We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon ruined by wafts of sewage!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Phuket Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Phuket Villas to your Saves list
Anantara Phuket Villas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   888 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 35% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon ruined by wafts of sewage!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We felt the need to write this to save others from the same experience. On the whole the resort is fine but there is a distinct smell of sewage in places. Unfortunately our pool area is one of them, so much so that we couldn’t bare to sit by the pool last night and had to move indoors. We mentioned it at reception who sent housekeeping who implied it was the water being used on the plants and they would get it turned off. I guess they may re-use the cleaner waste water for the garden. The villa complex is built around either a natural or artificial lagoon and the water is understandably murky, there are a number of pumps which appear to be aerating the water. However, the smell is not all over the complex, only in certain areas and not all the time. We took a walk around this morning and around the other hotels, the Anantara Villas only seem to be affected. Our villa is at the very back of the resort, near the tennis courts, where the lagoon seems to be almost effluent like. I’m not sure what else I can say as none of the others reviews mention it, even people here last week but you have been warned. It has so far ruined our experience, we’re contemplating checking out! As I write another waft arrives. It’s a shame as the villa is lovely otherwise.

Room Tip: We're in villa 38 at the back. Try to avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraP, Manager at Anantara Phuket Villas, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear manyana

Greetings from Anantara Phuket Villas

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your review with us . We are glad that you like our villas however it is sad to read that you had this unpleasant experience with the irrigation water.

We have noted your comments and have already adjusted the timing of the sprinklers in our gardens to avoid this situation.

Thank you very much and we would hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    140
    40
    10
    7
See reviews for
185
472
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was an amazing experience during our honeymoon it was just PERFECT! Such a nice hotel, the service is magnificent, the crew and staff is always smiling and make you feel really pleased with your stay.
The food was DELICIOUS! We met he chef in the morning and was very kind , the menu is great at all times, really good food and we have nothing but great and unforgettable moments in our stay! AMAZING stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraP, Manager at Anantara Phuket Villas, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Victor G

On behalf of our entire team we would like to thank you for your great review.

it is always great to read that we were able to provide the "Perfect Honeymoon" and i am glad that you rated our service as magnificent and on behalf of our culinary team I would like to thank you for your amazing comments about the food.

We hope to welcome you you soon back.

Thank you

Christian Gerart
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Deutschland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Anantara Phuket Villas was the perfect place for relaxing a few days and just do nothing, but sitting at the beautiful private pool, the excellent public pool or on the unspoilt and uncrowded beach. The villa itself (we had a villa facing the lagoon) was spacious, spotless and kept perfectly clean every time we left it (which was not that often).
Food and Drinks:
- breakfast was excellent with everything you could think of in a beautiful location with excellent service
- lunch we always skipped
- snacks and drinks at the pool bar were overpriced, but could be obtained 30m down to the beach from the local shops just outside the hotel
- dinner we mostly had at JJ just outside the delivery entrance of the hotel (cheap, friendly and tasty) and once in the shiny Sea.Fire.Salt restaurant within the hotel, which was a disappointment when compared to JJ.
So there was a decent option for dinner and the hotel may certainly keep its five stars.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraP, Manager at Anantara Phuket Villas, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Antjens

Thank you very much for your review. It is always nice to read that Anantara Phuket Villas was the "Perfect Honeymoon" destination. I am pleased to share with our culinary team & the service team that the breakfast & its service was excellent .

With the regards to the prices for the beverages i would like to mention that we price our prices in line with other 5* hotels in Phuket .

Once again we appreciate your feedback and would hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back for your anniversary.

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This hotel is what is better version of heaven than I have in my imagination. The grounds, pools, beaches, and villas are amazing and just beautiful. Staff is warm friendly and attentive. I cannot imagine how anyone would not love this hotel. It's simply the nicest hotel I have ever visited. If this hotel is in your budget, you should splurge as it's paradise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraP, Manager at Anantara Phuket Villas, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear nickandkat

Greetings from your heaven here in Phuket.

Thank you so much for your great review. We are happy to read that you both enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to have yuo soon back in our little paradise

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

There is nothing sadder than the day you know you have to check out from this exotic and amazing paradise. I stayed with my wife and teenage daughter at this piece of heaven on earth for a week, having extended my five day stay for 2 more days after realizing there was no way on earth I was going to leave after only 5. It was too good to be true...
From the awe inspiring first appearance at first glance upon check in, to the fresh fruits and drinks renewed every day, to the good night wish written on a large leaf left by the bed each and every night, the extraordinary breakfast and food responsible for a good 2-3 kg weight gain during the week, to the unasked-for sew and repair of a garment we requested only to be washed, the gorgeous landscape and setting with a multitude of birds and mynahs always chirping and flying around, the amazing pool in the villa with its perfect size-not at all too small- which meant you would spend many hours every day lying around in it, the extremely friendly staff, the housekeeping which would spend a good hour and a half everyday successfully organizing the mess we made everyday inside the villa..... I can go on and on and on and on...!
There are only two problems which are worth mentioning....the first is that there are millions of vicious mosquitoes which are undoubtedly due to the lagoon which itch horribly for quite a while and require constant abundant use of large quantities of repellent, and secondly there are these radically advanced and mature large flying bugs about twice the size of cockroaches which fly and buzz menacingly around the lights at night throughout the resort along the pathways and are really hideous and scary even though they are said to be harmless. You would find quite a few of them in the pool in the morning if you left the pool lights on the previous night and they would still be alive! It appears that they -unfortunately- have no natural enemy and therefore have thrived throughout the resort area. This would prevent us from strolling around the beautiful resort after 7 pm...
Having said that, this by no means devalues our stay, and admittedly this has been the best resort/hotel I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in quite a few all over the world throughout the years. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone looking for a piece of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraP, Manager at Anantara Phuket Villas, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear alireza k

Greetings from Anantara Phuket Villas.

