We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand relaxing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Mai Khao Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Mai Khao Beach to your Saves list
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mai Khao Talang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
Tashkent
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Grand relaxing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I was staying here just a week back for 5 days with my wife and found out that the place is great for family. The property is huge and very beautiful and very relaxing, the rooms the toilets the kitchen etc all are par excellence, this place has many activities yoga, aerobics, bike tour, zomba etc to keep you busy - the only negative is that this is located a away from the beach. Also Mai Khao beach is not that popular beach and therefore ideally one has to rent a car and go around places. Thoroughly enjoyed the rich luxury of this property and its staffs !

Room Tip: It is nice to travel there with family or even 2 families as the property is huge and this is a fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Mai Khao Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your five-star review! We are delighted to hear you both enjoyed your vacation experience at Marriott's Mai Khao and that you took advantage of the many activities we offer at the resort. We appreciate your feedback regarding our staff and the luxurious grounds and will share your feedback with our team. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    131
    28
    7
    3
See reviews for
219
63
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This friendly and beautiful piece of paradise was the venue for a week of relaxation and enjoyment for me and my grown up family. The rooms are well appointed, beautiful and spacious. I had asked for a quiet room and this is exactly what we got. We ate most of our meals out but the ladies who cleaned daily washed dishes, made beds and left us the most amazing animal towel masterpieces and I loved all the orchids! The resort is very clean and the service is excellent. When we were at the poolside we were supplied with ice water and fruit. Fresh clean towels are readily available and there is a lot of entertainment especially if you have children. Turtle Village was a delight. There were sales and bargains in many of the shops. The souvenir shop upstairs has affordable prices and a large variety of goods. Buying and restaurant food in general was much more expensive than I had anticipated. Transport proved a little pricey too as Mai Khao as beautiful as it is, is very far from all the tourist attractions but became a wonderful haven to return to after a frenetic day in Patong! The staff at Mao Khao were so helpful and made our stay so pleasant. I would like to return to this resort in the future.

Room Tip: I had asked for a quiet room with a good view. The rooms at the bottom have their own private pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The resort is quite beautiful and very peaceful since it is in the quiet part of Phuket, an hour drive away from Patong which is the City Center in a way. We had two bedroom apartment with our own plunge pool which was a great advantage since the kids could enjoy swimming at any time of the day. The layout of the apartment was good with a huge bathroom attached to the Master Bedroom which had a king size bed while the other room had two queen size beds ideal for a family of four with 2 teens. The kitchen had all the utensils required for cooking and daily housekeeping services took care of cleaning. There were quite a few downsides though. This resort has the worst check-in (4PM)/check-out time (10AM) that I have come across in my 20 years of travel experience. This in a way takes away one day of stay considering most other hotels are quite flexible in giving early check-in late check out while Marriott was quite rigid in this regard. On our last day of stay, we requested for a 12PM check out since out flight was at 4PM but the hotel did not budge and extended the check-out only by an hour. This was in sharp contrast to Grand Mercure (where we had stayed in Patong before moving to Marriott) which had no issues in extending the check-out time from 12PM to 3PM. Marriott's attitude here was very disappointing. Also the Turtle village which is nearest grocery store is extremely expensive with rates for most items more than double of what you will pay in the city.
Actually the two good things that we experienced were both outside the resort. First was Kindee Restaurant which is a 5 minutes drive from the resort. The taxi service outside the resort takes 500 THB for a round trip to this place which provides excellent thai food at reasonable prices. We went to this place almost every day of our stay. The second one is the massage at the beach (outside JW Marriott Hotel) which is not only much cheaper than ridiculously priced Mandara Spa at the JW Marriott but also much better.
Since the hotel is in a middle of no where, commuting is a major issue since the taxi service outside the resort ask for very high charges to go to any place in Phuket. Luckily we found phuketshuttle.com which was easy to use and much cheaper. Also our favourite place for poolside drinks and snacks was JW Marriott rather than Marriott Mai Khao since we could enjoy our drinks with the beautiful view of Andaman Sea. There is really no view at Marriott Mai Khao.

Room Tip: We found the ground floor rooms good because of the plunge pool though they cost slightly higher. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Mai Khao Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience. We are pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed the amenities of your villa including the plunge pool. While we are sorry our check-in and check-out procedures were unaccommodating, your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with resort management. Thank you again for staying at Marriott's Mai Khao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legaspi, Philippines
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We have enjoyed staying in this beautiful property through our exchange program with Interval International -- having to enjoy a week long of fun and excitement.

The property is a good 20-minute ride from Phuket International Airport.
Though the property seem small from the main entrance but the property extends beyond what we have expected.

Our room (4342) was very big with a foyer, two toilet and baths , 2 bedrooms ( 1-master bedroom with huge toilet and bath -- with big bath tub and 1- bedroom with 2-queen sized beds also with a decent sized toilet and bath -- regular sized bath tub) , it has its own kitchen complete with cooking amenities like cooking pan, fry pan etc. , included are glasswares, plates, utensils, and free bottled water everyday!

