We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Playa de Muro Village

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Playa de Muro Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iberostar Playa de Muro Village
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Albufera s/n, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 hotels in Playa de Muro
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We ended up at Playa De Muro Village after a last minute cancellation of our originally booked hotel...best thing that could of happened to us! We enjoyed every thing the hotel had to offer, great food, exceptional staff, nothing was to much always friendly and helpful, the hotel was very clean at all times. A very good kids club staffed by competent people which our 4yr old son enjoyed,Great location a stones throw from the beach! A 30 second walk to the beach from the pool(passing the bar on the way!) it is worth spending the extra money to stay at the village hotel rather than the sister hotel next door as it feels more personal and not as busy,its worth knowing that you can use the facilities of the sister hotel but the residents from there are unable to use the Muro Village hotel

The negatives would be not a great deal of quality places to eat/drink within easy distance of the hotel, the hotel bar shuts at 2330hrs so if you are a party animal start early!! We stayed there August 2012 avery busy time in the hotel therefore sun bed availability could be an issue on some days.

We would defiantly return to this hotel as we had a quality holiday and met some fantastic people,a very nice family hotel without the feeling your staying in a school playground!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    37
    10
    12
    2
See reviews for
74
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

We are staying here as I write this review, room 6113. I normally wait for my trip to end before I review but I have fully made up my mind to saying how outstanding this place is and the unbeliveable outstanding service the staff offer. Absolutely nothing is a problem, what ever you ask for, and they actually enjoy helping you. May I also say that Peter in reception has been so very helpful also with a problem I had which was not connected to the hotel.

The restaurants are outstanding, the best so far out of hundreds of hotels I have stayed at, of which some were 5 star.

The beach and sea is lovely and the best for kids as you can walk out very far in shallows.

The all inclusive package is a bit of a treat and includes all drinks and cocktails except gin for some strange reason.

Tv channels are bbc1 and itv which is not brilliant but I'm happy, kids could have done with a kiddie channel, but never mind.

Shops, there is some proper clothes shops opposite the hotel with some nice decent quality brands for sale, there also a toy shop for the kids which is very good

Swimming pool is very good, no sun bed towel problem at all, plenty of empty beds

The village gardens are immaculate

Entainment is very good and the kids love it.

Things I am not happy with

For some reason when we open the fridge in the room, it smells awful, it makes me actually feel sick when I open it because it smells so bad, I think someone may have let milk go off, I have mentioned it twice to staff and hoping that it can be sorted in the morning, as if they did clean it today as they promised it needs replacing and quickly.

No children's tv in English

Air conditioning is not cold enough for me, I have mentioned it a couple of times but nothing can be done, it maybe me though, as the rest of the family are happy.

Our room quality is not as good as I was expecting to be honest, for the week iI paid over 3000 euros for the room plus extra for all inclusive and was very very dissapointed with the room, I cannot see how it can possible be 4 star, we may have just been unlucky and got a terrible room, which is shame to be honest, as we would love to come back more often but I would not because I don't like the room at all, there are a number of issues with room but I cannot mention them on here. With the flights on top, this is not a cheap holiday.

