We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kin Dee Restaurant

Kin Dee Restaurant
71/6 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
0828148482
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 40 Restaurants in Mai Khao
4.5 of 5 stars 410 Reviews
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Kin Dee is a small local family restaurant on Mai Khao beach run by 2008 Thailand's culinary champion. We serve local Thai cuisine, seafood, vegetarian, kid menus,cocktails, Thai wine, Main produces from the village where Kin Dee located and Phuket area. Open from 1030 hrs-2200 hrs. 15 minutes drive from Phuket airport.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

we arrived late at Marriot Vacation club, first time to Mai Khao area which is far from the main town. Having read so much about Kin Dee , we decided to have dinner here. Concierge arranged for taxi to take us there and back .

We ordered this excellent Kin Dee Signature fish , so crispyly fried with its garnishing. Yummy. Though the musssaman curry voted the best curry in the world is definitely the best in my book. Many more are ranked much better. But the food did not disappoint and set right in the middle of a mangrove ,it was a nice Thai dinner to welcome our first night and reasonably priced too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    122
    44
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Something Special about Kin Dee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

If you're staying in Mai Khao you should definitely give this place a try.

The overall dining experience is pretty unique. From the very natural & wooden setting, to its location overlooking a mangrove swamp, paired with really well done Thai food at a fair price. We had the set menu for 4 which was more than enough to satisfy our tummies :)

Come for dinner, when the place is lit up with pretty lights.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A bit over-rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

It was easy to find. If u do not have transport, you can try walking from the Marriott/Anantara resort area. Walk out to the main road, about 0.5km, turn left and walk on for about 1km. You will see JP mini market across the main road on the right and a small road before it. Walk in the small road and it's on your right after about 300m. We went at around 3pm and it wasn't busy. Ordered the clear tom yam soup (not bad),deep fried prawns in pepper leave(#6 on the menu)- pretty good, swimmer crab with glass noodles (crab not that fresh. Meat was soft), morning glory veg -average. I guess if you are tired of hotel food and it's price, this is not too bad. Nice cozy restaurant overlooking swamp area. Have had better food in Thailand.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

After an excellent meal at JJ's bar he recommended we visit Kin Dee's the next day and are glad we did. As we were flying out that evening we decided to have a light lunch here. The spring rolls, chicken satay and Duck salad were all cooked fresh and were excellent taste and value for money. The fresh juices were delicious but there was also a wide range of beer and alcohol and much more on the menu for a full dinner.
Coming from any of the Mai Khao beach resorts you need to take the 402 north towards the Sarrasin bridge but make a U-turn just before the checkpoint to get on the correct side of the highway headed back towards the centre of the island. Luckily we had been given directions to turn left immediately after the J&P minimart grocery store as it is quite hard to spot the sign. The restaurant is 300m down this road on the right hand side with easy parking. Now we know they will deliver, we'll be able to order food if we don't have a rental car for our next visit. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Back in Mai Khao and back to the best local place in Mai Khao”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We arrived back in Phuket on 25th and got to Kin Dee for dinner on Monday 27th Nan. This place continues to excel and we had a great meal. I had my usual Thai Calimari to start and my wife the shrimp tempura on pepper leaves. I followed up with the Duck in Tamarind sause and she had the Pad Siu Eui. A bottle of wine and some beers. Yes it is a tad more expensive than the shacks up on the beach at the north of the island but there it is fly-city. Kin Dee continues to be our favourite local restaurant when we are at the Marriott.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kin Dee Restaurant also viewed

Mai Khao, Thalang District
Mai Khao, Thalang District
 
Mai Khao, Thalang District
 

Been to Kin Dee Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kin Dee Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.