We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well deserved 4 star hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Playa de Muro

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Playa de Muro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iberostar Playa de Muro
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avda Albufera s/n, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 hotels in Playa de Muro
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A well deserved 4 star hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

Had a very enjoyable stay in this very good hotel. Rooms plain but large, good size balcony and en-suite. Restaurant had an excellent buffet selection. The freshly cooked fish was superb. Staff all very friendly and efficient. Marbled reception area is impressive, good cafe bar with plenty of room. Indoor pool adequate and plenty of sunbeds around outdoor pool. Hotel full of german cyclists, but as they were out all day, this was not a problem.
Didn't use the pool as you can walk straight onto the beach. Lovely views around the bay. Half hour walk into Port Alcudia or one hour to Can Picafort. Regular and reasonable bus service from outside the hotel if you want to go further afield. Bikes for hire from the hotel if you fancy a ride around the nature park just down the road. Shop in hotel for papers or a Spar just opposite if you need water or supplies.
A very good hotel that lived up to it's 4 stars - evening entertainment was the one area that could be improved.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Playa de Muro, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Guest,


Thank you for writing your review from your recent stay among us. We are glad to read that you enjoy your holiday and that Iberostar Playa de Muro meet your expectations.


Thank you for highlighting out the personal service and friendliness of our staff as well our outstanding cuisine and varied gastronomy. Those are very important aspects for us and the key to the success of our services and facilities.


We will certainly continue working to improve your next experience with us.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your motivating words.



Kindest regards,


Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    153
    58
    28
    18
See reviews for
173
91
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tyne and Wear
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Loved this holiday, hotel is clean, pool area is great, location is perfect right on the beach, its in a quiet area of Alcudia but we preferred this. Entertainment staff are excellent and very friendly and the kids love them. Food is ok, plenty of choice, restaurant can be very busy and noisy at peak times so if you want a quieter meal, breakfast etc would definitely go for first setting. On really hot days the hotel staff would bring drinks and fresh fruit to the guests around the pool area felt like a star getting waited on which was very nice. Plenty to do for the kids and adults if you want to participate in activities. Kids club had plenty of variation and a great way for the kids to be entertained and mix with other children. We went half board but I would definitely recommend paying that bit extra and going all inclusive if you have kids. Kids felt safe here, beach is perfect, clean and shallow seas and you could have a walk for miles along the coast line. Rooms are nothing much to be desired, could do with some updating for the price you pay but again if you want upgraded its all the extras you pay for. We had a street view but I would definitely recommend a pool or sea view, the sun rising in the morning was amazing how do I know this as this was the time I had to get up in order to get sun beds (I know your not meant to reserve beds but if you want one its the only way you can guarantee one) Overall this was a fab holiday and we've booked to return this August too.

Room Tip: Sea or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Playa de Muro, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear guest:,

First of all I would like to thank you for the dedicated time and effort in writing such a wonderful and detailed comment about our Iberostar Playa De Muro. It is a delight for us to read how much you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and all our facilities and services.

Thank you for highlighting out so many aspects which are very important to us to achieve an exclusive and personal service in our hotel.

Yours words are our best reward: “Great holiday”

