We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de la Albufera 51 | Urbanización Las Gaviotas, 07408 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Warwickshire
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Special Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have recently returned from a weeks stay at this hotel and we had a wonderful time.

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here (last September was our first stay) and enjoyed it just as much this time as the first.

The hotel is clean and the suite we had was spacious and modern with a large balcony overlooking the pool at the rear of the hotel. The cleaners do a really good job at keeping the place nice. The only slight downside for us was the beds are rather firm, but this is personal preference.

The food is very good, we stayed half board and always managed to find plenty to eat. The restaurant staff are kept busy and work extremely hard.

We used the pool side bar on several occasions for lunch and found the staff very pleasant and efficient and the food was very good at reasonable prices.

In the evening we sat outside of the cocktail bar and a couple of evening there was entertainment provided by some talented lady singers. The service here was also very good and that staff are polite and friendly.

Overall, we find the hotel to be clean, the food very good and the staff are a credit to the hotel.

We would definitely return to Las Gaviotas Suites if we went back to Mallorca.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepcionista at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are very glad to read that you had a good time at our hotel! And thank you very much for your kind comment. We hope to welcome you back another time. Kind regards from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    205
    29
    11
    6
See reviews for
180
353
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

After a long search for hotels in Majorca we felt this was for us due to the modern feel of it.

We arrived at night, to a lovely reception where check in was fast and easy. The only downfall here was there is no concierge service so we had a buggy, two big cases and two smaller cases to take up alone. (This is why we think it is a 4 star).

Room was gorgeous, modern, clean, very new. Bathroom again lovely, no bath but a wet room style so we were happy with this. So much room in our suite we had a lovely lounge area with an L shape sofa (which is a sofa bed), big balcony with table and chairs overlooking the relaxing pool. Tv in lounge area not in bedroom. Cot all set up ready for our daughter as requested.

Breakfast - wide range, good food but no baked beans? Apart from that it was lovely. Just wished it was on for half an hour longer (10.30).

Pools are all great BUT finding a sunbed was hard work. There were lots of sun beds that were all occupied by towels. We think people went down early to towel drop but found this so unfair as when we got one or two we noticed that most had towels on for well over 4 hours with nobody occupying them. Not good when you have a child and you want to be near the children's pool. Do note - mostly germans in hotel which is not a bad thing as they strive for excellence but they are known for holding sunbeds all day. Think the hotel should really have a "no holding sunbeds" policy as on our last day we didn't even get one :-(

Our stay was good, enjoyable. Nice family area - beach is STUNNING. Lots of things to do for kids. DO GO OUT WALK AND EXPLORE we missed some lovely shops as we didnt walk far enough and found last but one day (cafe 1909 amazing desserts -and icecream). We also went into the port (pourto alcudia) a few times £5 in taxi which has some nice places to eat.

Would go back to the hotel however we were a bit let down that we couldn't have a late check out (even for extra money) as we flew at night we had no room all day and a very tired hot 2 year old that needed rest.

We got normal taxis to/from palma airport for 70ish euros each way. If we were to go back we would defo rent a car as many excursions are the other side of the island and the price of excursions are quite expensive. Would love to explore some of the other coves and beaches.

Also you have to pay extra to use the safe - another reason why this is a 4 star, and ironing/ironing boards and tea/coffee making facilities all have to be rented out too. This should be in the room!

Booked through bookings.com for a really good price - well recommend looking there.

The poolside bar/restaurant is LOVELY we ate there every afternoon after we realised how nice it was, cocktails/mocktails are great too. Staff are great and very helpful, they were happy to make other things from the menu for our daughter.

As mentioned above we would go back just think the hotel needs to tweek a few things for the extra touches.

Room Tip: Defo upgrade to a suite for extra room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepcionista at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a comment about your stay here! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay! About the sunbeds: The rule is indeed that they cannot be reserved and this is a rule of respect between the guests. Unfortunately there are some days during the season that it does happen that the beds are being reserved in advance. We keep an eye on it and most of the time we do not have problems with this matter :-). We hope to see you back again and you get a warm greeting from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is very clean and well kept throughout, and our standard suite was huge with a big balcony and a very comfy bed, and we enjoyed the separate bed room and siting room. The hotel feels modern and comparatively upmarket, and is just across the road from the best beach in Mallorca - wide white sands that go on for miles in both directions. We absolutely loved how warm, clean and shallow the sea was, you could walk out for 100 yards and the water was still only up to our knees - ideal for families with young children of which there were many. Breakfast was rather chaotic, a combination of the dining area being too small, too many tables squashed in, and only on for 2 hours (8 to 10), however the food was very good with a large selection (and even sparkling wine) if a little repetitive. The pool areas and gardens were lovely but we found the sun beds very uncomfortable, if you tried to tilt the back to sit up slightly instead of lying flat a big gap opened up right under your bottom. The sun beds on the beach were great (10 euros a day for 2 beds), and the large fixed wooden parasols over them even have a safe (combination lock) for big enough for your phones, keys, cash when you go swimming! Although there are some resturants in Muro beach area we got the air-conditioned bus from right outside the hotel up the road to Alcudia centre most nights, it only took 10 mins and was 1.5 euros each; we walked it once and it took 25 minutes, but the stifling heat even at 8pm at night made this not as enjoyable as expected! We really enjoyed this holiday and this hotel and would definitely recommend it. My tip would be to ask for a quiet room as we did, becasue the hotel is on the main coast road, ours overlooked the central courtyard and adults pool so we had no road noise even with the balcony doors open.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepcionista at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hereby we would like to thank you for leaving a comment on tripadvisor about Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel & SPA! We hope to see you back one day. Sunny greetings from all of the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My friend and I had just spent 2 weeks travelling around Spain and we came to Mallorca for some relaxation and sunshine. We booked a 1 bedroom suite which had a partial sea view. The room was spacious and the balcony was large. The hotel itself is modern and in a great location just walking distance from Playa del Muro beach and all the restaurants. It was extremely clean and the staff were amazing in helping us settle in and arrange hire cars etc. The staff speak English and German and Spanish and were so friendly and nice. The pools are great. There is an adults only pool. The indoor spa was luxurious and we had a couple of spa treatments and they were also very nice. We would definitely stay there again when we return to Mallorca.

