We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent country pub restaurant with great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fox and Goose Inn

The Fox and Goose Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Fox and Goose Inn to your Saves list
The Fox and Goose Inn
Near Barnstaple, Parracombe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4PE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Parracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent country pub restaurant with great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had an excellent evening meal. Delicious food from varied menu, attractively presented with friendly service. Reasonable prices. We returned the next afternoon after a long blustery walk on Exmoor. The kitchen was closed but we were delighted to be served with a delicious cream tea. We hope to return again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
34
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

14 days in Devon and without doubt our best meal. Strange decor and relaxed service but bloody good food in a child friendly pub. Only gripe was overcharging on the kids meals but brownies to die for and overall not bad given we were pining for Greece

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was one of those places that are recommended to you and you know you would confidently recommend to anyone. The room was excellent. Newly done. Great modern bathroom. The food for both dinner and breakfast was lovely. A real culinary find for anyone really interested in good food. The beer and wine selection was equally great. Nice touches like homemade biscuits in your room. I am very picky and rarely would give an all round excellent, but this one was well deserved.

Room Tip: Only 2 to choose from but book it if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This pub is an absolute gem. We arrived early evening without a booking, having seen a sign on the highway, and were warmly welcomed. Our room was stylish, spotless, comfortable, well appointed, even luxurious, with a huge bathroom. Dinner in the well-appointed dining room was excellent, our breakfast delicious. The staff are friendly and efficient. The best B&B we found in 15 days touring Southern England and Wales

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

A wonderful little country pub where all the staff were extremely friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. We stayed for four nights to enable some walking in the wonderful Exmoor countryside. Our recently refurbished room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with plenty of storage available, and an en-suite shower bathroom. Tea and cafetiere coffee were provided with fresh milk in a vacuum flask, and each day of the stay we were also delighted to be left a tin of freshly home made shortbread and flapjack which was delicious.
Breakfast was excellent. Cereal, granola, fresh fruit (including rhubarb) yogurt, toast with butter and jam, and a choice of full cooked as well if you so wished.
We chose to eat in the pub each evening where a varied menu offered choices of Fish, Steak, Venison, Lamb or vegetarian dishes, and were of a very generous quantity, (we never managed 3 courses). All food was locally sourced where possible, and I can highly recommend the ice-cream. My other half worked his way across all four of the hand pumped beers on offer during our stay and I tried the local cider all of which were excellent.
There is parking available opposite the pub, and there is also a small outside area at the rear where the river runs alongside.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms available so book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I am never likely to find a better B&B. The room I was given was large, comfortable and stylish to the point of luxury with a shower room fitted out to a remarkable standard. The view of the village from the bay window was of the "Under an English Heaven" variety No UHT milk in cartons here but the fresh variety kept cool in a vacuum flask with home made biscuits as well. A extraordinarilyly good fruit salad with strawberries, raspberries, blueberries etc. kicked off breakfast and I wish I could make coffee as well as the Fox & Goose can! The stately progress of the "full English" ended with toast and home made (needless to say) preserves.

There are not many rooms here so best of luck in getting one!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fox and Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox and Goose Inn

Address: Near Barnstaple, Parracombe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Parracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Parracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Fox and Goose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fox and Goose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.