We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Moo 3 | Mai Khao Beach, Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
chaichaitea
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Exceptional.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from eight amazing nights at the Renaissance. This was one of the nicest vacations that we have ever had, and certainly was the most relaxing. The Renaissance is designed in such a natural way that one can really enjoy the surroundings, especially the gorgeous beach. It definitely did not have that "package tour" feel, just a feeling that you are in your own little piece of paradise far from the madding crowds.

The food was excellent, and the breakfast exceptional. I also loved the muay thai class on the beach.

We traveled with our toddler son,and the staff was extremely kind to him. It was a perfect place to bring a toddler. The waves were gentle, the playroom was superb, and the kids' pool was a lovely blue grotto.

Every single member of staff was polite, kind, and competent. I felt like they really cared about our happiness during our vacation.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    242
    46
    18
    3
See reviews for
232
561
46
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Well designed place comfortable outdoor and indoor spaces, and Very nice caring helpful staff
Good Thai restaurant and rich breakfast buffet
We enjoyed our stay at this resort for four days end of October and would go back to the same resort again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantsville, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My wife and I just returned from our annual trip to Thailand. The last three night we wanted to be closer to the airport in Phuket so we elected to stay at the Renaissance. The resort is new and nothing short of stunning. The beach is pristine and uncrowded. Unfortunately on our first day we saw a young Russian girl sitting on the beach, crying rubbing her lower leg. Soon thereafter the red flags were up and swimming was not permitted due to jellyfish. The other days the yellow caution flag were up and people seemed to enjoy the beach again.

The pool is small and feels crowded. There is a children's pool but parents seem to bring their children to the main pool. Its becomes very noisy and crowded with children. Certainly not a relaxing experience.

We ate one night at a seafood buffet which was marginal. The highlight of the dinner was the many flavors of ice cream available. The other night at the Thai restaurant which was pleasant and offered a gorgeous view of the sunset.

The hotel and grounds are beautiful both lush and tropical. Walking to our villa we noticed that there is chill lounge music softly being played in hidden speakers throughout the resort. It was a nice touch.

Overall a very nice resort. However, I wouldn't characterize it as it as relaxing or tranquil as the pool is small and crowded with children.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from our honeymoon in Thailand, having spent a week at the Renaissance hotel. The hotel was simply amazing!

When we arrived we were greeted from the taxi by the extremely friendly reception staff, given an iced drink and taken to our villa in a golf buggy. When we arrived at our villa, Hannah from reception took us in, sat us down and went through everything about the hotel and local attractions. The pool villa was lovely, spacious, spotlessly clean and very luxurious!!

The breakfast at the hotel was great, plenty of choice and all of the food was delicious!

All of the staff at the hotel were very polite and friendly, nothing was too much bother for them.

The hotels location was right on the beach which was always very quiet which was lovely. Swimming at the beach was great. I did get a small sting when in the sea (not sure what by) but the hotel sent a first aider to our room immediately who treated the sting. Later that afternoon a member of staff brought us a plate of cake and a hand written get well soon note, a lovely touch.

Overall, we really enjoyed our entire stay at the Renaissance, we were made to feel like Royalty and cant wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had our wedding held in this resort in October 2013 and stayed there for 10 days. *Trust me, I am definitely coming back!
From the very first contact with the hotel till the end, they handled our event with precision and personalized care. Everyone was super friendly.
You'd think it was only because we were the wedding couple, but we had 50 guests who flew in from the US, UK, Spain, Shanghai, Hong Kong, Singapore and every one of them told us that this was one of the best experiences they've had in Asia. I know for a fact some of them are coming back to this resort this year 2014!

**Smiles everywhere, greeted us using our names everyday and they delivered their renowned service perfectly.

Rooms:
We were upgraded to an ocean front pool villa (no. 9) - oh my gosh! So beautiful! Check photos! The bathtub was ginormous - too bad we never used it because we were too busy with event planning. Very romantic. Our villa was right in front of the beach so you just had to walk to it and the pool was just around the left corner. The beach is an unspoiled endless strip of sand, very private and the sand is so soft, so very soft! Each villa that was ocean front had a private gate where you could automatically close and open if you wanted privacy. We kept ours open because we always had our friends and family come in and out!
For travelers who don't want to splurge on a villa, the rooms are definitely not bad! They have a huge balcony where one can sit and just watch the world go by and the bathroom is almost as big as the room. Obviously I suggest getting the pool villa's but most of the guests were definitely happy to just sit in their room and relax after a long night out drinking or a long day of tanning.

Spa:
Sooooooooooooooo very relaxing - we had a scrub and an essential oil massage. Our guests all had a discount because of our wedding package rate. The staff were all so friendly and always had a smile on their face. The only negative thing I can say about the spa is I dont suggest the manicure because it wasn't very good. Sorry Renaissance!

