We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, cute hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bellerive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Bellerive to your Saves list
Le Bellerive
29 Avenue de la Tour, 87470 Peyrat-le-Chateau, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Brackley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely people, cute hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Helen and Dave are lovely, and are developing a really nice place. Still needs a bit to do, but coming on nicely. Peyrat Le Chateau is a bit run down, but needs visitors to bring it alive. The lake in the hills nearby is fabulous and very peaceful. Great place for a motorhome, close to Limoges, and a reasonable drive from Caen. They did is a lovely meal and very reasonably priced. A good staging post, the Bellerive is homely and nice although not luxurious.
We will return!
Cheers
Jeff and Ruth

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for a week during the Bastille celebrations. The English owners, David and Helen are very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. They even let you decide what time you want breakfast which I loved!!!!! The hotel is undergoing lots of improvements as they haven't been there long and I understand the bedrooms are getting a much needed revamp this winter. Rooms were immaculately clean with clean bedding and towels every day and lots of tea and coffee in the room. Views are beautiful - we stayed on the top floor and our room had a bath, shower, french doors onto a little patio overlooking the lake. I loved the friendly atmosphere of the hotel which seems very laid back but believe me, they work hard to make your stay the best it can be. Thoroughly recommend this place for a couple of days stop over or longer if you want some R & R and need a bit of looking after.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in Bellerive for two nights only and it was awesome, the comfort double room had a view of the hills/lake to be in 2014, a bathtub and a plasma TV. Breakfast was free of charge and the rooms had a kettle in it. The warmest welcome awaited us and the food, served on the terrace outside the hotel was superb, the portions are huge and I strongly recommend the salmon/it comes with caviar and shrimps:-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Made to feel we were staying with family or friends. A lovely French hotel with a British touch. We enjoyed our brief stay immensely and would recommend it to others visiting the region. Plans to refurbish some of the rooms will make it the most desirable place to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Ask the owner - he'll always give you the best available. The lake view rooms on the front will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Hotel is situated in a beautiful location overlooking a lake. Unfortunately when we there the lake had been drained to clean the water so we overlooked mud flats! Having said that I can imagine it will be picturesque when it is refilled.
The hotel is run by a very friendly ex British soldier and his wife who are progressively refurbishing the hotel. The rooms are spacious but very basic at the moment but will be better once refurbished. Having said that it still represented good value as it was not expensive. We went on a boys biking tour so all quite practical men but I wouldn't take my wife there until they have renovated the rooms as they are too basic especially the bathrooms which haven't been touched for decades.
The owner could not have been friendlier and nothing was too much trouble so for that reason more than anything else I am giving it 4 stars as opposed to 3 which would probably be a more accurate reflection of the hotel in it urgent state.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Bellerive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bellerive

Address: 29 Avenue de la Tour, 87470 Peyrat-le-Chateau, France
Location: France > Limousin > Haute-Vienne > Peyrat-le-Chateau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Peyrat-le-Chateau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide a warm welcome and a comfortable place to stay in the heart of the Limousin. We have 9 bedrooms which all overlook the lake, and a restaurant and cafe-bar with a terrace perfect for resting after a busy day sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Bellerive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bellerive Peyrat-Le-Chateau, France - Limousin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bellerive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.