Yours sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We spent ten nights at this hotel in September.
These are what we thought to be positives about the hotel - all the staff, including the ground staff, are very friendly and could not do enough for you they are a credit to the hotel. We had a small problem with the shower curtain, which was reported before dinner and repaired by the time we returned after eating. The hotel was quiet at night. There are lots of sun loungers so never had a problem getting one but there were the usual early morning towels out. The hotel is situated right on the beach, which has white sand, turquoise water and it was lovely to sit on the beach, in the moonlight, being the only people there. There is entertainment every evening starting at 8 p.m. for the children and adults at 9p.m. The majority of the entertainment was performed by the hotel ‘s entertainment staff on a permanent outdoor stage near to the main bar/pool. Whilst we were there they also had a Robbie Williams tribute performer and an Abba tribute band. There is also an outdoor terrace bar on the front of the hotel, which is open to the public, and each night there is a piano player or guitarist to keep you entertained. During the day you can join in keep fit, zumba and aqua aerobics if you feel up to it. There is entertainment during the day for children but can’t comment on this. There is a full size tennis court, fitness centre (we did not use these so can’t comment) and also Jacuzzi, sauna and the largest indoor swimming pool (nearly as big as our local pool) we have ever had on holiday. It is a saltwater pool and cold when you get in but if you swim it is okay. We really enjoy using the pool and had it to ourselves on several occasions. There are two outdoor swimming pools surrounded by lovely palm trees providing a little shade from the sun, this was nice when we visited, as the temperature was 29/30c. Hubby had a swim in one of the outdoor pools and said it was really cold, I can’t comment on this. There is quite a lot of seating inside the hotel with some lovely white leather settees and chairs in one lounge. If you want to go on the internet there are at least three computers near to reception but you will have to pay to use them. The bus stops are right outside the hotel and a Spar shop across the busy main road but there is a crossing on both sides. Spar shop is a bit expensive (bottled water was cheaper in the Hotel shop) but buses very cheap 1.55 euros to Puerto Pollensa. The buses get very busy, especially on market days, but if you are out before 10 a.m. you should be okay and get a seat. The restaurant is divided in two so each side does not get very busy, except when it rains and everyone goes in early. The food is buffet style and we found it had a good selection with themed nights, food cooked fresh and if you came away hungry it would be your own fault. One evening there was a chocolate fountain and on two evening you had a nice choice of sushi. There was a good selection for breakfast but do not rate their bacon. We found the price of drinks reasonable. If you are sat around the pools in the early afternoon you are offered a small complimentary glass of slush on some days and fresh pineapple on others. There may be other freebies but these were the ones we were offered, as we were not sat near the pool everyday. The clientele consisted of mostly German, French, Spanish, Eastern Europeans and small amount of British for the first week but after that there seemed to be an influx of British visitors.

I will list what we thought to be negatives about the hotel, there are not many and mostly a bit picky. You need to be on the second or third floor of the hotel as ground floor balconies/rooms are not private at all with visitors walking by and if you are on the first floor (this may not apply to all rooms) you will need to close your curtains if you don’t want to be seen getting dressed etc. We initially had a partial sea view room on the first floor but upgraded to a sea view room on the third floor after one night, as we thought the room not private enough. If you want to use the fridge (it is locked) you have to pay to have it stocked but you then have it for the duration of your stay. I would think if you needed a fridge for medication management would let you have it for free. You have to pay for the safe (I know most hotels charge). There are no tea/coffee facilities in the rooms maybe this is an English thing! No crackers/biscuits for cheese only bread after the evening meal and lastly the outside pool is very cold.

I hope this revue gives you a good idea of what this hotel is like, more positives than negatives. I have been honest in what I have said and we would definitely go for another holiday if we visited Majorca again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Experience Manager, Iberostar at Iberostar Playa de Muro, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Iberostar Playa de Muro with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed all our services and felt so well attended to by our staff.
We assure you that we will continue working to improve your next experience with us.
Yours sincerely,
Online Experience Manager, Iberostar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

For a nice enjoyable relaxing break this hotel was ideal for me. Very clean tidy hotel with nice swimming pools and great food. Very impressive Indoor swimming pool/Spa area and staff around the hotel was also very nice and friendly. It's situated on a lovely part of the beach and a 5min stroll down from all the restaurants and bars. Only dissapointment for me was the gym its small with mainly bikes and no weights.