Breakfast:
Our rooms came with complimentary breakfast. I have to say usually breakfasts don't impress me but hell yes this was one was fantastic! They had a broad selection such as the egg station with eggs benedict, quiches, a big fish bowl of fresh coconut juice with huge pieces of coconut flesh in it, bloody marys, fresh smoothies of all tropical fruits (which they would either have prepared for you to take or you could ask them to make a fresh batch), mini cupcakes, brownies, waffles (with this amazing pandan/coconutty syrup!) and more! I looked forward to breakfast everyday! The dessert part changed everyday so i looked forward to every breakfast!

Pool and Beach:
Quite small so a hotel guest would be in your "personal" space if you were just standing in a corner of the pool. Also, you won't have many kids running around screaming because Renaissance has their own children's pool with a water slide and it's right next to the children's clubhouse so couples wont' have to worry about the noise!
Unfortunately, we could not swim in the sea due to the high waves during our stay at the Renaissance. Every morning they'd put up the red flag which means you shouldn't enter the water. However, we saw that people ignored it and still went! To each their own!
Best part of the beach is ITS EMPTY. Only people on it are hotel guests and you can take the loungers from the garden and move them to the beach on your own so it feels like you're really alone!

The sandbox which is the restaurant near the pool have really great dishes such as the tuna - do try it We ordered it a few times! The Thai restaurant is authentic and the staff are all helpful and recommend all the great stuff!

The only thing some travelers will not enjoy is that this resort is very far from Patong. It takes around an hour to get there - the hotel does provide shuttles for it but you'll have to book ahead and they charge a fee.
If you want other options for eating, there is a free shuttle bus that takes you to the next hotel JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa (same group!). If you want to buy groceries for your room you can wait for the free shuttle from JW Marriott and it will take you to a small mall called Turtle Village and you just have to wait for the next one to get you back!

If any of the staff of Renaissance read this, I'd love to thank Baimon, the event planner who did everything perfectly. She was sooooooo amazing and I am so happy she handled our case in the end. She made the event!
Thanks to Jennie, Nancy from Locavore. Kittipat, banquet guy who was amazing. Bum from the Quan Spa, very nice! And last but not least, one of the housekeeping staff Supansa. She left us a handwritten note to wish us well after tying the knot - now that was such a sweet surprise on our last day there!

Know that this resort is where you want to stay if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of a city. Great resort for those of you who want to relax and be pampered in luxury!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at your hotel. The room was clean and admirable and my family liked it very much. My favorite part was the clean and soft beach, we swam and picked up some cool seashells. The pool was bad, it was too small!!

The bellboy was polite and helpful and the check in went smoothly. In the room the view was ace and the snacks were delicious!! The furniture was satisfying and comfortable, my children enjoyed jumping on the bouncy bed. We loved to see people do activities like kayaking and surfing, it was really amazing. At lunch or dinner the food was delicious!!! I liked the thai food and omelets the best.

The facilities were stunning, like the spa and jacuzzi. I also enjoyed the relaxing bathtub and how the water came warmer and warmer. When we slept the noise was peaceful and the pillows were extremely soft! I enjoyed the hotel and I will definitely come back!!!

Sincerely, Jeremy

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We are two adults, two small kids. The design of the hotel is very attractive, glass and wood. This hotel was perfect for our needs, very unspoiled environment, safe beach, lovely warm pool, great kids area and pool with shade. The dining options were good with really great breakfast and possibility of coffee and snacks throughout day. The staff were really helpful, especially Beauty who helped us with a medical issue for our daughter. The Sandbox restaurant was also great, with simple fresh fish options. We liked the formal Thai too. The spa was great and very beautifully designed. Overall it felt very relaxed and stylish. We would highly recommend this hotel for families and couples.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle section are very convenient to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 555 Moo 3 | Mai Khao Beach, Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens, the chic boutique –like Renaissance Phuket Resort and Spa offers privacy and is only 15 minutes leisurely drive from Phuket International Airport, it is adjacent to Sirinath Marine National Park.The resort offers 22 Pool Villas and 4 Ocean Front Pool Villas with private pool and large patio, 4 One Bedroom Suites and 150 Deluxe Rooms. Two outdoor swimming pools, Quan Spa with eight treatment rooms, 6 event venues, steam rooms, outdoor massage sala, Fitness centre. Bike rides, board games, cooking school, diving lessons, Kid’s world and children’s pavilion with indoor recreation area and outdoor pool, Golf is available nearby.For your gastronomical journey the hotel offers an all day dining restaurant with fresh ingredient at Loca Vore, Takieng - Thai Restaurant, The Lounge, Doppio for gourmet deli with coffee and tea leave bar and Sand Box at Mai Khao beach front serving international cuisine during the day and BBQ at night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Renaissance Phuket Resort And Spa
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.