Inside our room is a dining table good for 6-people , a nice cozy living room and 3-TV (1-for the master's bedroom, for the 2nd room , and the living room). We also got to enjoy a relatively nice balcony. Not to mention that there is a washing machine and dryer inside the room!! Plus, ironing board, flat / steam iron and detergent soap for the laundry.

We enjoyed their facilities and daily scheduled activities like, zumba, aqua aerobics , biking, and other outdoor activities.

Best of all, the property is very near to good restaurants and small quaint stores -- the Turtle Village -- which is a mere 2-3 minute walk from the Marriott. A grocery store is also within reach and you can buy necessary grocery items if you feel like cooking inside your unit / room.

Marriott Mai Khao is also a near to JW Marriott and Anantara where they have different ambiance and restaurants.

Moreso, I would also like to commend all staffs who are very accommodating, kind, respectful and very professional.

Overall, the place is fabulous. We truly enjoyed our stay here.
We will surely be back here on our next visit to Phuket.

Thank you Marriott Mai Khao for making our family vacation a very memorable and happy experience.

Room Tip: I believe that all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here 4 nights. The rooms themselves were wonderful as the other reviewers have pointed out- almost everything was taken care of and it really felt like a home away from home. From the DVD player with DVDs from the kids club, the brand new washer and dryer (missing a dishwasher though), microwave and fully stocked kitchen, the hotel managed to check all the boxes. Thumbs up to Phoo at the front desk who managed to get us into our beautiful rooms early from our red-eye flight despite the official check-in time being 4 pm. Our room was located on the corner on the second floor of the first block and that made it very convenient for getting to turtle village. It also offered plenty of privacy unlike rooms along the corridor which were in full view of passers-by.

What let the hotel down was the beach- or rather lack thereof. Granted it was low season when we visited but the pounding surf coupled with the 20 foot stretch of creeper-covered sand ensured that this was to be our first beach holiday where we never set foot on the beach. This is not a family-friendly, or child friendly set up. The weather held up wonderfully despite our fears of the rainy season and so we spent most of our time at the pool. At least there were lots of inflatables there that everyone was free to use so the pool noodles, inflatable tyres and balls kept the kids busy. The kiddie pool with slide was really way too small- most of the time there were also plenty of adults in it minding their children! The quality of food poolside was good but the prices high and we realised that there was often a midday exodus from the pool as people trotted over to the restaurants at turtle village or anantara next door to have lunch!

I'd recommend you rent a car if you stay here. We did and it turned out to be a great decision as other than Turtle Village, there isn't much else to visit nearby. It's great that Thai roads are easy to navigate- fairly straight, smooth and roadsigns are in Thai and English. Thalang is only a 20 minute drive away and the Tesco Lotus there provides some retail therapy and more variety in stocking up your hotel room refrigerator. Further afield, there is Central Festival Market with a nice supermarket and in Patong, there is Jungceylon. While in Patong, we got the sense that Mai Khao was really "out of the mainstream" and could not help comparing this with our previous stay in Phuket. We appreciated the hotel's proximity to the airport (a short 10 min ride away) but if you really want to experience Phuket and its beaches, then this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Mai Khao Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and for sharing your experience. While we are happy to hear you villa accommodated your family, we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations in terms of child-friendly amenities. Your feedback regarding Phoo at the front desk is greatly appreciated and will be shared with the appropriate managers at the resort. Thank you for staying with us at Marriott's Mai Khao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days through the kindness of my friend who has time sharing with this resort. We loved the place, very clean, well-kept and with complete utensils in the kitchen. The staff were all polite, helpful and made us always feel welcome, even though we have checked out at 10 AM and will only be leaving at 5 PM (this was on our last day). We also liked that the place is just beside Turtle Mall where we can shop for groceries as well as get a good meal from the restaurants there.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Lovely resort, and being low season was relatively quiet. However, would imagine in High season it might be a bit Butlins like with energetic staff announcing activities etc.
Could do with its own spa. However the JW Marriott's Mandara Spa very nice, but ridiculously prices. £50 for a foot massage. The beach massages were just as good, and with much more lively staff, not staff that looked incredibly bored in Mandara! Food was fine, but the breakfast although good was very expensive, so chose to eat our croissants in the serviced apartment, which was beautiful and very well equipped. We would definitely go back to Mai Khao but would not go in High season. June was just right. If you want a very lively place to stay this is not for you! The Esprit shop in the very nearby Turtle Mart is worth a visit, and good coffee can be had in the coffee club in the same complex. The two Thai restaurants upstairs were ghastly!!!!
Nice walk to Mai Khao beach. Taxis only mode of transport if you want to go outside the complex, but worth going to have a look at Phuket, and there is an excellent restaurant three miles from the resort called Kin dee.....worth a visit, despite the taxi costs.

Room Tip: Get a suite on a corner facing the pools and restaurants on the fourth floor. Don't be tempted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Mai Khao Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review! We are pleased to hear you both enjoyed your experience at Marriott's Mai Khao and that your vacation was quiet and relaxing. Your feedback regarding our staff and food services has been noted and will be shared with our team at the resort. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Mai Khao Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Mai Khao Beach

Address: Mai Khao Talang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Mai Khao Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Mai Khao Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Marriotts Mai Khao
Mai Khao Marriotts
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Mai Khao Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.