We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woody Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Parracombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woody Bay Hotel
Save
You added Woody Bay Hotel to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parracombe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4QX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Parracombe
redditch
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“simply brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

great location, great hosts, we had 3 great days, the food is brilliant, very secluded and quiet. the rooms are clean. lovely views we.would definitely return! we went early in the season but would love to return in the summer.the beach is rocky but well worth a visit.Martins breakfasts were an excellent start to the day

Room Tip: all rooms have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Perfect location for a comfortable and quiet stay, Martin continues his great offerings from the kitchen, Collette most helpful and welcoming. Good location for coastal walking.

We stayed early in the season, delighted to find that some trees previously blocking the view are now taken down by parks staff. The view from our room was spectacular. Did a walk from Lynton to Watersmeet not far from the hotel.

Lounge is warm and comfortable with lots of reading material, wood stove especially nice in the cold weather.

Room Tip: All rooms good. Plan to stay for dinner as may be tricky to come home along a dark road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuernberg
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Woody Bay Hotel Is officially a 2 star hotel - in reality more a 4 star hotel. We stayed in room No 1 ,which is really big and has a nice view facing seawards. The king-bed is incredibly comfortable and so is the big bathroom. Dinner was amongst the best we had on our entire trip through Britain . This is a very special hotel in a unique setting with extremely friendly hosts and we can highly recommend it !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Spent 2 nights at this wonderful hotel. Don't really know where to start. Our room was spotlessly clean and spacious as was the bathroom. The view across the bay was superb. Martin and Collette were exceptional hosts..very friendly without being intrusive. The 3 course dinner menu was absolutely delicious with plenty of choice....it was heavenly... The location of the hotel is perfect for a getaway-from-it all break and our highlight had to be Baileys on the terrace watching the sun go down and the stars come out. We look forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Lovely rooms, amazing sea views, short walk to the secluded woody bay beach, where we swam and watched the wild dolphins- food was superb and good selection of wines. A thoroughly pleasant weekend! We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and look forward to another chance to visit, and will hopefully stay for longer next time.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We found Woody Bay by accident when looking for a place to stay for our anniversary some years ago. Since then we have been back four or five times. I simply love staying in the peaceful and tranquil surroundings of Woody Bay. The hotel is nestled within wooded areas with sea views. The walks and views are breathtaking. Hunters Inn is nearby and a welcome end to an amazing walk from the hotel in one direction with the fun of Lynton and Lynmouth in the opposite. What makes this hotel as special as it is is the hospitality from Collette and Martin. The rooms (newly refurbished) are spotless, welcoming, comfortable, spacious and with amazing views to the sea. In addition, the breakfast, dinner and afternoon teas are exceptional. Martin is one of the best chefs that I have had the pleasure of being served food from. From a hearty breakfast (ranging from a full English, eggs as you wish, cereals, smoked haddock to name a few options) to a simply quite fabulous evening meal, in a dining room that will make you feel relaxed as you watch the sunset, you will want to return for the cuisine if nothing else ! Martin's creativity leaves you wondering what will be on the menu next and it NEVER disappoints. Collette never fails to see that you feel comfortable, welcomed and at home in their hotel and I have to wonder when they get their rest and relaxation themselves given their dedication to ours ! Don't hesitate to visit - you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 4 are my favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This small hotel is a real gem if you like the sea, spectacular views and coastal walks. The zigzag road down to the hotel passes though moss and fern encrusted oak woods, which give the impression you are travelling through a fairy tale land!
Collette and Martin are perfect hosts and Martin is a superb chef. The dinner menus were particularly excellent, with a wide choice of dishes. The wine list has a good selection and is reasonably priced. Our room and ensuite bathroom (No 3) was spacious, well equipped, and had a lovely view across the treetops to the sea.
You can take a variety of walks in any direction from the hotel; just ask your hosts for advice. There are so many interesting things to see, not least the spectacular waterfalls (our stay followed the wettest June on record). If you can bear to get back into the car, there are plenty of interesting places nearby, such as Lynton and Lynmouth.

Room Tip: Choose any one of the refurbished rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woody Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woody Bay Hotel

Address: Parracombe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4QX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Parracombe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Parracombe
Hotel Class:2 star — Woody Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 247
Also Known As:
Hotel Woody Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woody Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.