We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spinney Country Guest House

Save Saved
You added The Spinney Country Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Spinney Country Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Shirwell road, Shirwell, Barnstaple EX31 4JR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Shirwell B&B and Inns
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Lovely place. We had a very warm welcome from Jo & Dave.Tea and cake on arrival fantastic room overlooking the fields at the back of the house> Bed very comfortable and the breakfasts are something else . Great Couple, Great Place,Great Food What more can I say.

Room Tip: Room at back overlooks fields very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
22
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Having never stayed in a B&B before I was unsure as to what to expect and thought it might have a slight feeling of discomfort. Not the case at all! We were instantly welcomed in from the dreary, dark weather as though we were long lost friends. Jo and Dave gave us a very warm welcome where we were given a quick tour and shown to our room where we could relax a little before trying to decide where to go to eat. The room was nicely decorated and rather spacious despite the absolutely HUGE bed. In the room there were many different types of refreshments which we could help ourselves to, and even some biscuits.

The welcome guide, which can be found on the bedside cabinet, is EXTREMELY helpful! It allowed us to have a bit more of an idea as to what was in the surrounding areas and even had personal suggestions in there which was a nice touch. Jo and Dave were very helpful at helping us find somewhere to eat and showed a general interest in what we had planned for our two night stay. Maps were supplied and menus of some of the more local pubs and restaurants were supplied to enable us to come to a quick decision to ensure that we could still be back relatively early and up in time for breakfast.

The breakfast room was very clean and had a nice selection of fruits, yoghurts and preservatives for us to help ourselves to while our breakfast was being cooked. I would most definitely recommend the American Style Pancakes! It is very obvious that Jo and Dave are passionate about their B&B which makes it a really nice environment to be in. I would recommend to anyone and would love to stay again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 1 which was absolutely lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a wonderful welcome upon arrival, together with a pot of tea and cake served in the conservatory. We stayed in room 1, which was the super king room, the bed was sooooo comfortable. The entire place was exceptionally clean and so much choice for breakfast. In your room you have a bottle of water, chocolates, cotton wool balls, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, and a wonderful touch of a mirror with a magnified side. There are DVD's, CD's and books in the lounge for you to use. Also a nice touch was in the fridge below the reception desk, there are jugs of fresh milk to take to your room for your pot of tea. Jo and David are really lovely people who will welcome you and really look after you. I was even given some throat lozenges as I felt a sore throat coming on. We stayed at this location to mainly visit RHS Rosemoor, but it was also convenient for us to visit Appledore and walk the Tarka Trail. Will definately stay at this property again, and look forward to meeting the owners once more.

Room Tip: I think you will be pleased whichever room you chose, but our superking was really good with views e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have just spent 6 nights at The Spinney. Could not fault. Bright, spotless, attractive, excellent breakfasts and friendly and helpful hosts who work great together as a team. Great location. Breakfast in a v pleasant conservatory.

Room Tip: We spent time in room 2 - good size, private bathroom next door, on road - and room 4 - smaller but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed here for two nights . It is excellent base for walkers. Jo and David are lovely hosts. Homemade breads and jams make breakfast a tasty treat.....even packed me off with a slice of homemade lemon cake for my trip home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This guesthouse is excellent. Spotlessly clean, comfortable beds and quiet location. Excellent breakfast.
Jo and David looked after us extremely well. We only had one night but will definitely return - thoroughly recommended!

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpinneyShirwell, Owner at The Spinney Country Guest House, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Fiona and Tony, thank you for your kind comments, we enjoyed looking after you on your overnight stay. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay.
Who knows we may get to the Isle of Lewis one day!
Best Regards David & Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

having a few days away in Devon booked into 'The Spinney' a very warm welcome from Jo and Dave, the room was amazing, with a large comfortable bed and a lovely en suit with beautiful views across the fields from both the front and back windows, very clean with everything you could possible need, tea & coffee and biscuits in the room with complimentary water and chocolates a lovely touch. would really recommend this guest house to anyone.
we were recommended places to eat with in a few miles drive away both served up fantastic food with local entertainment thrown in for good measure.
breakfast was amazing lots of choices, from full English (for my husband) and a continental for me, didnt need to eat lunch.
thank you for making are stay that little bit extra. hopefully see you again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Spinney Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spinney Country Guest House

Address: Shirwell road, Shirwell, Barnstaple EX31 4JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple > Shirwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shirwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spinney Country Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three miles from the historic market town of Barnstaple in North Devon,The Spinney Country Guest House enjoys magnificent views across the stunning North Devon landscape. Recently achieving the AA 4 Stars GOLD award, The Spinney Country Guest House in Shirwell nr Barnstaple, offers first class bed and breakfast accommodation. This charming country house, was once the former rectory of Shirwell. Jo and David Clark welcomed their first guests in June 2011. Since then they have made various modifications and added a snug lounge with wood burning stove for exclusive use and comfort of their guests. They have also introduced many little luxury touches to make a stay with them a memorable one. The Spinney dates from 1750 and sits in an acre of ground. It has five beautifully appointed rooms and mature gardens with seating so that guests can appreciate the beauty and tranquillity of the place. There is also a spacious car park. The Spinney B & B offers a warm and informal environment in the heart of North Devon and very close to Exmoor National Park in which to relax and unwind. Tea and delicious home-baked cake is waiting for you on your arrival. Take a break, you deserve it! Jo and David Clark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Spinney Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spinney Country Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.