All in all I have still give the hotel 5 stars as the location is perfect and the staff are the best you will ever have to look after you ever and I really mean that, And the restaurants are perfect and everything is
so clean and tidy.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Went to The Iberostar in June 2012. Overall thought this hotel was middle of the road for a number of reasons: Firstly the rooms we thought were far too small for a family of 4, for 2 weeks. Admittedly, we have been spoilt after staying in apartments these last few years when on holiday due to the amenities we need with young children, but the rooms did not reflect what was advertised on the website, and we were pretty much living on top of each other. No kettle, and had to ask reception for one, who said they don't have them, but our cleaner managed to retrieve one later in the week! Most of the staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The food was good and varied, and the hotel was very clean, and the domestic staff cleaned our rooms etc. daily, (this was particularly good we thought). The beach is impressive, probably the best we have seen in europe, and great for kids. However, by the second week what were niggling annoyances became a real problem, for instance having to be up early waiting for sun loungers, absolutely necessary to stand any chance of obtaining them. Which just looked desperate to be honest, but what choice do you have!?? This was also a potential area of conflict for some geusts, saw arguments breaking out atleast once. Many places we have been to did not have this problem, some pool staff even saved them for us when they got to know our favourite spots. Personally this did detract quite a bit from what was supposed to be a relaxing holiday, (not easy with 2 children to be fair), but was just another nuisance we could do without really. The kids club was for 4 years upwards, if under 4 then you have to stay with them if they attend. Finally, the hotel population of guests were mainly german, I would say a ratio of 70-30 percent. The live entertainment was good, but this was mainly in german, the TV channels were mainly german. Just 3 English channels, BBC 1 and 2, Sky news, and CNN I think, and the BBC channels had poor reception much of the time. The german guests by and large did not wish to interact with the english it seemed to me, and for that reason we felt it was quite an isolating holiday in that respect. I commented to my wife that I had had a more meangiful conversation with the spanish taxi driver on our way to the airport coming home than the entire fortnight with any guests there. It was their demeanour and the way they look through you seemingly, and just kept to themselves. Not even raising a smile! We like our space on holiday as much as anyone, but we found them particularly ignorant. I have met some germans on my travels, and this is the first time I have noticed this. All in all we would not return to this particular hotel, sorry to say!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Playa de Muro Village, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Chris,

First of all we would like to express our gratitude for sharing your experience at our Iberostar Playa de Muro Village on Tripadvisor. We would like to offer our apologies for not meeting your expectations and assure you that we always work hard to satisfy all our guest’s wishes and to make them all feel welcome and well attended.

Regarding the size of the rooms we would like to point out that we have different types at disposal and we can only imagine that there must have been confusion during the booking as all of the types are precisely described at our webpage. As you comment that your room was not fitting the advertised conditions, we are afraid that the reservation might have been of another category than the one you saw on internet. As we feel sad about your disappointment, for coming occasions, we would like to offer you a very personal booking guidance through our call center, to make sure you become what you actually desire.

Mattering your indication about the balance between German and English spoken television we are pleased to inform you that we passed this considerations to the technical department and we are studying how we can adapt this situation in order to satisfy the needs of both nationalities.

On the other hand it is a pleasure to see that you could enjoy the fulfilling of our quality standards on cleanness and hygiene, especially when traveling with young children we understand that this is an absolute must to be able to enjoy careless of a well deserved holiday.

We are also delighted to read that you find our staff friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, as this is another of our prime pillars. It is our goal to provide an excellent treatment and to make all of our guests (regardless where they come from) feel welcome and comfortable within the whole hotel.

Once again thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate all of your comments as they can help us to improve. We hope to see you again in the near future and to have the opportunity to offer you a very enjoyable experience with Iberostar.

Yours sincerely,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in August 2011, having previously stayed twice in the sister hotel next door. We liked the Village even better than the sister hotel, though they are both really nicely situated next to each other right on the beach. We had a nice room with one bedroom and a living room, the staff were very helpful and the food was really fantastic. I was especially impressed by the lunch buffet, which had a mix of deep fried stuff, freshly cooked meat and fish, and nice salads to go with, something for everyone. The Village is a quiet family hotel, with the fantastic Alcudia beach right next to it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Playa de Muro Village, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear guest,


It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Iberostar. We are delight to read that we did fulfill your holiday expectations. We also would like to thank you for your friendly comment about your stay in Iberostar. Comments like yours keeps motivating us to keep improving our exclusive and personal service, so our guest can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

Thank you very much again for your comment of our hotel. We hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy our Hotel again in the future.


Kindest Regards

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We were allocated a room in the furthest block from reception, but asked for a change, and they gave us some options and we chose room 6409. Just a few yards from the pool. I would recommend this block, and the Family rooms.
We were all all inclusive, and (I am not entirely sure why), this gave us priviliges over the sister hotel, whereby we can use their all inclusive facilities, but they could not use ours. This meant that our pool was never overly packed, and you could also get a sun bed at any time of the day.
We split our time between the beach and pool, which is no hardship when they are only yards apart. We have stayed in Playa de Muro on many occasions and the beach is still as perfect as ever.

