We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de France

Hotel de France
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de France to your Saves list
Hotel de France
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 place du Docteur Octave Marquet, 87600 Rochechouart, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rochechouart
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in this hotel towards the end of nov it was freezing outside but what a warm welcome inside the room we stayed in was cosy and warm, what can I say about the food in the restaurant just excellent, service first class, highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We spent three days here and had no complaints at all. The staff were fantastic, the food was good enough for us to return for meals even when we stayed elsewhere. Very good value for money and it is worth choosing the top-end menu for about 25 Euros, I doubt that you'll regret it. The menu Etap at 15 Euros is a case of you get what you pay for. Their rice pudding (cold) is utterly scrummy and their cheese course offers a good selection.

The restaurant is closed on Sunday nights but there is a pizza place just a building or two from the hotel which served the best pizza we have ever eaten. Unfortunately I can't remember what it's called, but it's visually unmissable and hotel staff will point you in the right direction.

If staying at the hotel on a Sunday night the staff will make sure that you have a code for the door so that you can come and go as you please (the told us no less than 4 times!). There are no staff on duty on a Sunday night, so a spur of the moment stay on a Sunday night is out of the question. Similarly, if you plan to return late, make sure you have the code. If for any reason they don't give you the code when you check-in, ask for it anyway. Also, if you're a smoker you will need the code if you want to nip out for a cigarette at the crack of dawn before anyone is on duty.

Although breakfasts are buffet style and the coffee is from a machine, it was perfectly adequate. I agree with the reviewer who said that the croissants let the side down, but being aware that they're not the best we just had other things that were on offer. Other than that, breakfast was absolutely fine with no shortage of choice. Even at the crack of dawn the staff were cheery!

If it is any testimony to the food, it was pretty much full every evening with locals and visitors alike and meals can be eaten on the terrace.

Rooms are very simply furnished but perfectly comfortable and adequate.

Oh! And if you lose the wi-fi signal just mention it to one of the staff and ask them to check that the plug hasn't been pulled out. They're a super bunch of people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

After being recommended by friends, we visited the restaurant at Hotel de France, but were extremely disappointed by the quality of the food, which we found unappetising and not as fresh as it could have been. The cheeseboard was particularly poor and some of it should not have been served at all. Not recommended.
If I could give it no stars I would, but I can't!!

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verteuil-sur-Charente, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

The hotel is well situated in a pretty village square with ample, free car-parking just outside. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. There’s a small café/bar area just inside the front door. Our room (€48 per night) with en-suite bathroom was on the first floor. The room was clean, tidy and simply furnished. There’s free wi-fi in every room. Unfortunately the walls and ceilings have little, or no, soundproofing and we could hear other guests’ conversations and activities in neighbouring rooms…

The buffet style, self-service breakfast is €8.50. There are croissants, bread, and a selection of jams and conserves. Disappointingly the only coffee and juice included in the breakfast deal is from vending machines. We only had this breakfast on one morning. The second morning we went to the boulangerie on the other side of the square to buy croissants etc which we brought back to the hotel then ordered fresh coffee at the bar counter. This was much cheaper and better quality.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Had a fantastic meal with good friends the food and the wine where excellent and the atmosphere second to none. If you need food this is the place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: 7 place du Docteur Octave Marquet, 87600 Rochechouart, France
Location: France > Limousin > Haute-Vienne > Rochechouart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rochechouart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.