We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing vacation in Phuket” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Moo 3 | Mai Khao Beach, Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Mai Khao
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing vacation in Phuket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

If you are looking for a calm, relaxing vacation on the beach this is the place to do it. It is located a 45 minute cab ride from Phuket so you are not going to get any action here , which is great if you are looking to relax. The hotel was at 100% occupancy for 3 of the 6 days we were there and we could not feel it. The pool had plenty of chairs available, the beaches were not crowded at all. The staff go out of their way to make you relax. Highly recommend it if you want to get away.
Beaches are clean and beautiful, the sand is not the finest or the whitest but plentiful to enjoy. We upgraded to a Pool Villa room and it was amazing, we did not ant to leave the room given we had a private pool right in our back yard.
Breakfast is better than average and the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff is wonderful.

Room Tip: It's worth the upgrade to a pool villa room. Deluxe rooms near the lobby are more private that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    728
    220
    43
    15
    3
See reviews for
213
504
43
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Great service, great breakfast, great smiling staff, quiet, true resort, good location...a little far from Patong and phuket town in case you want to do that every night.

Green, birds chirping in the morning....beach is ok...but private and again...in busy busy phuket...at least you have place to relax.

Room Tip: We got a villa with a pool...worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have previously stated at JW Marriott (1k away) but wanted to try somewhere new. Stayed in Chinese New Year 2014, with my wife and two kids age 5,2. The Hotel is a smart modern looking place, more minimalist than JWM. It's a compact resort, with own beachfront, and a mix of 1 bed apartments and 1-3 bed villas. We had a 1 bed Villa, which was nicely appointed with big bathroom, and big main bed, plus a sofa bed and cot for the kids. This villa does lack a private space as you are all in one room, big though it is. The facilities includes a very good spa, kids club which was pretty quiet next to a kids pool area, an adult pool and a small gym. There are 3 restaurants (a good Thai one) a bar, and coffee shop. And of course the beach! It's not overloaded with people for the facilities but it does lack stuff to do. There are no water sports activities at all and pretty much everything else is 20 minutes + away (tennis, golf, horse or elephant riding, sailing, etc) so it's a place to relax and swim, eat, and relax (not easy with kids, so thank god for iPad, though there is a good tv/DVD player in the villa). It does need more activities but we liked our stay and would come back. Staff are really friendly though service could be a little slow sometimes. It's also only 20 minutes from the airport, so it's easy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaichaitea
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from eight amazing nights at the Renaissance. This was one of the nicest vacations that we have ever had, and certainly was the most relaxing. The Renaissance is designed in such a natural way that one can really enjoy the surroundings, especially the gorgeous beach. It definitely did not have that "package tour" feel, just a feeling that you are in your own little piece of paradise far from the madding crowds.

The food was excellent, and the breakfast exceptional. I also loved the muay thai class on the beach.

We traveled with our toddler son,and the staff was extremely kind to him. It was a perfect place to bring a toddler. The waves were gentle, the playroom was superb, and the kids' pool was a lovely blue grotto.

Every single member of staff was polite, kind, and competent. I felt like they really cared about our happiness during our vacation.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Well designed place comfortable outdoor and indoor spaces, and Very nice caring helpful staff
Good Thai restaurant and rich breakfast buffet
We enjoyed our stay at this resort for four days end of October and would go back to the same resort again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantsville, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My wife and I just returned from our annual trip to Thailand. The last three night we wanted to be closer to the airport in Phuket so we elected to stay at the Renaissance. The resort is new and nothing short of stunning. The beach is pristine and uncrowded. Unfortunately on our first day we saw a young Russian girl sitting on the beach, crying rubbing her lower leg. Soon thereafter the red flags were up and swimming was not permitted due to jellyfish. The other days the yellow caution flag were up and people seemed to enjoy the beach again.

The pool is small and feels crowded. There is a children's pool but parents seem to bring their children to the main pool. Its becomes very noisy and crowded with children. Certainly not a relaxing experience.

We ate one night at a seafood buffet which was marginal. The highlight of the dinner was the many flavors of ice cream available. The other night at the Thai restaurant which was pleasant and offered a gorgeous view of the sunset.

The hotel and grounds are beautiful both lush and tropical. Walking to our villa we noticed that there is chill lounge music softly being played in hidden speakers throughout the resort. It was a nice touch.

Overall a very nice resort. However, I wouldn't characterize it as it as relaxing or tranquil as the pool is small and crowded with children.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from our honeymoon in Thailand, having spent a week at the Renaissance hotel. The hotel was simply amazing!

When we arrived we were greeted from the taxi by the extremely friendly reception staff, given an iced drink and taken to our villa in a golf buggy. When we arrived at our villa, Hannah from reception took us in, sat us down and went through everything about the hotel and local attractions. The pool villa was lovely, spacious, spotlessly clean and very luxurious!!

The breakfast at the hotel was great, plenty of choice and all of the food was delicious!

All of the staff at the hotel were very polite and friendly, nothing was too much bother for them.

The hotels location was right on the beach which was always very quiet which was lovely. Swimming at the beach was great. I did get a small sting when in the sea (not sure what by) but the hotel sent a first aider to our room immediately who treated the sting. Later that afternoon a member of staff brought us a plate of cake and a hand written get well soon note, a lovely touch.

Overall, we really enjoyed our entire stay at the Renaissance, we were made to feel like Royalty and cant wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 555 Moo 3 | Mai Khao Beach, Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens, the chic boutique –like Renaissance Phuket Resort and Spa offers privacy and is only 15 minutes leisurely drive from Phuket International Airport, it is adjacent to Sirinath Marine National Park.The resort offers 22 Pool Villas and 4 Ocean Front Pool Villas with private pool and large patio, 4 One Bedroom Suites and 150 Deluxe Rooms. Two outdoor swimming pools, Quan Spa with eight treatment rooms, 6 event venues, steam rooms, outdoor massage sala, Fitness centre. Bike rides, board games, cooking school, diving lessons, Kid’s world and children’s pavilion with indoor recreation area and outdoor pool, Golf is available nearby.For your gastronomical journey the hotel offers an all day dining restaurant with fresh ingredient at Loca Vore, Takieng - Thai Restaurant, The Lounge, Doppio for gourmet deli with coffee and tea leave bar and Sand Box at Mai Khao beach front serving international cuisine during the day and BBQ at night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Renaissance Phuket Resort And Spa
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.