We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Property but deficient service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj Bekal

Save Saved
You added Vivanta by Taj Bekal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Bekal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kappil Beach, Bekal 671319, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Bekal
Bangalore
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good Property but deficient service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

It's a wow property to enter, stay and relax. The achitecture is exceptional with mounted rooms, local style hammock on the balcony of the room. All the rooms are spread over this vast property which are like a villa next to the other. Being a business visit, we could not experience all the facilities here but I am told the Spa is the highlight of this property which is huge and with some signature therapies. The food is interesting but the service kills the tempo of this great resort which is dull and the staff not very well trained. The location is on one nook corner so do not expect to many options for a stoll outside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    89
    27
    3
    3
See reviews for
150
105
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed in Bekal from 16th May for 3 nites with family....Was a real welcome break...nice property ,well spread out over more than 20 acres...children really enjoyed their time in the pool (celsius) and the private beach...food in latitude(their main restaurant) is good...recommend to go in for kerala saadya lunch once during the stay...they have a seafood restaurant called - by the bay which is also worth trying out once...special mention about jiva spa which is supposed to be a real big one and the treatments are worth trying...negative is spa seems to be slightly over priced...we went round the property cycling or walking and spent most of the time within the property and enjoyed a good relaxing holiday...staff as usual are courteous and smiling....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We enjoyed the experience thoroughly except for a few glitches. First the good things - The cottage was excellent. Nicely furnished and overlooking the backwaters. Couldn't ask for more. Fantastic location on the beach and very quiet. The Spa was a bit of a let down. The mens sauna was not working at all. The jacuzzi was only partly working. When we enquired, we were told that people are looking into it. I had high hopes on the restaurant called - By the Bay. Although the staff were very courteous and polite, the food could have been better. Note - All sporting activities were charged.

Room Tip: Get the room with a courtyard view and a pool. They are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Staff is very helpful and always smiling.

The beach was very clean and it seemed as though we had almost the entire beach to ourselves.

Kids enjoyed the fish pond. They took bread from the breakfast buffet to feed the fish and none of the staff complained.

We enjoyed riding the cycles around the property and were happy that we didn't have to pay extra for the cycles.

Our kids enjoyed the general pool which had the attached kids pool. We were a little disappointed that the pool was open until 8pm but we could only order poolside snacks until 6pm.

The room was spacious and clean, as expected.

Room Tip: We don't recommend the villa with the personal pool if you have small children because I think t...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Taj echoes service hospitality and makes the guest feel like a king.

They never ever say a NO to the guest, and I think that sums it all.

The pool villa is WOW and don't miss the spa experience no matter what.

Just back and wanna return!

Room Tip: Go for the supreme pool villa - awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Vivanta Bekal by Taj is about a year and four months old. We took a family break in April end. It is a very professionally run resort. The atmosphere and ambience is superb. There is a backwaters river that runs through the resort and the resort has its own beach. We stayed in a temptation villa with a pool. This was awesome ! The pool is 4.9 ft deep and not a play pool. The room is great and the bath tub fabulous. The staff are extremely courteous right from the GM to the house keeper. There are cycles in the resort, kayaking and archery, fishing, etc to keep you busy. It's a wonderful place for kids. The food is good and no complaints at all. The spa is very well kept and is one of the biggest spas in India.
We took a trip to Bekal fort which is about a 10-15 min drive and was a good outing.
If you are deciding to stay here, dont think any further. It's a fabulous resort with great staff and activities to unwind.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had not heard of this property till I was invited for my brother in laws 70th birthday bash.It was as nice as it can get.The place is well laid out in a vast 23 acres of land having about 100 odd villas some with plunge pool - luxury at its peak.Property is simply amazing.Staff efficient and courteous.
Food was ordered by the host for lunch and dinner which was very good.Breakfast was adequate.Need to put some fresh cut fruits at the spread.
Housekeeping was very helpful and heeded to all my requests.
Best part is it has a beach front plus a river along the property.Outdoor pool was warm and inviting.For outdoor type there is kayaking,fishing, archery and you could hire a bike and visit the Bekal Fort which is about 6 Kms away.
There are ground floor rooms with a sit out where I stayed and was extremely happy.And there are first floor rooms with a balcony with a lovely view of the lake.The best are the Villas with plunge pools very reasonably priced.Only regret that there are only about 16 and we were a large group so everyone was not lucky to get one.
Only hitch in visiting this property is the journey from the airport as you land in Karnatka and cross over to Kerala.The check post at the border is time consuming.On return we did not have much difficulty.The best part was the Spa.the biggest of all Taj properties.Overall a good holiday.

Room Tip: Choose the villas with a plunge pool or the ground floor villas as they remain cool even in hot summ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vivanta by Taj Bekal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Bekal

Address: Kappil Beach, Bekal 671319, India
Location: India > Kerala > Bekal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Bekal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Bekal 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Bekal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj Bekal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.