We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life time experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Mai Khao Beach

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Mai Khao Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mai Khao Talang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Mai Khao
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Life time experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Marriott Mai Khao beach property is heaven on earth. Facilities the resort provided were best and one doesnt need to carry anything else apart from their clothes. They have a super market connected to the resort and have a private beach. Spa is wonderful and swimming pools are well maintained. Best part is the baby elephant which visits the resort every day. Loved my stay and wish I could visit again.

Room Tip: Spend more time at the resort than site seeing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    118
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
196
54
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had an excellent stay at Mai Khao with family in Nov'12. A 4 night referral offer was taken up by us and we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the property. The villas are exceptionally well maintained and the staff is quite good. Lots of fun activities for the kids - its a place designed for a family vacation. We were aware that the place is far from the city centre (Patong) however it was a conscious decision to stay here. Local car hire for the duration was cheap and extremely convenient for our trips into the city. The villas are equipped with all amenities including cooking facilities. There is a small convenience store next door (though prices are 2-3 times of regular marts) for supplies - its better (if you have a vehicle) to go down to supermarts and pick up stuff. The room dining was average as the choices are very limited. The Mai Khao beach is amazingly quite and serene. The JW Mariott next door is nice (though crowded and noisy - I prefered Mai Khao resort any day). The sales presentation (if you are on a referral trip) is mandatory and they do try and do a hardsell (buy-now or loose offer type). We did not take it up and they did seem a little miffed.

Nevertheless, overall the trip to Mai Khao was excellent (try to get a room with the plunge pool - its on the ground floor, but I suspect they may want to reserve it for members or paying guests instead of referrals). Don't forget to hire a car if you plan to stay here (the hotel guys arrange it for you)

Room Tip: Villas on Ground Floor have a plunge pool - try to get one. Otherwise take pool facing higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The property is well maintained and there are a number of activities for the kids in the vacation club itself. In fact, it was a good and memoriable experience for my kids especially for the session whereby a baby elephant played with them. The guest should also try the the kids' club at the JW Marriott hotel itself as it is much bigger. The rooms are big and clean and facilities are great for a vacation club. I had tried the breakfast at the club restaurant and the spread is normal. Even the Thai buffet dinner spread at the JW Marriott hotel is of average standard. However, the staff are friendly and helpful although at times they may misunderstand our requests. The massage services at the SPA is also good although it is slightly expensive. The hotel is not far from the airport but is quite far from Patong beach and the taxi fares to the main tourist area is not cheap. Generally, this is a good hotel if you want a quiet and relaxing stay in the compound itself although it is far from the main tourist area.

Room Tip: During my stay, I noticed there are rooms with private pool and I suggest that these will be a bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I'm posting this story since the normal way of notifying a business of a bad experience (customer service) was such a fail that it deserves to be publicly called out:

We tried out the Marriott on a discounted 4 day 3 night trip to decide if the vacation club package would be a good buy for us. Since this was a family trip including my parents and a small child, we spent the whole time on premises for all dining and activities.

The Good: facilities are nice, the staff friendly and helpful, and the rooms some of the nicest we've stayed in by vacation club standards.

The Bad: food quality is inconsistent- a lackluster buffet our first evening followed by much better room service breakfast, cafe lunch and then a evening buffet all from the same kitchen. We suspected there was something wrong with dinner as the next morning 3 of us came down with day-ruining diarrhea - hence possible food poisoning.

The Ugly: When my wife and I explained this to the customer service rep, a borderline dismissive expat, the complete lack of empathy was shocking. He couldn't care less that part of our trip was ruined by a break down in food safety standards on Marriott's end. He even remarked that other people also had similar issues with the same restaurant and that "they take these things seriously and would certainly look into it"... wtf?! To make matters worse, we were harassed and insulted by an overly aggressive sales manager, and when we mentioned this, the rep cared more about defending the sales manager than even bothering to listen to our story. Adding final insult to injury, the rep's way of "making up for this" was to slash the sales tax on a last last chance package to enjoy the same Marriott club again (obviously we chose not to buy into the club nor will we ever be returning).

In conclusion, if Marriott is in the business of selling a memorable experience and great service, they've certainly hit the mark for us with this trip. Our family will definitely remember this experience and the wonderful lack of guest empathy.

1 star for our stay and experience.
1 extra star for the wonderful local staff, who we would like to acknowledge

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful service, a bit remote but great for chilling . Pool and public areas really well maintained and looked after. Very high quality apartments. Staff could not give more service - always a smile and typical Thai politeness.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our experience at the Marriott Mai Khao was excellent right from airport pick-up to checking out. Staff was friendly and helpful. In the time we waited for our villa to be available, we even got to take a walk around and check if the location was suitable. The rooms are huge with a gigantic living room and I've seen studio apartments smaller than the bathroom in the master bedroom. The private pool adjoining the bedroom was handy to get into at odd hours. The villa is equipped with a fully functional kitchen, refrigerator and washer-dryer, the last of which was particularly handy. The Mai Khao beach is a short walk away and is a fantastic place to relax in the waves and to get massages.

The hotel offers a bunch of activities for tourists which we found to be quite expensive. These are day-long trips to different locations around including transport, meals and activities like canoeing. We were able to save over 60% on those by driving out to those places and talking directly with the boat-owners.

The only nit I'd pick is that the hotel is a fair distance away from Patong beach where all the night-life seems to be. So we ended up driving a fair distance all nights. For a relaxed beach vacation, fantastic destination.

Room Tip: Ground level villas have adjoining private pools. Food at 'Zest' is excellent (pan-asian cui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The villa is fantastic and really well equipped. There are washing machine and dryer which can be used for free. There is also complimentary internet access in the villa and across the resort. The pool is really nice and they have buy one get one free on cocktails from 4.30pm-6.30pm.

Since the resort is in a remote location and after reading reviews about the high taxi costs from Mao Khao we decided to get a Hire Car. We didn't have any issues at all and are really pleased that we decided to do this as it enabled to travel around the island. It also meant that we had a wide range of restaurants to choose from. The hotel restaurants are limited and expensive in comparison to other restaurants on the island. If you don't get a car then both Kindee and Jakkajan are really close and serve lovely food.

The Mai Khao Beach is really beautiful and very quiet. This is situated at the JW Marriott which you can access via free shuttle.

Overall I would definately recommend this resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Mai Khao Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Mai Khao Beach

Address: Mai Khao Talang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Mai Khao Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Marriott's Mai Khao Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Marriotts Mai Khao
Mai Khao Marriotts
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Mai Khao Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.