We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the bustle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de la Albufera 51 | Urbanización Las Gaviotas, 07408 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Away from the bustle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hotel, though far away from the party town, is great for couples and families. A 3 minute walk to the beach, ample parking closeby, quiet and new. 3 pools! huge breakfast buffet spread, lovely bath robes. It is quite pricey though (perhaps due to the holiday season).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Director de Recepción at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Many thanks for your kind opinion,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel, as you know, it´s our reason to be.
The Hotel reception and all the staff will be pleased to welcome you again here, at your hotel.
Warm regards from Mallorca!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    206
    31
    11
    6
See reviews for
184
363
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Islas Baleares, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were greeted by a friendly receptionist and given secure parking for our bicycles. The rooms were large, clean comfortable with strong aircon. They managed to fit us in for a sports massage, which was most welcoming as we had just cycled over 100km over mountains. The best part for me was the superb breakfast, which had just about everything one could wish for

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Director de Recepción at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thanks for your kind opinion!!, now all cyclers know where to stay and be well treated after the effort!!
Best regards & hope to be able to welcome you again...
Hotel Reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I are just back from a 7 night stay at this hotel. It may be on the ' strip' at Playa de Muro but it is a peaceful oasis inside. The hotel was spacious, decorated in a modern style and spotlessly clean. Our suite was spacious with plenty room and storage space. There was also a large verandah with a table and chairs overlooking one of the two pools in the complex. We ate at the restaurant and in the pool bar and the food was of excellent quality and the menu varied. The spa had free access and we were given a voucher for a money off treatment on arrival. The hotel was also WiFi linked which meant that we were able to keep in touch with home etc from the comfort of our own room
The bar at the front of the hotel had candlelit tables out the front where we sat each night and enjoyed a delicious cocktail.( They even had a singer subtly singing in the corner one evening and we understand that there was more entertainment available during the summer months).
The staff were all very pleasant and professional. We found the location good for exploring the north of the island- we had hired a car at the airport but there were plenty of rental places around the hotel)
The beach was just down the road and as I said at the top of this review there were plenty of holiday shops to visit in the evening. We will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepcionista at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind comment! It is good to hear that your stay was pleasant and we are looking forward to see you again next year. Warm greetings from the whole staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Sometimes it is getting noisy from a hotel next to Las Gaviotas.
The Breakfast and Dinner were excellent. Nothing that we really missed. The room was clean. The only thing we really missed, was a table in the living room (we had a suite).

Room Tip: choose a room located at the inner pool. the rooms are quieter. we had room 133.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepcionista at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hope to see you back someday, thank you for writing a comment for us on Tripadvisor. Kind regards from the whole Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very good hotel. We really enjoyed our stay there. Very clean rooms and large bathrooms. Breakfast had a lot of choices.
Quiet and not far from the beach. Even though there is no parking there's lots of parking spots on the main venue and around.
Wifi a bit poor at thefourth floor is our only negative remark.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepcionista at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Nice to read your comment, thank you very much! We are trying to improve the wifi connection for the coming season. Many greetings from sunny Playa de Muro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Muro beach (Playa del Muro) in Alcudia may certainly be called "the Maldives of Europe" (if missing corals are overlooked). The island is one of a kind, featuring both mountains and beaches, with breath-taking cliffs, entangled and (sometimes) narrow roads, superb beaches and waters and most important - awesome remote beaches (Sa Calobra is a must to visit; rent a car, avoid the bus, you may stop wherever you want and just feed your soul on the beautiful landscapes). Special thanks to OsmAND+ for the flawless guidance and POIs ;)

The hotel really has a good placement, its design is minimalist, the lobby is very large and the rooms (suites) lived up to expectations. The only problem was that initially we were given a room facing the bus station, ALTHOUGH WE HAVE ASKED FOR A QUIET ROOM. This is a bad for you (lost 1 service star, 1 rooms star and 1 sleep quality star). The second morning after we were given a different room, our above-neighbours had to check out... @6am we thought that someone moves furniture or demolishes the apartment above... guess what: they were packing :(

The dining room gets quite crowded during the breakfast and dinner (too many tables and chairs are squeezed in there) but the staff is more than friendly (they love kids and they interact with them - a tip for the parents out there). They serve champagne for breakfast and "real" fresh orange juice (unlike other 4-star hotel which have fake/pasteurized orange juice). Their wine collection is quite exquisite.

