We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj Bekal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj Bekal to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj Bekal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kappil Beach, Bekal 671319, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bekal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai
1 review
“A hidden haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Vivanta by Taj at Bekal is a complete surprise. It is a hidden haven, beautiful property, absolutely great service. My son and I had the best time and felt well taken care of. Only missing was fresh fish!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivantaB, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Bekal, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your compliments. We hope you will plan your future Holidays with us. Best wishes.Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    127
    34
    3
    8
See reviews for
206
171
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

1) Help desk was good
2) Stay was excellent: room service very good
3) Spa: very average: Not worth the money you spend.
4) Food: below average: Coffee and morning breakfast, was really bad.
Lot needs to be improved on food. We even skipped dinner, as the quality was bad. Do not have much vegetarian options as well
5) Souvenir: Its misses the local charm.Something which is much closer to home, like kerala mural paintings, Ravivarma paintings. All I could find was things imported from Bolloywood and some designer jewellery, and thats it.

Room Tip: go for suits, you get a private swimming pool, but definitely worth the money you pay for your priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivantaB, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Bekal, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are in the process of procuring local merchandise for our outlet. Your suggestions on adding more vegetarian options will be kept in mind while the Chefs relaunch the menus at the Resort. Best wishes, Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A place where people make difference; stayed last week and found this place full of courteous staff with ready to help nature!!
We stayed in deluxe room with plunge pool that was having great experience, best part we had not experience single word NO in overall stay; They were ready to help and service as per our requirement whether its dinning option or anything else without any hesitation.
It has private beach so one can feel more comfortable while relaxing at beach side…we had great fun while fishing there in backwater.
Overall excellent experience as per Taj quality.

Room Tip: Deluxe room with plunge pool was a good option to relax and its near to reception area!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were in a group of 10 and stayed here for 2nights.The property is picturesque, with beach and backwaters nearby.Loved the room,though a looking mirror was missing ( for putting makeup or shaving).Staff is courteous eager to help and very pleasant.Lunch and dinner menu was average with lot of items being recycled.The activities offered in house are limited,though we enjoyed Kayaking in the backwaters.loved cycling up & down the resort.The instructor was very good in his job.I had a bad experience personally in one of the services at the Spa.The girl who attended to me was not a trainer resource,she missed steps that her colleague was offering to my colleague sitting next to me.She had no idea what she was doing and what she was suppose to do.The Spa experience was totally not worth at all..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had our first vacation with our 9 month old son and had a blast! Thanks to the excellent team at Vivanta, Bekal. They did everything possible to make the little one comfortable and that made all the difference.

The Deluxe rooms with the private plunge pools are awesome. Had a great time relaxing in the pool. The pool was well lit at nights and the water was just warm enough for a night swim. The outdoor bathtub , swing-bed and the sitting area made it wonderful. The property is beautiful with backwaters running through it and a very clean and almost empty beach 200 metres away. We didnt feel the need to venture out and had a great 4 days within the resort.

Would highly recommend to those who want a relaxing break from work and the hectic life in big , mad cities. Would love to go back again myself.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe room with a plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a stunning resort that has been built, in my opinion, primarily for a romantic vacation. The villas are beautiful - and come with an outdoor day swing-bed, an outdoor shower and bathtub - which are all enclosed in your own garden like enclosure. One of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in. The property is very beautiful .. at the pool, you can see both the backwaters and the sea.

The hotel ambience is warm, and the staff are friendly but not intrusive. We loved the food at both the restaurants.

The hotel also organized a trek in a private spice plantation - this took us through coconut plantations and down a hillside, then we waded across a river and went to a rainforest. On the way back we took a dip in the river, and also got an all natural fish pedicure at a little waterfall. We ended with a traditional Kerala Sadhya lunch - which was spectacular. Would definitely recommend this trek to all visitors.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivantaB, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Bekal, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is a plasure to know that you enjoyed the stay with us. We look forward to your future visits. Best wishes.Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A great resort with excellent staff to make your holiday worth remembering. Just back from the resort and thought of reviewing it before I miss any point. We flew down to Mangalore from Bangalore and took a cab. The charge was Rs 2000/- one way.There is a Prepaid taxi booth at the airport just before the exit where one can book a cab after landing at the airport. Cheaper options from Mangalore airport would be to first reach Mangalore city and take a Bus to Kasargod. The fare comes to around Rs 50 per person ( approx USD 1). From Kasargod take an auto to the resort but this entire trip would take a long time. The hotel also provides a pick and drop service which comes at Rs 3800/- one way inclusive of taxes. The cab journey takes just under 2 hours. The road is good but is 2 lane so expect some delay due to traffic mostly in Mangalore city or at cross roads.

We reached the hotel in just under two hours. For the first timer it might be difficult to spot the hotel. At Hotel Ranjees Inn which comes on the right hand side , take a right turn into the narrow lane and keep following the road. The resort is approx 2 kms from the main road. Our check inn was smooth and after a welcome drink we were lead to our rooms. We had booked a Deluxe Delight Room with Plunge Pool and were we not happy to see the room.There is a day bed just across the entrance with the plunge pool next to it.The pool is 4.9 ft deep and has a level floor. There are lights inside the pool for good visibility at night andone should definitely take a swim under the stars at night. There is also an outdoor shower and bath tub next to the pool.

The room is huge with Chitra Pothi art on one wall and a large LCD TV. Now this is one hotel where you DO get a lot of channels , English, Hindi and Regional to watch.The AC is pretty powerful although it is set to work between temp of 20C to 25C.

Some of the facilities available to the guests are lockers in all rooms, choice of English/Hindi DVD's available at the reception, complimentry fruit daily-just ASK. There is an ASK button on the phone which connects you to the Reception and you can put your request through.

The property is huge and has a backwater running through the property. There is a private beach which beach beds where one can sit and hear the waves crashing on the shores.As the property is big the hotel has put into use golf cars or " buggies" for the guests to move around. There are cycles as well for guests to ride around the property.There are 3 restaurants By the Bay which specialises in Sea Food, Latitude-where breakfast is served and Dinner Buffet is served and Ivory bar-a bar. There is also a small grill restarant near the pool which serves grill food.

The hotel has some activities like kayaking ( Rs. 200/ kayak- it was complimentry earlier), Archery,outdoor tours, to keep the guests busy. The Jiva Spa is huge and one of the biggest amongst the Vivanta Brand.

What I did not like was the menu spread. It would make a lot of sense to have more choices in the menu in all the restaurants. Do try the Syrian Fish Biryani. The quantity was good for one person and was very tasty. The breakfast spread is huge and if you have tried the breakfast at other Vivanta,Taj, Gateway Hotels it was almost the same as them.

We spent a good 3 nights at the resort and enjoyed every moment of it. From the wow moments like our anniversary cake on arrival to the resort facilites to the plunge pool left us refreshed and recharged. The staff is extremely friendly and right from the Security Guard to the Housekeeping staff are more than willing to ensure one has a pleasant stay here. Special thanks to Hanish, Bipin,Jayanth, Shalet for ensuring we had a memorable stay.

We definitely recommend this hotel to relax, refresh and renew and would love to return .

Room Tip: Choose a room with a Plunge Pool if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivantaB, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Bekal, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your compliments have been shared with the Team Members. Best wishes.Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj Bekal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Bekal

Address: Kappil Beach, Bekal 671319, India
Location: India > Kerala > Bekal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bekal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Bekal 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Bekal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj Bekal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.