We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel for kids-not family” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alcudia Pins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Alcudia Pins to your Saves list
Hotel Alcudia Pins
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   c/ Canyes s/n, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Hotel for kids-not family”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The location of alcudia pins is excellent,not too many other hotels & is right on a large beach.
The rooms are basic but sufficient for our needs which is basically somewhere to sleep & shower.There is no floor space in the bedroom & the bed is quite firm.The living room/kitchen area is large with a sofa bed that has noisy springs,coffe table & table/chairs for eating.The kitchen is equipped with microwave,fridge & 2 ring hob with plates,cutlery,saucepans,toaster & kettle that takes ages to boil.There are no free tea bags or coffee.The bathroom is again basic & tired with shower over the bath all working & the shower is quite powerful.The balcony is large extending across the living area & bedroom with table & chairs.There are no quiet rooms in this hotel.We were over the bar area between the main pool & beach,another couple we spoke to asked for a quiet room & got one overlooking the playground.
There are four restaurants,the Trattoria (Italian) which had excellent food open in the day too,but if you're all inclusive you can only eat here once a week for dinner.BBQ which is at the front of the hotel again once a week if all inclusive,can't comment on food as we didn't use it.Both these have to be booked.The other two are both themed buffet with the same theme on that day so if you don't like the food from that country you're left with chips & salad (which was on every night).I think this is the only holiday I've been on where I haven't put on weight!The food quality was pretty high though,all fresh.
We didn't go to the entertainment so can't comment on that.There was something on every night & some activities during the day but mainly seemed to be aimed at the kids.
There are two main bars (also one inside if the weather is bad) the pool bar(near the entertainment) closes at 11pm or the BBQ bar closes at 12pm.We went to the BBQ bar every evening as it was quieter & only had a few children now & then.
The staff were all efficient & friendly with a special mention to Alfonso at the BBQ.
That just leaves the biggest problem at this hotel-the kids.There are several pools here one family pool,one adult pool-which is 5ft deep & no good for me as I'm short & all the others kiddies pools.This is a large hotel with 600 rooms but the place was overrun with children,there were hundreds of them.There were kids running round from 8am till 11pm so if this is not your ideal holiday or you want to relax in peace & quiet find a smaller,quiter hotel.
We went on the beach instead which was usually quiter with some children.Ther is a charge for use of the beach loungers & parasols.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcudiaPins, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
thank you for your comments, for sure we will use them to improve our service. we hope to see you again in our hotel Alcudia Pins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    368
    183
    74
    35
See reviews for
666
62
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Me, my partner and our 20 month old son stayed here for a week at the end of September. This hotel is gorgeous, the grounds are really pretty and the up keep of the place is exceptional.

The rooms are basic but modern and clean with good size balcony space, they are cleaned 5 days out of 7 which is ample. All of the staff greet you as you pass them and all are very polite and smartly dressed. The tv in the room has cbeebies which is a lifesaver with a toddler!

We stayed all inclusive and it was excellent. Multiple restaurants to choose from. Food prepared and cooked in front of you. The only downside we found was that at very busy times the food ran out and there was sometimes quite a wait for specific dishes but the food is delicious.

Drink selection was wide and ice creams and snacks available most of the day by the pool. We wanted for nothing during our stay.

Entertainment was varied and catered for multiple nationalities. The reps were fab and the feature acts that visited the hotel included Chinese acrobats, African acrobats, flamenco dancers and they had their own show team. Was great fun.

Location is perfect if you're looking for a quiet area. We took the bus to alcudia town and port and to c'an picafort. This was cheap but the buses can be very crowded between 10 and 3 which was tricky with a small child and pushchair.

There's a taxi rank right outside the hotel which we opted for and found was more comfortable and the fares were very reasonable.

All in all a fabulous holiday. We would return. Thank you Alcudia Pins!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcudiaPins, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed yourselves, thanks for the good comments, we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just back from a week at the Alcudia Pins and overall had a terrific holiday. We were self catering and traveled with our 3 year old who had a brilliant time.