Room Tip: We are Australians and had no problem communicating with anyone. A 1 bedroom suite is worth the mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepcionista at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are very glad to read your great comment and that you had a good stay with us! We hope you will come and visit us again. Thank you very much and greetings from the Las Gaviotas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hotel was clean, loved the adults only pool which our balcony overlooked. Spa was great, especially on an overcast day. Bathrobes were a nice touch, as was the double shower. Cleaning staff very friendly & did a great job. Room (215) was small but fine.

Only comment was that vegetarian food offer was limited - even the salads had meat in, despite their being a cold meats section.

Would recommend trip on the mini train - goes from just over the road, 4 euros and lasts 1 hour.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet -215 - overlooked adults only pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepcionista at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for writing a comment about us and we hope to see you back one day. Kind regards from the Las Gaviotas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We celebrated 3 birthdays in the 4 nights the gang stayed in the Las Gaviotas and had a complimentary bottle of champers on each occasion. The food was superb and the service excellent. The only thing I would say is that the swimming pools should be heated, I know it was May but the wind was strong and cold and made it far to cold to go for a dip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepcionista at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving your kind comment! We hope to see you soon again.
Kind regards from Las Gaviotas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was our second visit to Las Gaviotas - we visited last year in May and found the experience to be really good, so we thought we'd give it another try this year.

We arrived on the first Saturday in June, around noon, with a journey time of around 1.5hrs from Palma airport.

We were allocated a suite (there are both suites - sitting room and bedroom, and regular rooms) at the back of the hotel, which had a nice view over the rear pool and a huge balcony. The main beach is just across the road, so about 3 mins walk.

As usual, the suite was spotless and well equipped. The bathroom was the same as the previous year - lovely big shower cubicle and the accommodation has a great "boutique" hotel feel to it.

Despite the hotel being full, there was ample space at the pool everyday and we never had an issue getting a sunbed. The staff at Las Gaviotas are lovely - always smiling and friendly, whether you're at dinner, by the pool, or in the bar. They're always happy to help.

On the theme of food - we were half board - the breakfast and dinner services are very impressive indeed. Freshly cooked, a vast choice, and a chef who will cook the dish of the day in front of you if you so desire. Steak, Chicken, fresh Fish, amazing grilled ribs, fresh cakes, cheese and fruit. They also have a small selection of local specialties if you fancy trying something different. Beer and wine from the wine list are very keenly priced. While the restaurant was always busy, again it was never a stressful affair and we always looked forward to our meals.

The hotel attracts a cross section of guests, but was probably had less children and families then some of the other nearby establishments (we visited the Iberostar across the road, which had a full program of kids activities) The majority were younger and some older retired couples. However there were some couples with young babies and the staff were super with them.

Bear in mind that British guests at Las Gaviotas were probably in the minority - I would say about 65% German and then the remainder made up of Brits, French and a couple of other European nationalities. This suited us fine (everybody we met or spoke with were polite and friendly, thus dispelling the myth about certain nationalities being difficult on holiday!).

All in all this is a lovely hotel - great staff, good food and value, nice rooms and pool areas. Maybe not ideal if you have kids over young baby age as there are limited activities for them, but to be honest this is maybe why so many couples chose to stay here.

Keep up the good work Las Gaviotas - we'll be back! :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepcionista at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving such a nice comment about our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you again! Kind regards from sunny Mallorca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel

Address: Avenida de la Albufera 51 | Urbanización Las Gaviotas, 07408 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#1 Best Value Hotel in Playa de Muro
#2 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel - a pioneer in the area as far back as in the -70s and with more than 30 years of experience - consolidates stars and a image: modern lines in every corner invite you to a holiday oasis where quality is the common element and white, the colour that permeates everything. Here you can enjoy gardens, comfortable suites and modern facilities. But Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel is much more than just a beautiful design. Our identity is, above all, friendly treatment and good service. Our experience and know-how, together with each guest, will do the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Gaviotas Hotel Playa De Muro
Hotel Las Gaviotas
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel Playa De Muro, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.