We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place, Friendly Staff Great Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Mai Khao Beach

Save Saved
You added Marriott Mai Khao Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marriott Mai Khao Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mai Khao Talang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 40%
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Mai Khao
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Place, Friendly Staff Great Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and our 3 young children spent 3d2n here recently. We're members at MVC and was given this place to stay for free. Located in the northern part of Phuket and far from the "happening" places located to the south....yet we loved every moment of it. Marriott Mai Khai Beach vacation club has activities and facitlities to cater to all our needs....from children, teenagers and adults.....they keep us all feeling happy and satisfied.
My kids were happy by themselves playing at the Kid's Club with the staff and other children. Themed kid's activities were going on every 2 hrs and everyone enjoyed themselves. Basically we could leave our kids there for most of the day and they'd forget all about us. In fact....every morning our kids, lead by our 12yr old would simply leave our apt room and go to the kid's clubs themselves where they will join other kids and indulge in the activities. One of the highlights there is the baby elephant that comes twice a day. Kids can take pictures with the baby elephant. Its very friendly and seems to lift its trunk every time you say hello to it. In the afternoons when the temp and weather permits....we would all go for a swim in the pool. There's soo many things to do in the club area that we don't really need to leave it premises....
Upon checking in...we were given a 2 bedroom suite...which truly was absolutely beautiful and marvelous. Big master bedroom with a fluffy soft queensized bed attached to a huge bathroom with couple's bathtub. The other room had very comfy and soft twin beds. A very nice living room and dining table with fully equipped kitchen, Every room has a flat screen TV too with cable as well and free internet wifi. The kitchen, wow.....big fridge with all the kitchen utensils ou would ever need, stove, oven, microwave, blenders, coffeemaker, toaster...you name it...they got it. Oh and theres also an iron with board and washer and dryer as well!!!
There's actually 2 Marriotts there. One is Marriott Mai Khao Vacation Club and the other JW Marriott Phuket Beach Club. To get to the other you could just wait for a buggy that cycles these two places every few minutes and hop on. The staffs are friendly and will go out of their way to help you out. Takes a bit to understand what they're trying to say....but once you get the momentum going.....all is good.
Food and transportation tho...is extremely expensive. To head to town by taxi from lobby would cost you 800baht per trip. Food....for 2 adults and 3 kids....cost us an average of 3000 - 5000baht and doesnt taste as if it should cost that much at all. Basically, your paying for the stars....and not for the taste.
My advice would be...skip the hotel food. Rent a car (contact the bell counter at the lobby). Car rental costs around 1200baht with insurance + 200 for GPS for 24 hrs. I didnt use the GPS since there was only ONE main road/highway (the 402) which leads all the way to every where else. Never got lost and it was my 1st time driving in Phuket. Using a simple map I could get to Phuket Town....even to the famous Weekend Market...where food is a fraction the price of what you paid at the hotel and taste wayyyyyyy better!!!! For example...there's a seafood restaurant just a few (5-7km) km south of the club along the 402 called Taofun Seafood restaurant. Car rental = 1200 (24hrs) eat at local seafood restaurant = 1500baht ---total : 2700baht!!! and you get the car to go anywhere you want to....still paying ,much less than the 1 meal food at the restaurants....and you get authentic Thai food....tastes much better....and more satisfying.
Overall....the stay was memorable...our children loved it sooo much...we had a good time...and thats whats important!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    105
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
175
50
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a perfect resort for a short break.
We took up a referral offer and were very impressed, the accommodation is extremely well maintained and very spacious.
It's not a large resort, but plenty to do, pools are a good size, tennis courts, 2 restaurants, Kids club, and plenty of activities.
It's a short walk to the beach, although golf buggys are provided if required.

The presentation was also extremely good. Paul explained the proposition really well, answered our questions and without a hard sell. Whilst it wasn't right for us currently, it's a very compelling proposition, under a great brand, and if we ever do take a timeshare it will definitely be with Marriott.
In the meantime Marriott, and in particular the Marriott Vacation club will definitely be the first brand we look for when researching hotels for our next break.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem great, the ground floor ones have a small personal pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Marriott Mai Khao beach property is heaven on earth. Facilities the resort provided were best and one doesnt need to carry anything else apart from their clothes. They have a super market connected to the resort and have a private beach. Spa is wonderful and swimming pools are well maintained. Best part is the baby elephant which visits the resort every day. Loved my stay and wish I could visit again.