I give it a thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Excelent location, just a few steps from the beach! The food in the restaurants is very very good, with lots of different types of cuisine... If I return to a Holiday in Palma this is the one to be in again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Experience Manager, Iberostar at Iberostar Playa de Muro, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and for your positive feedback on our service, especially the food.
We will continue working to improve our services following your comments and would have pleasure in welcoming you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Online Experience Manager, Iberostar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel is on the northern end of Mallorca which is more family friendly. There are many things to do for kids up to about age 10. It is very crowded though and when we were there, the front desk was severely understaffed. Despite this and little air conditioning in the lobby, the staff was very nice. The food was average. Of course everything is geared to the mostly British and German tourists but there was something for everyone - even this lone American.
The hotel is set in a large bay with fairly calm water and beautiful scenery. The beach is nice and clean but not very wide - at least compared to the beaches on the US east coast. This means crowded conditions and not much space for walks but the European tourists don't seem to mind.
Our room was clean and not large, but large enough. One big downfall is that the lobby is open to the upper floors and you hear all the noise from late nighters and the morning staff up early cleaning.
Three years ago we stayed next door at the Playa de Muro Village which was a better experience. The rooms are much bigger with a nice sitting area and mini kitchen. The food was also better and you were able to sit beachside and enjoy the georgeous view while eating.

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms that open up to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Our holiday in Playa de Muro was a very nice experience. When we arrived it took us some time to check in so we were offered cold orange juice while we were waiting. Once checked in we were taken to our room. I later realised that we were actually given a room in Playa de Muro Village which is a hotel just next to it, but hotels are Iberostar hotels and share restaurants / facilities etc. The only difference was that the rooms in Village are more expensive so it looks like we were upgraded without even asking for it. The room itself was excellent. We had ground floor room with very big terrace, lounge and separate bedroom (both had TVs with 2 english channels). Bedroom had massive bed with a small dresser and wardrobe. Lounge had 2 small couches table and desk with in-built fridge (a small one but good enough for storing water and drinks). Bathroom was bright and big (nice shower + 2 sinks). Air con in the room was very good. The room temperature would drop just a few minutes after putting it on.
The hotel itself was nice, kept clean with good choice of entertainment. Hotel is just by the beach so no need to walk but ufortunately it doesn't have sunbeds on the beach (you have tp pay fpr these). 2 pools are ok size but the main problem was prople "reserving" the sunbeds from early morning. There are loads of restaurants and shops around so if you decide to go for breakfast only option you won't stay hungry. And if it's too quiet for you than you can always rent a bike and be in Alcudia within 20 minutes.
Food-wise there are 2 buffet restaurants and a few a la carte resuatrants. Both restaurants had a good choice of food and vegetarian options.

A nice accent from the hotel is that my boyfriend got a free bottle of wine on his birthday ( I didn't even ask for that but they must've seen this on the system)

POSITIVES:
Great rooms
Good food
Very good service
Close to the beach
Close to shops
Good entertainment

NEGATIVES
Expensive internet
Average size outdoor pools

Room Tip: If possible try to get a free upgrade to Playa de Muro Village
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Experience Manager, Iberostar at Iberostar Playa de Muro, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Dear Joanna,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Iberostar Playa de Muro with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed all our services.
We assure you that we will continue working to improve your next experience with us.
Yours sincerely,
Online Experience Manager, Iberostar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Playa de Muro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Playa de Muro

Address: Avda Albufera s/n, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Muro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
#18 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Playa de Muro 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro hotel is a top 4-star all-inclusive accommodation located on the beautiful Muro beach in Alcudia (Mallorca). The hotel, which has several solarium terraces, Jacuzzi and 5 swimming pools surrounded by gardens, boasts a wide range of sports and leisure activities. The quality of the gastronomy and the friendliness and professionalism of its staff are other reasons that make this hotel one of the favourites for families visiting the island on holiday. In addition, this hotel is a meeting point for cyclists, amateurs and pros alike, offering them a perfect location and wonderful facilities. The world's top cycling teams choose the IBEROSTAR Playa de Muro to stay during races like IBEROSTAR Challenge Mallorca - the first race on the European pro cycling calendar - or the Mallorca 312 International Cycle Tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Iberostar Playa de Muro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa De Muro Hotel Playa De Muro
Playa De Muro Iberostar
Iberostar Playa De Muro Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Playa de Muro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.