We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Country House Gem....but dont go & tell everyone, OK ...??” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bracken House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bracken House to your Saves list
Bracken House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Barnstaple, EX31, Bratton Fleming EX31 4TG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Country House Gem....but dont go & tell everyone, OK ...??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This needs to be our little secret, otherwise it will get very over-subscribed and the price will go up!!
Bracken House occupies a very pastoral setting and a tranquil, peaceful, location. Great central position for moors and coast. Guy & Sue are your very genial hosts and as widely commented upon are most helpful and contribute greatly to a very relaxed stay. You are treated as a long lost family member ( my long-lost family members would not have been as well received!!)
We stayed two nights in mid August with our two kids who were surfing and I was a little concerned before arrival that drippy wet suits might provoke a sniffy reception ....not a bit of it. Space was cleared in the Victorian greenhouse for drying our beach things.
We had two rooms; both were beautifully presented with far reaching rural views and comfy beds...excellent choice of in-room beverages/biccies.
Breakfasts were hearty, piping hot and artistically presented ( you might have to restrain Guy on this point!) & accompanied with fresh fruit, toast, and cereal. All of a high quality and generous proportions.
The room rate is only marginally above a bog-standard B&B, yet you will definitely come away with a country house experience, not to mention the extremely friendly owners...but I must..thank you very much, Guy & Sue for a lovely break. Will be back next summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Comfortable, relaxed and friendly, and, so long as you discuss with your hosts in advance, may well take well behaved dogs into their home as well (many Exmoor pubs do the same). Plenty of outdoor things to do straight out the front door. Easy car parking, and breakfast just right to set you up for the day. Our bedroom was spacious, crispy clean and with a cracking view out of our bedroom window towards Barnstaple and beyond. The house still retains some of the atmosphere of a small country hotel (which it was in a former life), but just remember it's now a family home with B&B and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Jeeves on the first floor - can't speak for the others as we didn't look at them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Beautiful quiet rural location, with wonderful views. Marvellous hosts Guy and Susan will make you feel right at home, and make every endeavour to ensure your stay is a great one. One of the best night's sleep I have had on holiday. Despite being quiet, this location is very central for exploring North Devon, it's coast and Exmoor and many other attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We've just returned from a short stay at Bracken House and we heartily recommend it. Guy and Sue couldn't do enough for us and the food was excellent. Our room was large and comfortable, well equipped and with a fabulous view. In short, we enjoyed our stay very much indeed and are looking forard to seeing Guy and Sue again next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Bracken House is stunning, very rural and peaceful with the most beautiful views. The owners are very welcoming and went out of their way. Food was delicious and very locally sourced (mushrooms from the garden). Bedroom really comfortable and stocked with everything I needed. I made a little friend in the form of their Labrador pup who is one of the best behaved and cutest dogs I have met (except my own of course). Highly recommend, I only wish I had been staying on holiday and could have explored the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Steve an I have just returned from a wonderful three night stay at Bracken House.we arrived early one evening the weather was perfect and was instantly greeted by Guy the owner who is the most charming and kind host one could wish to meet.dinner with him and another guest was suggested and we were made to feel like valued house guests .it truly was a memorable experience the food was fabulas. Our room was gorgeous with antique furnishings and immaculate bedding with views second to non. We only met Guys wife briefly unfortunately as she had to go away to visit her sick father but she was equally kind and charming. Musn't for get lovely Lottie the dog a very well behaved lab who also treated us like long lost friends . All in all a most wonderful break. Perfect house ,perfect hosts all amongst some of Britains most stunning scenery,and we were lucky to experience perfect weather also. Don't hesitate to book you will love it.

Room Tip: We had large double with views to the estuary and beyond you won't be disapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrackenHouse, Owner at Bracken House, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Steve and Lynda

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, I feel very humbled! Lottie thoroughly enjoyed your stay as well!! You were terribly lucky with the weather, as was Mike, and you saw the gardens and the wonderful unspoilt North Devon countryside at its best. We look forward to welcoming you both back here sometime in the future. Kind regards from us both. Guy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed here for a week at the end of which I was most reluctant to leave, having been treated almost like a friend of the family rather than as a paying guest! Guy and Sue were the friendliest of hosts, nothing was ever too much trouble, and I can wholeheartedly endorse all the previous positive comments. Suffice to say, for the ultimate country house experience, I can thoroughly recommend a stay at Bracken House.

Room Tip: The best views (which are quite stunning) are from the two first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrackenHouse, Owner at Bracken House, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Mike Thank you very much for your great review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your week with us. You certainly had the best weather. Your photos are also superb and I enjoyed looking at your Geograph pages. Hope to see you again when you are next in the area. Best wishes Guy and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bracken House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bracken House

Address: Barnstaple, EX31, Bratton Fleming EX31 4TG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bratton Fleming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bratton Fleming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bracken House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed and breakfast with 3 en-suite rooms, one on the ground floor, with stunning views down to the sea in the distance with grounds to explore as well as the coast and beaches for surfing and swimming, Exmoor itself with lovely walking and riding and numerous gardens open to the public as well as RHS Rosemoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Bracken House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bracken House Bratton Fleming, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bracken House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.