As we arrived in the morning (~9-10 am), they kept our baggage and allowed us to change our clothes for the beach; our room was ready a couple of hours later and a very nice and respectful gentleman helped us with the luggage (I really have to mention this, he was not a bellboy, this gentleman had class!!).

If you like to swim under the water, just stay for a minute on the bottom of the outer pool (deepest side, that is next to the bar) and admire the hotel (notice the Snell`s Window? Interesting perspective). Breath-taking!

Pros:
- nice hotel design (including landscaping and placement of pools)
- respectful staff (hotel may be nice, but it is hotel staff that really matters)
- excellent location, right in the middle of Alcudia
- VERY close to the beach, you just have to cross the main road (~100m)
- supermarkets / gift shops / rent-a-car / other restaurants @less than 50m
- varied and really delicious food (you can tell it`s a real 4-star hotel)
- two separate pools: inner (quiet / adult) pool (surrounded by rooms), outer pool (has lifeguard at all times, has children area, has jacuzzi running all day long)
- two jacuzzi-pools (inside @spa, outside near outer pool)
- VERY CLEAN WATER IN OUTER POOL (really, no kidding; I love to swim under the water and this was really clean)
- huge bathroom mirror and sink countertop

Cons:
- dinning room is too crowded (you can`t fit in-between the chairs to go from your table to the buffet)
- rooms are NOT sound proof, you`ll hear everything your above-neighbors do; the "not sound proof" applies especially to rooms facing the main road....... you won`t get a good night`s sleep
- some rooms are "broken" - water does not drain in the shower cabin, tiles near shower cabin are tilted the wrong way, therefore water flowing off the walls will get inside the bathroom (which has no floor drain); sinks also have some problems with draining; soap is too far from the sink (~2m away, wall-mounted)
- chairs on the balcony are VERY noisy...

Bottom line, this is a real 4-star hotel, and we will still rate it with 5 stars out of 5 (although some aspects need to be fixed/reviewed).

Besides Maldives, this was the nicest vacation we went so far (sun, water, sand, nice landscape, silence, tranquility). The hotel is definitely on our "to visit again" list.

Room Tip: DO NOT accept rooms facing the front (main) road; instead, ask for a room facing the inner adult poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepcionista at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Great to read your kind comment about your holidays with us! It helps us to improve our services and that is important for us. We always try our best to give all the guests the room/area that they wish for but unfortunately this is not always possible when we are fully booked. We hope to see you back one day and thank you for writing! Sunny greetings from us at Las Gaviotas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

First stay in Playa de muro and this hotel cerrtatainly lived up to expectations. Our room faced onto the adult pool and it was an oasis of peace and tranquility. Just 5 mins from the most beautiful beach so we were spoilt for choice.The hotel is spotlessly clean. Food was super.The staff were extremely helpful and there was a happy atmosphere throughout.We could easily stay within the hotel and totally relax.Historic Alcudia is a short bus trip away.Alittle further are Porta de Polensa and Pol ensa.All three are towns with character and are well worth a visit.Would love to get the chance to return!

Room Tip: Close to adult pool is quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepcionista at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
You are always welcome to come back and we hope to see you some other time at Las Gaviotas. Thank your for writing such a kind comment :-) Kind regards from the whole staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel

Address: Avenida de la Albufera 51 | Urbanización Las Gaviotas, 07408 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#3 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel - a pioneer in the area as far back as in the -70s and with more than 30 years of experience - consolidates stars and a image: modern lines in every corner invite you to a holiday oasis where quality is the common element and white, the colour that permeates everything. Here you can enjoy gardens, comfortable suites and modern facilities. But Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel is much more than just a beautiful design. Our identity is, above all, friendly treatment and good service. Our experience and know-how, together with each guest, will do the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Gaviotas Hotel Playa De Muro
Hotel Las Gaviotas
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel Playa De Muro, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.