The food was great, particularly the lunchtime buffet in the beach bar.

Our 8 year old played by the pool 90% of the time and made good friends on the day we arrived. Our 1 year old was happier on the beach building sand castles, and the beach is perfect for that.

The evening entertainment was OK, and you had option to visit the sister hotel if you preferred their entertainment that evening.

My only (minor) gripe was the long trouser policy in the restaurant. No problem with having it, but there was nothing in brochures or website information to tell us. Problem easily resolved by buying a pair from the shops just over the road.

The atmosphere of the village seemed far more relaxed than the hotel next door.....we will definately come again!

Room Tip: Family Room (Ibiza block) There are no lifts, so if you have pram etc, may insist on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Playa de Muro Village, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your time in writing such a kind comment about our Iberostar Playa De Muro Village. It is a delight to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest. We will certainly take into our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points.

We are delighted with your powerful and positive words describing our complete services and facilities.For us is a priority to take care of the visitors properly and fulfill our guest expectations.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your motivating words.

Yours sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Really pleased we opted for the village rather than the larger hotel next door. Really nice low rise style and much quieter than the sister hotel. The location right next to the beach is superb. For an easy stress free pool/beach family holiday this hotel is perfect. If possible request a sea view/ pool view. We booked at the last minute so it wasn't possible. Staff were happy to move us midway through the holiday when one became available but we were enjoying ourselves so much by then we no longer cared. Every room is just a few steps from the pool and beach anyway. Our kids loved the mini club and the staff were excellent, particularly Adele who was brilliant with the kids ( and a mum anxious about leaving them for a short while for the first time in a kids club) Thank you Adele! The area outside the hotel isn't too nice but we rarely left the pool or the beach anyway. Only minus would be the food as our pool cafe and restaurant only catered for the all inclusive customers. To buy a meal individually rather than buffet had to go to sister hotel. Would def return.

Room Tip: Front corners on first floor ( there are only ground floor and first) had best views over pools and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

From arrival to departure you cannot fault this hotel. The staff are superb throughout and deserve huge credit for their dedication to customer service. The reception team were very helpful and did everything they could to make our holiday enjoyable (special thanks to Barbara), the maids who cleaned the room daily were superb and their attendtion to detail should be rewarded.

We had a lovely room (6408) overlooking the pool and just metres from the beach. The pool is great for children, very safe, and our kids spent most of their time in there. Evening entertainment was available in both the village and adjacent Playa de Muro hotel and we often went next door, childrens disco up until 9pm and then a show each night after.

The food.............what can I say. Very good quality, plenty of choice, and certainly no shortage of food available. We opted for the half board option as we simply would have struggled to eat anything else during the day but all inclusive guests had lovely food on offer 24/7.

Key points for future bookings:
1 - Remember trousers for the restaurant, shorts are not allowed! The staff are very polite in addressing in this but do insist to maintain standards which is fair enough.
2 - Book a taxi for your trip to and from the airport (roughly 75 euros each way), it's well worth it and only takes 40 mins compared to the horrendous 2-3 hour coach trip.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a family suite with a pool/sea view, it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Playa de Muro Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Playa de Muro Village

Address: Albufera s/n, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Muro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
#7 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Playa de Muro Village 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro Village Hotel offers all-inclusive accommodation directly on the beautiful beaches of Muro in Alcudia, Majorca. Known for its distinctive Mediterranean-inspired decor and unrivaled location, this top hotel features an unbeatable array of sports, leisure, and gastronomic options guaranteed to please every type of guest. All-inclusive and spa holidays in Playa de Muro are the best ways to disconnect from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. In addition, the hotel is ideal for cyclists, making world-class facilities and all kinds of services available to pros and amateurs alike. The IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro Village is the hotel of choice of the world's best cycling teams, who stay here during races like IBEROSTAR Challenge Mallorca - the first race on the European pro cycling calendar - or the Mallorca 312 International Cycle Tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Playa de Muro Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa De Muro Village Hotel Playa De Muro
Playa De Muro Iberostar
Iberostar Playa De Muro Village Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Playa de Muro Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.