We would like to thank you for your amazing review. We are so glad to read that you and your family had such a fantastic time at our resort and that you had extended your stay .

it is always a pleasure seeing that the effort of our team is appreciated and that our immaculate garden and landscape are one of the higlight appreciate by our guests.

We are looking very much forward to welcome you and your family soon back again

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just came back after spending 7 nights at this amazing place. Lush tropical gardens full of fruits and coconuts surrounding this lagoon resort which consists of 80 some private villas. We had the 1 bedroom villa no 49 which had a lagoon view, and as all of them a private pool and bathtub outside. The design was stunning all the way down to the finest detail such as soaps ect..
Besides from the pool the small garden fits 2 sunbeds with a parasol and a soft seating area in the shade with 2 refrigerators, one for wine and one minibar. We had our dinner and lunch there almost everyday.
There where bike stations around the resort that you could use to get around, for example in the morning when going for breakfast. Great variety of food, you could choose from traditional eggs with bacon to waffles, pancakes, breads with cheese etc etc to sushi and noodle dishes. My favorite thought was the home made muesli which I had to have every morning and the delicious fresh mango.
The tree house was a great place for sunset drinks and watch the staff go through the area at sunset and light all the torches.
We tried the spa twice, It was ok - not amazing, the second time we where not too happy with the massages as the therapists seemed a bit tired ( we where the last guests for the evening) and we didn't get much out of it. We where really happy though when we discovered that you could get massages down at the beach for less than a quarter of the price, and it was great. Too bad we discovered it the last day. The beach and common pool area was also really nice but since we had our own private pool villa we decided to stay there all the time.
I was amazed by the genuine friendliness of the staff at all time, they really seemed happy to work there and the girls helping out with planning our day trips where very knowledgeable and organised.

The only negative thing I have to say was the way Anantara tried to sell the vacation club membership - a bit too desperate and aggressive. We decided to sign up for a tour and found it odd to be told that we had to take it now or the opportunity will be gone. In my opinion you need some time to consider cashing up an almost 60 000 USD for a membership commitment so I would maybe rethink the sales strategy on that one - and the vacation club villas where not at all as nice as the one we had- they lacked the charm and personality that we liked so much.

The resort is a good hour away from Patong and all the hustle and bustle, so this is a resort for those who want peace and quiet. It is easy to take a taxi around though..

Over all I am really happy we choose this place and I would love to go back again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraP, Manager at Anantara Phuket Villas, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Miss tops

Greetings from the "Private Sanctuary" of your choice.

Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. I am thrilled to share your comments with our entire team and on behalf of them we would like to thank you once again.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Thank you

Best regards

Christian Gerart
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I just left the Anantara Phuket Villas and I have never been sadder to end a vacation. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty, from the flower bracelets upon arrival, to the friendly greetings by all the dozens of staff members around the resort. The reception staff is incredibly accommodating and goes the extra mile to make sure you are well taken care of.

And the villas! We took a lagoon pool villa and it was gorgeous. The pool is larger than it even appeared on the pictures online, and the deck around it is equipped with a sofa bed as well as table,chairs, and minibar/kitchenette (there is one inside as well). The ice blue pool water is perfect for hot lazy days in the sun, where we relaxed in privacy to the chirping of the birds.

The greenery all around the resort is exotic and well maintained, and I especially enjoyed an almost parade like ceremony when the staff lit the fire torches that are used for light at night around the grounds. There are bikes all around the resort to make getting from the pool/beach to the villa extra convenient, though the walk is just a few minutes even from the further villas and the staff will take you around in golf carts if preferred.

The main pool is beautiful as well, though we spent most of our time in the villa because it was just too nice to leave. The beach is exactly as advertised, just a long stretch of sand and blue water, no shops or stands or noise.

The room and bathroom of the villa are spacious and beautiful and open straight into the pool. Our villa was like a paradise within the greater paradise of the resort.

Was not a cheap stay (three nights) but this is the first time in years I can say that the resort was worth every single penny. I wish we had more time to enjoy it, and strongly recommend it to anyone looking for an amazing resort experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraP, Manager at Anantara Phuket Villas, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear ava f

Greetings from your Paradise

We all would like to thank you very much for such a detailed review and it is great to read that you had such a fantastic time with us,and that you enjoyed all the little touches and details around the resort .

We hope we have the pleasure welcoming you soon again in our and your little paradise .

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Phuket Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Phuket Villas

Address: 888 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Phuket Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming tropical beauty of Thailand's premier island destination, Anantara Phuket Villas provides a luxurious refuge that opens out onto unspoiled panoramas. Awake to the sight of virgin sands backed by the lush vegetation of Sirinath National Park. Trek through the dense jungle by elephant to discover untouched island wonders. Relax in your private pool villa surrounded by the finest materials and design. Our Phuket resort puts the upmost emphasis on designer relaxation and guests' privacy, with 91 private Phuket pool villas scattered harmoniously across a prime stretch of Mai Khao Beach. Complimenting our luxury resort's tropically inviting accommodation is a host of services and facilities of the highest standard, including premium restaurants, bars and leisure facilities. Anantara Phuket's glorious contemporary design is inspired by a location that offers an array of activities, from diving in pristine waters to learning the ancient art of Thai cookery. The full delights of Anantara Phuket Villas are ready for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Minor Hotel Group Limited, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Phuket Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Phuket Villas Hotel Mai Khao
Anantara Hotel Mai Khao
Anantara Hotel Phuket
Anantara Phuket Villas Mai Khao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Phuket Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.