Hotel location itself is okay- a bit outside Alcudia in Playa del Muro so there aren't too many shops/ restaurants outside the hotel complex. Would have preferred a little more choice as regards restaurants and the area is calling out for a good tapas bar! Otherwise the location was fine and the beach side location was terrific. The hotel itself is lovely and the vast majority of the staff are friendly and helpful. I was worried about the size of the apartments having read previous reviews but honestly it was perfect- although the bedroom is small there is plenty of storage and really it was not an issue for us. Apartments were cleaned 6 out of the 7 days. We had a sea view in Ibiza block and while the view was beautiful the apartment was directly overlooking the entertainment stage so it was very noisy at night. Although the entertainment stopped at 11pm it was nearer 11.30pm before everyone left the area and the staff cleaned up. Also you could hear the restaurant below getting ready from 7am in the morning. It would have been nice for a couple of nights to be able to enjoy a bottle of wine and hear the waves!! However, there are plenty of apartments with pool views that would not have this level of disturbance.

Although we were self catering we are now regretting that we did not go half board. I don't think that we could have managed the amount of food/snacks/drinks involved in all-inclusive but if you think that you will have a lot of drinks/ice creams etc... then all inclusive is definitely the way to go. The half board option was somewhere between €20-€30 per person per day and would be ideal especially considering that all wine/beer/drinks is included with your dinner making it a great value option.

As regards the Thomson entertainment etc... Personally I found all the reps terrific and the entertainment was extremely good considering that it is mainly aimed at children. I do not agree with previous posts that it is aimed solely at German/ Scandanavian guests. There is an equal amount of English / Scandanavian children's entertainment and any of the Scandanavian entertainment is translated into Swedish/ Danish/ Finnish and English. All of the Scandanavian reps speak fluent English. Personally I don't think that children care that it's a 'foreign language' and I don't think it's a bad thing for children to be exposed to new languages! The kids club was brilliant and Thomsen the Dog and Bamse were a real highlight for our 3 year old!

Overall a really great holiday!

Room Tip: Sea views are great but in Ibiza block they come with overlooking the stage. Quieter rooms would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcudiaPins, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for the nice comments about the hotel, we therefore hope to see you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We are a family of 4 (kids age 4 and 8)

We visited the Alcudia Pins last year in August. it was the best family holiday we had been on in a long while and took a further trip there for one week from 17th to 24th Sept.

This time we were in Block D room 103. Overlooking the baby pool. I actually preferred this room to the last one (which had an amazing view over the main pool) simply because on an evening you could not hear the entertainment at all. It was a lovely tranquil setting on the baby pool side.

Since last year the hotel has undergone some developments all for the good.

A new pool has been added, its a straight forward square "swimming" pool. The addition of this pool to the others I think now has the hotel catering for everyone's requirements. In fact I would have no qualms in bringing my parents cause I know that the additional pool would give them somewhere quieter away from the kids round the main pool. As always the baby pool was great for some of the tiny tots and the splash pool was still a hit with my youngest (4) but less so my son (8) this year (what a difference from last year - kids grow up too fast!)

The restaurant has been refurbished. Its great, more cooking areas and everything is cooked in front of you - v re assuring to see that although on both visits I have been very impressed with the food quality and selection. Breakfast selection was EVEN BETTER than last year in my opinion (still no "english" bacon tho :-( )

The hotel staff cannot do enough for you. I was slightly perturbed that I was referred to as the "famous Vikki" having won a photo contest at the hotel in 2011!!!

The cleanliness of the place is exceptional. For the volume of people who must go through the resort they really keep on top of it. The beach also is v clean and the access from the hotel itself is a real plus, it feels almost like an exclusive private beach ! I like the addition of cups/facilities for All Inc customers to take drinks on and off the beach now.

I'm loathe to criticise the resort in any way given the above but it would not be a balanced review if I did not say that the Thomson kids reps team were just not up to scratch for me this year. The entertainment team (ante Vincent et al) were great and spot on but the kids reps were, in my view, simply entertaining each other/themselves. Mind you the 2011 team we so good they had a tough act to live up to. I don't hold the hotel responsible for this glitch at all (hence Ive kept the 5* review) but I do hope Thomson read this and other reviews and have a word. I know its the end of season and I know entertaining kids with 5 different first languages is tough but you shouldn't knock your audience !!!!!!

