_HotelManagement, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us reviews. We are delighted that your stay with the Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa was enjoyable.

We are pleased to learn that you had enjoyed your time at our resort. Your comments made on hotel ambience, pool villa and foods were most kind. We appreciate your kind understanding on the pricing and valued for price paid.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,

Adanaan (Andy) Chalachol
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

I've just spent two nights in the resort with my friends. From our late check in (after midnight) till our check out this afternoon, service has been fantastic. The staff were always smiling and helpful. The resort has a very peaceful vibe. Maybe it was off season but it never felt crowded. We got sunbeds easily and didn't need to wait for tables during mealtimes. The resort facilities are in good condition and we enjoyed the pool service and spa very much. We also enjoyed their happy hour deals. Highly recommended resort if you want to get away from Patong and stay in a self contained compound.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHI_HotelManagement, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us reviews. We are delighted that your stay with the Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa was enjoyable.

As a well-travelled guest, your comments are very valuable in helping us to ensure your expectations are met each visit. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel's service and facilities especially our staff service.

We certainly hope that your future plans to Phuket include Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa where we will await to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

Sincerely,

Adanaan (Andy) Chalachol
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We are in Thailand for a 8 day trip and We stayed here for 3 nights and this resort has been the highlight of our trip, exceptional service, The food was fabulous. The room was beautiful with every detail thought about. We had a room with a balcony over the little pond with waterfall. This room isn't near the beach but the view was really pleasant. This place is an excellent option for a stay on a nice beach, which is only 15 minutes from the airport.
If you are up for a relaxing holiday, this is the place - however if you want to see Patong or do tours & trips - the hotel is a long way from the action & you have to spend good amount on transfers.
Staff will always say hi with a big smile. There is a free wifi coverage all over even on the beach so you can be online all the time. Great place to stay. I will definitely be staying here again.
It felt like paradise and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Lovely Hotel far from the hustle and bustle select this hotel for a relaxing holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHI_HotelManagement, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us reviews. We are delighted that your stay with the Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa was enjoyable.

Your comments are very valuable in helping us to maintain a high level of service to guests. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel's service and facilities. Your positive comments are much appreciated on the guest room, the food, internet and particularly the staff service. Your comment has been shared to our associates; all appreciates your recognition and delighted to be at your service.

We are most pleased to read that your future plans to Phuket include Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa where we will await to welcome you back with our excellent service you were impressed. Thank you for your highly recommendation to other reviewers.

Sincerely,

Adanaan (Andy) Chalachol
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We had a wonderful Christmas/New Year Holiday. Wonderful beach, nice pool area, good restaurants, fabulous breakfast, very nice room, extremely kind and serviceminded staff. And an amazing and unforgettable New Year party. I really recommend this hotel to anybody

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHI_HotelManagement, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us reviews. We are delighted that your stay with the Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa was enjoyable.

We are most pleased to read that we were able to impress you by creating memorable New Year Experience. Your positive comments made on pool, restaurants, room, breakfast and especially staff service were most kind.

Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa prides itself in providing luxury products and services. You are a valuable guest and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Adanaan (Andy) Chalachol
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for just 2 nights as a retreat during a trip around Southeast Asia. It was the best decision! The hotel is simply gorgeous! Our room (a standard) was super comfy and stylish and there was a small jar with banana chips and dried coconut as a welcome gift. The service is very efficient and everyone is super friendly. We were at the beachfront pool and asked the waiter if he could get us a couple of glasses of the welcome drink, served at the front lobby when we checked in; he said he would need to go there and some minutes later he returned with our glasses. Breakfast is actually a delicious brunch. And the lounge bar has great service and serves late night dinner. All in all, a perfect stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHI_HotelManagement, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us reviews. We are delighted that your stay with the Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa was enjoyable.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We are most pleased to learn this has transpired throughout. We appreciate your highly recommend us to other reviewers and friends.

We hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to Phuket for the next perfect stay with us.