Room Tip: Spend more time at the resort than site seeing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had an excellent stay at Mai Khao with family in Nov'12. A 4 night referral offer was taken up by us and we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the property. The villas are exceptionally well maintained and the staff is quite good. Lots of fun activities for the kids - its a place designed for a family vacation. We were aware that the place is far from the city centre (Patong) however it was a conscious decision to stay here. Local car hire for the duration was cheap and extremely convenient for our trips into the city. The villas are equipped with all amenities including cooking facilities. There is a small convenience store next door (though prices are 2-3 times of regular marts) for supplies - its better (if you have a vehicle) to go down to supermarts and pick up stuff. The room dining was average as the choices are very limited. The Mai Khao beach is amazingly quite and serene. The JW Mariott next door is nice (though crowded and noisy - I prefered Mai Khao resort any day). The sales presentation (if you are on a referral trip) is mandatory and they do try and do a hardsell (buy-now or loose offer type). We did not take it up and they did seem a little miffed.

Nevertheless, overall the trip to Mai Khao was excellent (try to get a room with the plunge pool - its on the ground floor, but I suspect they may want to reserve it for members or paying guests instead of referrals). Don't forget to hire a car if you plan to stay here (the hotel guys arrange it for you)

Room Tip: Villas on Ground Floor have a plunge pool - try to get one. Otherwise take pool facing higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The property is well maintained and there are a number of activities for the kids in the vacation club itself. In fact, it was a good and memoriable experience for my kids especially for the session whereby a baby elephant played with them. The guest should also try the the kids' club at the JW Marriott hotel itself as it is much bigger. The rooms are big and clean and facilities are great for a vacation club. I had tried the breakfast at the club restaurant and the spread is normal. Even the Thai buffet dinner spread at the JW Marriott hotel is of average standard. However, the staff are friendly and helpful although at times they may misunderstand our requests. The massage services at the SPA is also good although it is slightly expensive. The hotel is not far from the airport but is quite far from Patong beach and the taxi fares to the main tourist area is not cheap. Generally, this is a good hotel if you want a quiet and relaxing stay in the compound itself although it is far from the main tourist area.

Room Tip: During my stay, I noticed there are rooms with private pool and I suggest that these will be a bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I'm posting this story since the normal way of notifying a business of a bad experience (customer service) was such a fail that it deserves to be publicly called out:

We tried out the Marriott on a discounted 4 day 3 night trip to decide if the vacation club package would be a good buy for us. Since this was a family trip including my parents and a small child, we spent the whole time on premises for all dining and activities.

The Good: facilities are nice, the staff friendly and helpful, and the rooms some of the nicest we've stayed in by vacation club standards.

The Bad: food quality is inconsistent- a lackluster buffet our first evening followed by much better room service breakfast, cafe lunch and then a evening buffet all from the same kitchen. We suspected there was something wrong with dinner as the next morning 3 of us came down with day-ruining diarrhea - hence possible food poisoning.

The Ugly: When my wife and I explained this to the customer service rep, a borderline dismissive expat, the complete lack of empathy was shocking. He couldn't care less that part of our trip was ruined by a break down in food safety standards on Marriott's end. He even remarked that other people also had similar issues with the same restaurant and that "they take these things seriously and would certainly look into it"... wtf?! To make matters worse, we were harassed and insulted by an overly aggressive sales manager, and when we mentioned this, the rep cared more about defending the sales manager than even bothering to listen to our story. Adding final insult to injury, the rep's way of "making up for this" was to slash the sales tax on a last last chance package to enjoy the same Marriott club again (obviously we chose not to buy into the club nor will we ever be returning).

In conclusion, if Marriott is in the business of selling a memorable experience and great service, they've certainly hit the mark for us with this trip. Our family will definitely remember this experience and the wonderful lack of guest empathy.

1 star for our stay and experience.
1 extra star for the wonderful local staff, who we would like to acknowledge

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful service, a bit remote but great for chilling . Pool and public areas really well maintained and looked after. Very high quality apartments. Staff could not give more service - always a smile and typical Thai politeness.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Mai Khao Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Mai Khao Beach

Also Known As:
Marriott Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Marriott Mai Khao Beach Hotel
Marriotts Mai Khao
Mai Khao Marriotts
Marriott Mai Khao Beach Phuket
Address: Mai Khao Talang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Mai Khao Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Marriott Mai Khao Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Mai Khao Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.