We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but smaller than the Marriott next door.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Mai Khao Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Mai Khao Beach to your Saves list
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mai Khao Talang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but smaller than the Marriott next door.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We recently stayed here on a referral from a friend who has taken out the Marriott Vacation Club package.

The room we were given was a lovely, big, spacious 2 bed apartments that could sleep up to 6 people. We felt very spoilt as there was only 3 of us. The kitchen is well equipped with just about everything that you could want to cook a decent family meal. We were given 4 large bottles of drinking water each day and the apartment was spotlessly clean. I couldn't fault it.

We were a little disappointed that the facilities and grounds were not as big as the Marriott next door. Although they had similar things on offer (pool, kids pool, play kids club, gym etc) they were a lot smaller. We weren't allowed to use the big Marriott's facilities either which was a shame as our 3yr old would have had an absolute field day in the larger, much more entertaining kids pool, grounds and kids club.

The beach from this hotel was a short buggy trip away unlike the other Marriott, where is right on their doorstep. Although this didn't cause a problem for us I can see why it might put some people off. It's easy to get to (the hotel will take you on demand which was great) but there is no return buggy, unless you walk to the shuttle bus pick up point which is easily a good 10-15 minute walk away (so you might as well walk home). It might not be too easy with tired kids at the end of the day. There is a booth set up on the beach for towels, but this shuts at 5pm.

Finally, food at both the hotels can be expensive and the supermarket close by is also expensive. We paid for a little more baggage allowance on the way out, took our own food and just bought basics when we were there.

Overall the Marriott Mai Khao Beach hotel is lovely, the staff were cheerful, the room was great, but we thought that it did feel like the smaller, less important Marriott compared to the one next door.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have their own plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Mai Khao Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We appreciate your positive review of Marriott’s Mai Khao Beach! We are happy to hear the villa exceeded your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    119
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
204
59
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I am currently 4 days into my 2 week stay here and am loving this hotel. The 2 bedroom apartment is clean and spacious and the pool is wonderful. The staff are attentive without being pushy. The only "downside" is that the location is a car journey away from any attraction, but this means that the resort is very relaxed and you won't get hassled.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We loved every element of this resort. It is the best place on Phuket for families. We went over and tried the JW Marriott pool and ended up leaving after an hour because the pool and the staff was so much nicer at the Marriot Mai Khao Beach. If you are coming to Thailand to go hit the bars in Patong, this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for a beautiful resort to relax and get sun, and paddle board, and then venture out on some tours with the family, this is the resort for you. And I cannot say enough about the staff. Probably the best run hotel I have come across and we have stayed in Marriotts across the world. Can't comment about the spa because we didn't use any of those facilities.

Room Tip: Get the ground floor room. Trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Fantastic family resort. Quite expensive but really great. Big apartments. Nice pool area and a fantastic staff. Breakfast is great and not the normal poor Thai breakfast wit fair dry toast and omelette. Currently some resorts offer 4000 bath or more if you attend a presentation of the resort where they present the sharing concept they currently offer. Only negative is the cost for food that is a little bit high. Close to the airport and a perfect ending on a road trip.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sollentuna
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here in January on a preview package which was was of great value. Plunge pool suite is spacious, modern and clean with kitchen and even laundry and drier. The hotel experience from arriving to leaving was truly five star with smiling and friendly staff everywhere. The activities staff did a great job with kids club and also adult activities such as towel folding, fruit carving and many more. The outdoor cinema night by the pool was fantastic.

Facilities at the hotel is modern and clean with a good gym, kids club, table tennis, pool table, golf driving range (small) etc.

Main pool is good and there is a child pool with a small slide which the kids liked.

Beach is a short walk or buggy ride away (5 mins) and there you can access the activities such as wind surfing and hobie cat which was great. Restaurant choices are good as JW Marriott is close and there is also local alternatives on the beach.

We certainly enjoyed our stay and would be happy to return but I would also look at the JW Marriott as the facilities there are even better.

Room Tip: Plunge pool suite on ground floor is an extra plus with easy access to main pool and activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Mai Khao Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Mai Khao Beach Resort! We truly appreciate your detailed review and thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. We hope you return to visit us on a future trip to Phuket!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is a brilliant place to go if you travel with your family. The 2 bedroom villa is very spacious, with a lavish dining and sitting area (on top of the 2 bedrooms)
The fully functional kitchen is a big plus if you like (need) to cook. There's a grocery store right outside the hotel where you can buy almost everything that you would need for your cooking.

The beach is (i think) categorised as a national park and hence it is very quite (because no one is allowed to put up anything on the beach). I was told that turtles come up to the beach to lay eggs (though did not see it). However, because of this, the beach is very quite and clean and just lying down over there is very relaxing.

The only downside is if you want to go to Patong. Thats about 50km away and a 1 hour taxi ride. So as long as you dont want to go to Patong, this place is brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Mai Khao Beach, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Our team is thrilled to read your five-star Tripadvisor review! We look forward to welcoming you back to Marriott’s Mai Khao Beach Resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

There are 3 Marriotts, the JW which is the hotel and then 2 beach clubs, one right by the hotel and the other separated by a shopping area. This is the one we stayed at. I think this review is going in the right place! The beach is really far, so we spent all our time basically at the one pool (the kids have a decent-sized slide into a very small separate pool as well). The two-bedroom apartment was huge and well-appointed. I could have done without the cockroach hanging on my bedroom curtain when we first arrived, but things looked up from there! The highlight for the kids was the extensive kids club activities. Excellent to keep and 8 and 9 year old busy. They were thoroughly entertained so the parents could relax.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Mai Khao Beach, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We are happy your family had a wonderful vacation with us! It is truly a pleasure to read your family enjoyed the luxury villa and children’s activities. It is our hope you can visit us again at Marriott’s Mai Khao Beach in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Mai Khao Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Mai Khao Beach

Address: Mai Khao Talang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Mai Khao Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Marriott, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Mai Khao Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Marriotts Mai Khao
Mai Khao Marriotts
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Mai Khao Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.