We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in remote location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Mai Khao Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Mai Khao Beach to your Saves list
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mai Khao Talang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in remote location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

I am currently 4 days into my 2 week stay here and am loving this hotel. The 2 bedroom apartment is clean and spacious and the pool is wonderful. The staff are attentive without being pushy. The only "downside" is that the location is a car journey away from any attraction, but this means that the resort is very relaxed and you won't get hassled.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    146
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
246
67
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Havelock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We loved every element of this resort. It is the best place on Phuket for families. We went over and tried the JW Marriott pool and ended up leaving after an hour because the pool and the staff was so much nicer at the Marriot Mai Khao Beach. If you are coming to Thailand to go hit the bars in Patong, this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for a beautiful resort to relax and get sun, and paddle board, and then venture out on some tours with the family, this is the resort for you. And I cannot say enough about the staff. Probably the best run hotel I have come across and we have stayed in Marriotts across the world. Can't comment about the spa because we didn't use any of those facilities.

Room Tip: Get the ground floor room. Trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Fantastic family resort. Quite expensive but really great. Big apartments. Nice pool area and a fantastic staff. Breakfast is great and not the normal poor Thai breakfast wit fair dry toast and omelette. Currently some resorts offer 4000 bath or more if you attend a presentation of the resort where they present the sharing concept they currently offer. Only negative is the cost for food that is a little bit high. Close to the airport and a perfect ending on a road trip.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sollentuna
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here in January on a preview package which was was of great value. Plunge pool suite is spacious, modern and clean with kitchen and even laundry and drier. The hotel experience from arriving to leaving was truly five star with smiling and friendly staff everywhere. The activities staff did a great job with kids club and also adult activities such as towel folding, fruit carving and many more. The outdoor cinema night by the pool was fantastic.

Facilities at the hotel is modern and clean with a good gym, kids club, table tennis, pool table, golf driving range (small) etc.

Main pool is good and there is a child pool with a small slide which the kids liked.

Beach is a short walk or buggy ride away (5 mins) and there you can access the activities such as wind surfing and hobie cat which was great. Restaurant choices are good as JW Marriott is close and there is also local alternatives on the beach.

We certainly enjoyed our stay and would be happy to return but I would also look at the JW Marriott as the facilities there are even better.

Room Tip: Plunge pool suite on ground floor is an extra plus with easy access to main pool and activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Mai Khao Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Mai Khao Beach Resort! We truly appreciate your detailed review and thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. We hope you return to visit us on a future trip to Phuket!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is a brilliant place to go if you travel with your family. The 2 bedroom villa is very spacious, with a lavish dining and sitting area (on top of the 2 bedrooms)
The fully functional kitchen is a big plus if you like (need) to cook. There's a grocery store right outside the hotel where you can buy almost everything that you would need for your cooking.

The beach is (i think) categorised as a national park and hence it is very quite (because no one is allowed to put up anything on the beach). I was told that turtles come up to the beach to lay eggs (though did not see it). However, because of this, the beach is very quite and clean and just lying down over there is very relaxing.

The only downside is if you want to go to Patong. Thats about 50km away and a 1 hour taxi ride. So as long as you dont want to go to Patong, this place is brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Mai Khao Beach, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Our team is thrilled to read your five-star Tripadvisor review! We look forward to welcoming you back to Marriott’s Mai Khao Beach Resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

There are 3 Marriotts, the JW which is the hotel and then 2 beach clubs, one right by the hotel and the other separated by a shopping area. This is the one we stayed at. I think this review is going in the right place! The beach is really far, so we spent all our time basically at the one pool (the kids have a decent-sized slide into a very small separate pool as well). The two-bedroom apartment was huge and well-appointed. I could have done without the cockroach hanging on my bedroom curtain when we first arrived, but things looked up from there! The highlight for the kids was the extensive kids club activities. Excellent to keep and 8 and 9 year old busy. They were thoroughly entertained so the parents could relax.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Mai Khao Beach, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We are happy your family had a wonderful vacation with us! It is truly a pleasure to read your family enjoyed the luxury villa and children’s activities. It is our hope you can visit us again at Marriott’s Mai Khao Beach in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our family of five spend six lovely days in this fabulous resort. Although place might be a bit remote for some people we loved the place because we wanted to have a vacation without the noise of traffic and drunk tourists. Our daughters 8 and 10 loved Kids Club activities which were all free of charges and were very well organised.

We had every day lunch or dinner in resort restaurant we we loved the food as well as excellent and kind service.

Beach is in near proximity and you can walk there (10min) or take beach buggy ride provided by the hotel. Beach is nice and quiet and there's only non motorised water activities available.

Jelly fish stinged my daughter and hotel staff organised first very well and adviced us about medical consultation. Doctor and nurse are also available if needed.

We loved the size of the hotel since all the personnel knew us by name and we felt like we were part of the family. We visited also JW Marriott which is close to Beach Club but due to size we didn't get the same feeling as in Marriott Beach Club. We felt that this hotel combined in wonderful way Marriott classic style and friendly familylike style. Thank you concierge Kanitta for your always friendly assistance and Aya who took care of our daughter wellbeing after jellyfish stings. We will be definitely back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
23.9 mi away
Avista Phuket Resort & Spa
Avista Phuket Resort & Spa
#7 of 54 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,741 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
15.5 mi away
Point Yamu Resort by COMO
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Phuket Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Mai Khao Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Mai Khao Beach

Address: Mai Khao Talang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Mai Khao Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Agoda, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott's Mai Khao Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Marriotts Mai Khao
Mai Khao Marriotts
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Mai Khao Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.