All in all another exceptional performance by the hotel and another great set of memories for me, hubby and the kids.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the baby pool are quieter. Rooms with sea views would have some late night noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcudiaPins, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you very much for the good comments, we are pleased we helped to make it an enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel after recommendation from travel agent. Booked on last minute after seriously needing a holiday. From arriving at Palma Airport and being met by the friendly Thomson reps the holiday started really well. Hotel was situated away from main Alcudia Center but still easy to reach by local transport. Reception very friendly and welcoming. Apartment was roomy clean and fresh with good size bedrooms. Our only grip was that the main double bed was too hard. Did mention to reception who sent a few duvets to try and cushion the mattress. Didn't really work. The activities for the kids were plenty and enjoyable with plenty of staff for us to relax. Choosing from 1 of 6 pools, a splash pool and slide pool there was plenty of room for all holiday makers to enjoy without feeling over crowded. The all inclusive was by far the better option and the cheapest over all, with two well stocked restruants with plenty of choices from salads, fast foods and local traditions every plate filled and cleaned away by its holder.
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would / will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcudiaPins, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for the nice comments, we´re pleased that we helped make your stay enjoyable, and of course we welcome you back whenever you want
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just back from alcudia pins, it was a great hotel but more for people with young children.I would advise you to go all inclusive because there isn't much around but there is a lovely restaurant called Portobello at the end of the road.The staff are very friendly and the hotel is spotless.The only problem I had was there was no wi-fi in the rooms only at the pool etc.....Overall a lovely hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcudiaPins, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you very much for the good comments, we are glad you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just returned from week at Alcudia Pins. Travelled with husband and 2 daughters ages 4 and almost 2. Hotel was great from start to finish, check in very quick and efficient, staff all extremely plesant and helpful throughout the resort. Probably my only gripe is that the apartment is a bit smaller than those in which we have stayed previously but like others before me have said, we didn't spend very much time in the apartment.The room was cleaned every day except for 1 and a good job done each time. Air con good also, balcony was a good size, lovely to sit on at night.
we had originally booked self catering and the restaurants close to the hotel are very good, particularly Bulls Steakhouse but for the second half of the holiday we upgraded to all inclusive as the food in the hotel was of a very good standard and it was great value.
Pools all beautiful, never a problem getting a sun lounger, beach just amazing. To have it right on door step is such a treat, water just beautiful.
We found the entertainment very good, the staff are all very talented and work very hard day and night to keep everyone happy. The 80's night in particular was brilliant but our girls really enjoyed the kids shows from Em and Ems, Thompson the Dog and Bamse, front row seats for them every night.
Before i went, i was concerned about the location of the hotel being a bit remote but need not have worried. apart from a good regular bus service just outside hotel, there is no need at all to leave hotel or immediate surrounding area at all during the week because as far as im concerned it was everything you could wish for righ in one location. all in all an excellent holiday and i would thoroughly recommend it for families of young children.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcudiaPins, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you ever so much for the lovely comments, we are glad that we helped play a part in you enjoying your holiday. Hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alcudia Pins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcudia Pins

Address: c/ Canyes s/n, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Playa de Muro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#18 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alcudia Pins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this unique setting, between the white sand dunes of Platges de Muro and the spectacular Parc Natural de s’Albufera, Alcudia Pins reflects our way of understanding tourism: an offering of variety, happiness and well-being for your entire family.Thanks to personalised treatment, all of our personnel will be attentive to your every need. Our objective is for you to have a good time and leave your cares behind.Designed to provide you with everything you need for your holidays, Alcudia Pins awaits you with a pleasant atmosphere where you can enjoy your favourite activities worry-free in comfortable and safe lodgings that cater to the relaxation and well-being of your loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alcudia Pins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcudia Pins Hotel
Alcudia Pins Playa De Muro
Alcudia Pins Majorca
Hotel Alcudia Pins Playa De Muro, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alcudia Pins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.