We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, spacious villas, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Mai Khao Beach

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Mai Khao Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mai Khao Talang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Mai Khao
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, spacious villas, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our experience at the Marriott Mai Khao was excellent right from airport pick-up to checking out. Staff was friendly and helpful. In the time we waited for our villa to be available, we even got to take a walk around and check if the location was suitable. The rooms are huge with a gigantic living room and I've seen studio apartments smaller than the bathroom in the master bedroom. The private pool adjoining the bedroom was handy to get into at odd hours. The villa is equipped with a fully functional kitchen, refrigerator and washer-dryer, the last of which was particularly handy. The Mai Khao beach is a short walk away and is a fantastic place to relax in the waves and to get massages.

The hotel offers a bunch of activities for tourists which we found to be quite expensive. These are day-long trips to different locations around including transport, meals and activities like canoeing. We were able to save over 60% on those by driving out to those places and talking directly with the boat-owners.

The only nit I'd pick is that the hotel is a fair distance away from Patong beach where all the night-life seems to be. So we ended up driving a fair distance all nights. For a relaxed beach vacation, fantastic destination.

Room Tip: Ground level villas have adjoining private pools. Food at 'Zest' is excellent (pan-asian cui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    115
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
194
52
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The villa is fantastic and really well equipped. There are washing machine and dryer which can be used for free. There is also complimentary internet access in the villa and across the resort. The pool is really nice and they have buy one get one free on cocktails from 4.30pm-6.30pm.

Since the resort is in a remote location and after reading reviews about the high taxi costs from Mao Khao we decided to get a Hire Car. We didn't have any issues at all and are really pleased that we decided to do this as it enabled to travel around the island. It also meant that we had a wide range of restaurants to choose from. The hotel restaurants are limited and expensive in comparison to other restaurants on the island. If you don't get a car then both Kindee and Jakkajan are really close and serve lovely food.

The Mai Khao Beach is really beautiful and very quiet. This is situated at the JW Marriott which you can access via free shuttle.

Overall I would definately recommend this resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The villa is fantastic and well equipped. There are washing machine and dryer which can be used for free. There is also complimentary internet access in the villa and across the resort. We chilled out at the resort most of the time during our four-day stay. The pool is great and we spent a lot of time there. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Since the resort is in a remote location, dining options are quite limited. We had a dinner at Ginger Taste at JW Marriott (connected to Marriott by free shuttle bus) which was quite nice but not spectacular. We also had in-room dining which was affordable and quite good. We also called for delivery from Kin Dee Restaurant which is near Marriott. The food was more authentic but the fried rice was disappointing. We also took a bike ride around the resort area (bicycles are available for use for 2 hours daily on a complimentary basis). We cycled to a small old town near the lake area to have lunch at a local restaurant there. The food was great and authentic but there were just too many flies!

The Mai Khao Beach is just okay so we did not spend much time there. We only went there to see the sunset.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Last day of another brilliant week here. Have to thank the staff for they made all the difference. Starting with Mr Gee again to Apple, Champ, Sprite and the lovely ladies at the kids club. Participated in many activities like soccer, tennis, yoga, Pilates, kickboxing to name a few. Kids had some fun at Nintendo and crafty work as well as organic farming and desert making at the kids club. Apartments are spacious and well maintained. Overall excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This service is excellent as in all Thai resorts with all the friendly staff. While not located at the sea front, it is only a short walk from the beach which is secluded as compared to the hustle and bustle of Patong Beach. If you are looking for quiet getaway, this is an excellent resort to consider. Go for an outdoor cycling guided or on your own around the area or laze around the pool. To get around Phuket, rent a taxi on hourly rate!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A great hotel right from the pick up at the airport to the drop off at the airport.

Kids club was brill and the baby elephant a total hit with my 6 year old (and me)

Room was huge and plunge pool great.

BBQ at night cooked by the staff on the terrace of our room was a great way to end the holiday.

Room Tip: We had a bottom floor 2 bedroom with a plunge pool away from the pool and it was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our visit to The Marriott Mai Khao was a highlight to a three week timeshare visit on Phuket.
Prior to our visit we contacted the resort and requested a top floor location for optimum views. Upon check-in our request was granted. The unit was exceptional, very large rooms with tasteful furnishings and colors. The kitchen was fully stocked for all of our meal preparations. We are seniors and prefer to do most of our cooking in the condos.
One evening we ordered room service for dinner from the on-site restaurant. Service entered the room with a nice portable oven and set our table for an excellent dinner. We made a stop at the local Tesco grocery store on our trip north to the resort, and stocked up on supplies for the week ahead.
The resort is not directly on the beach, and sits north of the JW Marriott, while the Marriott Phuket Beach Club sits to the south of the JW. The view from our very large patio was over the Anantara Villas to the Andaman Sea in the near distance. A walk way near the Turtle Village provides access to the beach area. Guests from all three resorts share the water activity desk, beach front at the JW Marriott. Numerour water toys are available, hobie cat, kayaks, boards, etc. There is also a very small Thai Village of sorts located in front of The Beach Club with $10.00 massages and a food stand.
The Resort has one large pool with a nice amount of chaises for sun enjoyment. Many water features flora and fauna. The poolside bar area was a popular place during happy hours. Many activities were available for all age groups.
Staff throughout the Resort were professional, courteous with always a friendly "hello and how are you today" greeting.
The Turtle Village Shopping area located next to the Resort was a pleasant place to pickup some last minute gifts before heading home. There is a small market place "Turtle Mart" located downstairs from the street level. They always featured fresh fruit packages and meats with packaged liquor items, and the essential items for preparing a meal in the condo. Prices weren't cheap but when you are the only game in town, this is the way it shall be. Two restaurants, Bill Bentley Pub and the very popular Coffee Club. The latter featured great choices and the prices were not out of line.
At last the most enjoyment was the twice daily visit to the Resort by our two year old baby elephant. Old and young alike would grab their cameras and run to her side. She would pose for pictures, play with you, and high five with her trunk. Visit the pool edge and spray the children with the water from her trunk. On our last couple of hours at the Resort she arrived and we went to say "good bye", I took her little stiff hair on top of her head and placed a purple silk flower. She wrapped her trunk around my nect and gave me a great big kiss on the mouth. Wow, I've been kissed by an elephant, what more would you expect from gifting.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Mai Khao Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Mai Khao Beach

Address: Mai Khao Talang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Mai Khao Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Mai Khao Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Marriotts Mai Khao
Mai Khao Marriotts
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Mai Khao Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.