Sincerely,

Adanaan (Andy) Chalachol
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I chose the Renaissance as I have been to Phuket before but I stayed at Rawai beach on the south coast and have been to Patong. I wanted quiet, a peaceful environment and some time to recharge my batteries. Had a few days in Bangkok first and then flew to Phuket.
The hotel is quit close to the airport so it is very convenient. The planes pass close by but there is no noise.
On the approach to the hotel you see Turtle Village which is a little shopping mall with food establishments and also you pass the JW Marriott, Sala and a few other luxury hotels. Lots of space between and the area is not hugely built up. It looks lovely.
First impressions of the Renaissance were great. It is a stunning modern and chic hotel with a lovely lobby. Check in was very quick, the staff very professional on the front desk. Taken to our pool villa by hotel tuktuk.
The pool villa is absolutely stunning. Immaculately clean. Spacious well appointed main room with loads of windows looking out onto the private pool, then a great big bath and sinks, and then through to the back to the shower. All very open plan and well designed.
The pool is larger than I expected and gets nice and warm by lunch time. Crystal clear water too.
Some people have said there are "bugs and wood roaches". Of course there are it's Thailand and it's rural BUT they will only be in your room if you leave the doors open which would be a bit stupid. We never had a single problem.
On a few occasions it rained very very heavily and was quite windy and some water came through the doors wetting the floor. Housekeeping very quickly came and cleaned it up.
The resort is not huge, easy to walk around. The pool is beautiful, small but I never found it crowded. I used it after breakfast at 9 am ish to 11:30 and it was great. Nice whirlpool in the middle too. Loads of chairs and towels and the lads from the Sandbox restaurant are constantly bringing clean cold iced water round. Really good service.
Breakfast is huge, served in Loca Vora near the lobby. Good selection. Lovely fresh smoothies. The egg station is very nice.
Doppio is the coffee shop but also does great sandwiches and for 450 baht you can get a pie and glass of wine. Pie was divine. The smoothies here are to die for. Try the banana split and no-passion.
The sandbox is the outdoor restaurant near the pool doing international food. Ate there once but was quite warm.
The beach was lovely, slopes quite steeply into the sea and there is a flag system to say when you can when you shouldn't swim. The beach has quite a bit of litter constantly washing up from the sea. I was a little disappointed by this as walked down the beach on day for a few miles and the trash his everywhere: bottles, cans, good wrappers, and lots of plastic.
On the last night we are at Takieng. Beautiful local simple thai food. Delicious and not as expensive as some reviews had me believe. We had starters and mains, and deserts and a bottle of prosecco and it came to 5000 baht. You pay for a lovely environment, and the quality of the hospitality is phenomenal, the ladies could not do enough for us.
I found this all over the resort. The staff are so well trained. Nothing is ever too much. We didn't complain about the water seeping into the room after it had rained as it's just one of those things and the housekeepers dealt with it quickly. And yet on our last night we came home to a lovely handwritten letter from the front desk manager apologising for the water and they had left us a bottle of red wine. How about that for hospitality? You wouldn't not get that in the UK.
We both had a brilliant time here after the bustle of Bangkok and we would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHI_HotelManagement, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us reviews. We are delighted that your stay with the Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa was the BEST HOLIDAY EVER!

As a valuable guest, we are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel's service and facilities. Your positive comments are much appreciated and have been passed on to all associates who are delighted to be at your service.

We are happy to read that you impressed with the hotel atmosphere, service and facilities. Our aim is to providing you unforgettable experiences and un-wind with our chic side of nature. We appreciate your very kind patience on some inconveniences which we were able to recover – little things that made different.

Renaissance team are very much look forward to welcoming you back at our beautiful resort whenever your travel brings you back to us again - your home away from home.

Sincerely,

Adanaan (Andy) Chalachol
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 555 Moo 3 | Mai Khao Beach, Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens, the chic boutique –like Renaissance Phuket Resort and Spa offers privacy and is only 15 minutes leisurely drive from Phuket International Airport, it is adjacent to Sirinath Marine National Park.The resort offers 22 Pool Villas and 4 Ocean Front Pool Villas with private pool and large patio, 4 One Bedroom Suites and 150 Deluxe Rooms. Two outdoor swimming pools, Quan Spa with eight treatment rooms, 6 event venues, steam rooms, outdoor massage sala, Fitness centre. Bike rides, board games, cooking school, diving lessons, Kid’s world and children’s pavilion with indoor recreation area and outdoor pool, Golf is available nearby.For your gastronomical journey the hotel offers an all day dining restaurant with fresh ingredient at Loca Vore, Takieng - Thai Restaurant, The Lounge, Doppio for gourmet deli with coffee and tea leave bar and Sand Box at Mai Khao beach front serving international cuisine during the day and BBQ at night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Renaissance Phuket Resort And Spa
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.